Our people

Our people

Richard Menary

Head of Department

Richard is a Professor and was an ARC Future Fellow from March 2014 to March 2018. He read for a BA in philosophy at the University of Ulster, an MSc in Cognitive Science at the University of Birmingham and then a PhD in philosophy at King's College London. He has taught philosophy at the University of Kent, Birkbeck College Faculty of Continuing Education and as a Senior Lecturer at the University of Hertfordshire and then at the University of Wollongong.

Academic staff

Name and contact details Research Interests
 Albert Atkin
Title: Senior Lecturer
Phone: (61 2) 9850 6880
Email: albert.atkin@mq.edu.au
Staff webpage
Personal website
Philosophy of language; American pragmatism; epistemology; argumentation; race
 Andy Clark
Title: Professor
Email: a.clark@mq.edu.au
 Jean-Philippe Deranty
Title: Professor
Phone: (61 2) 9850 6773
Email: jp.deranty@mq.edu.au
Staff webpage
French and German philosophy; social and political philosophy; recognition, work
 Jennifer Duke-Yonge
Title: Lecturer
Phone: (61 2) 9850 8826
Email: jennifer.duke-yonge@mq.edu.au
Staff webpage
Philosophy of logic and language; development of reasoning skills
 Paul Formosa
Title: Associate Professor
Phone: (61 2) 9850 8817
Email: paul.formosa@mq.edu.au
Staff webpage
Moral and political philosophy; Kant; Evil
 Adam Hochman
Title: Lecturer, Macquarie University Research Fellow
Phone: (61 2) 9850 8859
Email: adam.hochman@mq.edu.au
Staff webpage
Personal Webpage
Philosophy of race; philosophy of biology; philosophy of psychology
 Jane Johnson
Title: Scholarly Teaching Fellow
Phone: (61 2) 9850 6772
Email: jane.johnson@mq.edu.au
Staff webpage
Applied ethics (especially animal ethics, the ethics of surgical innovation, bioethics and the ethical implications of One Health)
 Jeanette Kennett
Title: Professor
Phone: (61 2) 9850 1047
Staff Webpage
Ethics, Neurolaw 
 Neil Levy
Title: Professor
Phone: (61 2) 9850 6800
Email: neil.levy@mq.edu.au 
Staff webpage
Free will and moral responsibility; philosophy of mind and psychology; neuroethics
 Mianna Lotz
Title: Senior Lecturer
Phone: (61 2) 9850 8804
Email: Mianna.Lotz@mq.edu.au
Staff webpage
Applied ethics; ethical theory; procreation, parenthood and childhood; ethics in biotechnology
 Catriona Mackenzie
Title: Professor
Phone: (61 2) 9850 8865
Email: catriona.mackenzie@mq.edu.au
Staff webpage
Moral psychology; moral philosophy; feminist philosophy; applied ethics
 Richard Menary
Title: Professor
Phone: (61 2) 9850 6896
Email: richard.menary@mq.edu.au
Staff webpage
Philosophy of mind; Philosophy of cognitive science; Philosophy of biology; 
 Duncan Pritchard
Title: Professor
Email: duncan.pritchard@mq.edu.au
 Wendy Rogers
Title: Professor
Phone: (61 2) 9850 8858
Email: wendy.rogers@mq.edu.au
Staff webpage
Ethics of surgical research and practice; Vulnerability in bioethics

Robert Sinnerbrink
Title: Associate Professor
Phone: (61 2) 9850 9935
Staff webpage

Philosophy of Film
 Nicholas Smith
Title: Professor
Phone: (61 2) 9850 8881
Email: nicholas.smith@mq.edu.au
Staff webpage
Modern European Philosophy; social and political philosophy
 Karola Stotz
Title: Senior Lecturer
Phone: (61 2) 9850 6774
Email: karola.stotz@mq.edu.au
Staff webpage

Philosophy of biology; philosophy of cognitive science; philosophy of psychology; philosophy of science

Professional staff

Name Contact
  Clara Wong
Title: Departmental Administrator
Staff webpage
Location: Australian Hearing Hub, Floor 2
Phone: (61 2) 9850 8837
Email: clara.wong@mq.edu.au

Adjunct Professors, Visiting Fellows, Honorary Associates

Name Contact
 John Sutton
Title: Professor, Department of Cognitive Science
Email: john.sutton@mq.edu.au
 Max Deutscher
Title: Emeritus Professor
Email: maxwell.deutscher@mq.edu.au
 Gregg Caruso
Title: Honorary Professor
Email: gregg.caruso@mq.edu.au
 Michael Olson
Title: Honorary Research Fellow
Email: michael.olson@mq.edu.au
 Nicole Vincent
Title: Honorary Research Fellow
Email: nicole.vincent@mq.edu.au

Research Fellows

 Ana Tanasoca
Title: Macquarie University Research Fellow
Staff webpage
Phone: (61 2) 9850 6804
Email: ana.tanasoca@mq.edu.au
 Pierrick Bourrat
Title: Macquarie University Research Fellow
Staff webpage
Personal website
Phone: (61 2) 9850 7688
Email: pierrick.bourrat@mq.edu.au
 Katrina Hutchison
Title: Macquarie University Research Fellow
Staff webpage
Phone: (61 2) 9850 6803
Email: katrina.hutchison@mq.edu.au

Robert Ross
Title: Postdoctoral Research Fellow
Staff webpage
Google Scholar Profile

Phone: (61 2) 9850 8876
Email: robert.ross@mq.edu.au
Back to the top of this page