Our people

Our people

placeholder

Head of Department

Professor Ben Schreer

Ben Schreer's areas of expertise include strategic and military trends in the Asia-Pacific, Australian strategic and defence policy, US strategic policy in Asia, Regional strategic responses to China's rise, Japanese defence policy, European responses to China's rise.





Academic staff

Name and contact details Research Interests
Dr Dalbir Ahlawat
Title: Senior Lecturer
Location: Level 2, South Wing, Australian Hearing Hub
Phone: (02) 9850 1433
Email: dalbir.ahlawat@mq.edu.au
Indo-Pacific strategic and security issues, India's security challenges, India-China strategic perceptions, US security challenges in the Indo-Pacific region, Border security and migration challenges.
Dr Layla Branicki
Title: Lecturer
Location: Level 2, South Wing, Australian Hearing Hub
Phone: (02) 9850 220
Email: layla.branicki@mq.edu.au
Individual and organizational resilience, High Reliability Organizations, High risk work, Emergency management, Social media and crisis communication
Dr Brian Cuddy
Title: Associate Lecturer
Location: Level 2, South Wing, Australian Hearing Hub
Phone: (02) 9850 1428
Email: brian.cuddy@mq.edu.au 
Twentieth-century international history, American foreign relations history, international law, the evolution of warfare, intelligence, the Vietnam War
Dr Julian Droogan
Title: Senior Lecturer
Location: Level 2, South Wing, Australian Hearing Hub
Phone: (02) 9850 1425
Email: julian.droogan@mq.edu.au
Countering Violent Extremism/Terrorism Studies, Religion and International Security, Material Culture and Security Studies, Asia Pacific Security Issues
Dr Bates Gill
Title: Professor
Location: Level 2, South Wing, Australian Hearing Hub
Phone: (02) 9850 2204
Email: bates.gill@mq.edu.au
Chinese foreign policy and politics, Chinese strategic, defence, and security policy, Asia-Pacific security, US-China relations, US role in the Asia-Pacific
Dr Roger Lee Huang
Title: Lecturer
Location: Level 2, South Wing, Australian Hearing Hub
Phone: (02) 9850 1427
Email: roger.huang@mq.edu.au

Political Violence, Nationalism, Southeast Asian Politics and Security, Taiwanese Politics

Mr Vince Hurley
Title: Associate Lecturer
Location: Level 2, South Wing, Australian Hearing Hub
Phone: (02) 9850 1447
Email: vincent.hurley@mq.edu.au
Policing as a Business and The future functions of the Police and Policing
Dr Sheryn Lee
Title: Lecturer 
Location: Level 2, South Wing, Australian Hearing Hub
Phone: (02) 9850 1426
Email: sheryn.lee@mq.edu.au
Military modernization and arms racing, Disruptive/emerging technologies and defense innovation, Taiwanese foreign and defense policy, Strategic studies, Internal security and political violence in Asia
Dr Yves-Heng Lim
Title: Lecturer 
Location: Level 2, South Wing, Australian Hearing Hub
Phone: (02) 9850 1425
Email: yves-heng.lim@mq.edu.au
Asia-Pacific security, China's military affairs, naval strategy, international relations theory
Dr Adam Lockyer
Title: Senior Lecturer
Location: Level 2, South Wing, Australian Hearing Hub
Phone: (02) 9850 1436
Email: adam.lockyer@mq.edu.au
Australian defence strategy, US defence and foreign policy, post-conflict reconstruction, stability operations, civil wars and insurgency
Dr Stephen McCombie
Title: Senior Lecturer
Location: Level 2, South Wing, Australian Hearing Hub
Phone: (02) 9850 8820
Email: stephen.mccombie@mq.edu.au
Cyber conflict, Cyber espionage, Organised cyber crime groups, State offensive cyber capability.
Dr Rolando Ochoa
Title: Lecturer
Location: Level 2, South Wing, Australian Hearing Hub
Phone: (02) 9850 1439
Email:  rolando.ochoa@mq.edu.au
Organised crime (Latin American and Asia Pacific), the political economy of crime, governance of criminal organisations, trust and reputation, signalling
Mr Fred Smith
Location: Level 2, South Wing, Australian Hearing Hub
Title: Associate Lecturer
Email: fred.smith@mq.edu.au

Indo-Asia-Pacific Security-related issues and developments, particularly focused on China.  Intelligence historical and process-related issues and developments focused on Australia and the United States.

Dr Andrew Tan
Title: Associate Professor
Location: Level 2, South Wing, Australian Hearing Hub
Phone: (02) 9850 6898
Email: andrew.tan@mq.edu.au
Security issues and international relations in Asia, Southeast Asian security and international relations, Defence issues, Terrorism, Insurgencies.
Dr Allon Uhlmann
Title: Lecturer
Location: Level 2, South Wing, Australian Hearing Hub
Phone: (02) 9850 1449
Email: allon.uhlmann@mq.edu.au
Intelligence policy; Methods of intelligence analysis and representation; Intelligence and society; Philosophy (ontology and epistemology) of intelligence; Critical intelligence studies; Intelligence warfare (including e.g. Denial and Deception; Strategic surprise; Intelligence failure; and, Contested decision-making environments); Cognitive dimensions of Information environment warfare; Political warfare; Covert action; Subversion; Direct action; Revolutionary radicalism; Intercommunal conflicts; Intelligence and conflict in the Middle East
Ms Lise Waldek
Title: Lecturer
Location: Level 2, South Wing, Australian Hearing Hub
Phone: (02) 9850 1426
Email:  lise.waldek@mq.edu.au
Countering Violent Extremism, Cyber space and Countering Violent Extremism, Socio-cultural explorations of violence, Warfare and conflict
Dr Tom Waldman
Title: Lecturer
Location: Level 2, South Wing, Australian Hearing Hub
Phone: (02) 9850 1431
Email: tom.waldman@mq.edu.au
The politics of war, Clausewitz, Western strategy, modern warfare, contemporary strategy, US foreign policy, intra-state conflict and conflict analysis

Professional staff

Name Contact
Ms Michelle Lee
Title: Department Administrator
Location: Level 2, South Wing, Australian Hearing Hub
Phone: (02) 9850 1421
Email: michelle.lee@mq.edu.au
Ms Annabel Voysey
Title: Administrative Assistant
Location: Level 2, South Wing, Australian Hearing Hub
Phone: (02) 9850 1420
Email: annabel.voysey@mq.edu.au

PhD Students

Name Contact
Nell Bennett
PhD Candidate
 
Jonathan Cottam
PhD Candidate
 
Mr. Adrin Choubineh
PhD Candidate
Email: adrin.choubineh@students.mq.edu.au
Mariam Farida
PhD Candidate
 
Muneer Hamaid
PhD Candidate
 
Mr. Andrew Henshaw
PhD Candidate
 
Mr. David Hooker
PhD Candidate
 
Mr. Vince Hurly
PhD Candidate
 
Mr Abdulla Phairoosch
PhD Candidate
 
Ms. Amber Stabek
PhD Candidate
 
Mr. Rifaie Tammas
PhD Candidate
 
Ms. Rebecca Vogel
PhD Candidate

Adjunct Professors, Visiting Fellows, Honorary Associates

Name Contact
Dr John Fahey
Title: Adjunct Fellow
Location: Level 2, South Wing,
Australian Hearing Hub
Phone: (02) 9850 1420
Email: john.fahey@mq.edu.au
Dr John Langdale
Title: Honorary Fellow
Location: Level 2, South Wing,
Australian Hearing Hub
Phone: 0420 325 436 
Email: john.langdale@mq.edu.au
Mr Brett Peppler
Title: Honorary Fellow
Location: Level 2, South Wing,
Australian Hearing Hub
Phone: (02) 9850 1420
Email: brett.peppler@mq.edu.au
Mr Mike Smith
Titles: Adjunct Professor
Location: Level 2, South Wing,
Australian Hearing Hub
Email: mike.smith@mq.edu.au
Vince Williams
Title: Honorary Fellow
Location: Level 2, South Wing,
Australian Hearing Hub
Phone: (02) 9850 1437
Email: vince.williams@mq.edu.au
Back to the top of this page