Our people

Our people

Head of Department

Associate Professor Ben Spies-Butcher

Ben Spies-ButcherAssociate Professor Ben Spies-Butcher’s research focuses on the political economy of social policy. His publications cover a range of policy areas including housing, health, ageing, pensions, education and employment. He is particularly interested in the way social policy is financed, and how the growing role of markets and private finance are changing the organisation of social provision. In addition to his academic publications, Ben is a regular contributor to The Conversation and is a Social Policy Whisperer for Power to Persuade . He is also a Research Associate at the Retirement Policy and Research Centre at the University of Auckland.


Academic staff

Name and contact details Research Interests
Dr Randa Abdel-Fattah
Title: Postdoctoral Research Fellow
Location: AHH, level 2, South Wing
Phone:
Email: randa.abdel-fattah@mq.edu.au
Islamophobia, race and racism (particularly the spatial, embodied and material aspects of racism and Islamophobia), ‘everyday multiculturalism’, and youth identities and cultures in the context of the war on terror and the geopolitics of fear
Dr Harry Blatterer
Title: Senior Lecturer
Location: AHH, level 2, South Wing
Phone: (02) 9850 8069
Email:  harry.blatterer@mq.edu.au
Intimate relationships, privacy and gender with a focus on friendship
Dr Norbert Ebert
Title: Senior Lecturer
Location: AHH, level 2, South Wing
Phone: (02) 9850 8980
Email: norbert.ebert@mq.edu.au
Critical social theory - individualisation, social differentiation and integration and how they can help to sociologically understand and critique social trends and changes in all areas of late modern societies
Dr Tobia Fattore
Title: Senior Lecturer
Location: AHH, level 2, South Wing
Phone: (02) 9850 8074
Email: tobia.fattore@mq.edu.au
Sociology of childhood; sociology of work; political sociology
Dr Nicholas Harrigan
Title: Senior Lecturer
Location: AHH, level 2, South Wing
Phone: (02) 9850 8862
(+61) 490 911 666
Email: nicholas.harrigan@mq.edu.au
Social Networks; Negative and Signed Ties; Statistical Models of Social Networks; Temporary Migrant Workers; Low Wage Migrant Workers in Australia and Asia; Migration and Health; Precarious Work; Politics of Business; Elites; Research Methods; Citizen Social Science; Participatory Research; Volunteers and Research; Political Economy of Singapore; Democratisation in Asia.
Dr Kumiko Kawashima
Title: Lecturer
Location: AHH, level 2, South Wing
Phone: (02) 9850 7943
Email: kumiko.kawashima@mq.edu.au
Work, labour and employment; consumption; transnational migration; global capitalism; post-industrial society; gender; class; Asia; Japan; social transformation; ethnography
Dr Jyhene Kebsi
Title: Lecturer
Location: AHH, level 2, South Wing
Phone: (02) 9850 7284
Email: jyhene.kebsi@mq.edu.au
Arab feminism(s), transnational feminism(s), women and Islam, North African women's literature and cinema
Dr Hang Young Lee
Title: Lecturer
Location: AHH, level 2, South Wing
Phone: (02) 9850 4114
Email: hangyoung.lee@mq.edu.au
Social capital; The one percent; immigrants’ settlement process; Global value chains; Quantitative methodology
Dr Alison Leitch
Title: Lecturer
Location: AHH, level 2, South Wing
Phone: (02) 9850 8102
Email: alison.leitch@mq.edu.au
cultural history of labour movements; food politics; cultural sociology; sociology of everyday life
Dr Justine Lloyd
Title: Senior Lecturer
Location: AHH, level 2, South Wing
Phone: (02) 9850 9940
Email: justine.lloyd@mq.edu.au
Relationship between spatial and social change, particularly investigated through cultural histories of domesticity and urban space
Jacqueline Mackaway
Title: Associate Lecturer - PACE
Location: AHH, level 2, South Wing
Phone: (02) 9850 8027
Email: jacqueline.mackaway@mq.edu.au

Issues of access, equity, inclusion/exclusion in tertiary educational settings and with respect to specific pedagogical practices

Professor Gabrielle Meagher
Title: Professor
Location: AHH, level 2, South Wing
Phone: (02) 9850 8747
Email: gabrielle.meagher@mq.edu.au
Care work; social policy with a focus on marketisation of social care services; comparative research with a focus on Australia and Sweden
Dr Peter Rogers
Title: Senior Lecturer
Location: AHH, level 2, South Wing
Phone: (02) 9850 6781
Email: peter.rogers@mq.edu.au
Theory and politics of space; disaster resilience
Dr Rebecca Sheehan
Title: Lecturer
Location: AHH, level 2, South Wing
Phone: (02) 9850 7947
Email: rebecca.sheehan@mq.edu.au
History of feminism, gender, and sexuality; intersectionality; popular culture, music and cultural politics; US and transnational women’s history
Dr Adam Stebbing
Title: Lecturer
Location: AHH, level 2, South Wing
Phone: (02) 9850 4098
Email: adam.stebbing@mq.edu.au
Interactions of social policy, taxation and inequality
Dr Selvaraj Velayutham
Title: Senior Lecturer
Location: AHH, level 2, South Wing
Phone: (02) 9850 4426
Email: selvaraj.velayutham@mq.edu.au  
Globalisation; nationalism; international migration; the Sociology of Everyday Life
Associate Professor Shaun Wilson
Title: Associate Professor
Location: AHH, level 2, South Wing
Phone: (02) 9850 8620
Email: shaun.wilson@mq.edu.au  
Intersection of political sociology, work and welfare; fiscal sociology; political economy
Associate Professor Amanda Wise
Title: Associate Professor
Location: AHH, level 2, South Wing
Phone: (02) 9850 8835
Email: amanda.wise@mq.edu.au
Global cities and diversity; materialities, civilities, and 'sensibilities' of urban life; multiculturalism and 'lived diversity' (especially 'everyday multiculturalism') in Australia and Singapore; race and interethnic relations; cultural attachments to and formations of place, especially in relation to multicultural cities; national and cultural identities; diasporic, transnational and migrant communities; labour mobility in and from Asia; and experiences of low wage migrant labourers in Australia and Asia

Professional staff

Name Contact
Mrs Letitia Baker
Title: Department Administrator
Location: AHH, level 2, South Wing
Phone: (02) 9850 8078
Email: letitia.baker@mq.edu.au

Emeritus Professors

Name
Contact
Professor John Lechte
Emeritus Professor 
Email: john.lechte@mq.edu.au

Adjunct Professors, Visiting Fellows, Honorary Associates

Name Contact
Dr Bob Davidson
Honorary Research Fellow
Email: bob.davidson@mq.edu.au
Professor Michael Fine
Honorary Professor
Email: michael.fine@mq.edu.au
Professor Markus Hadler
Honorary Professor
Email: markus.hadler@uni.graz.at
Associate Professor Pauline Johnson
Honorary Associate Professor
Email: pauline.johnson@mq.edu.au
Associate Professor Joan Kirkby
Honorary Associate Professor
Email: joan.kirkby@mq.edu.au
Professor Jocelyn Pixley
Honorary Adjunct Professor
Email: jocelyn.pixley@mq.edu.au
Associate Professor Ellie Vasta
Honorary Associate Professor
Email: ellie.vasta@mq.edu.au


Back to the top of this page