Our people

Our people

Head of Department

Associate Professor Andrew McGregor

Academic staff

Name and contact details Research Interests
Dr Andrew Burridge
Title: Lecturer in Human Geography
Location: 6 First Walk, Room 434
Phone: (02) 9850 7946
Email: andrew.burridge@mq.edu.au

Political Geography, Geopolitics, Legal Geography,  Immigration, asylum and refugee studies,  Critical border studies, International border management and conflict resolution,  Undocumented and autonomous migration, Detention and incarceration,  Humanitarianism and human rights discourses, Geographies of justice, social movements and resistance,  Securitisation and risk,  Urban geography and critical urbanism; urban planning and development.

Dr Richard Carter-White
Title: Lecturer in Human Geography
Location: 6 First Walk, Room 423
Phone: (02) 9850 8803
Email: richard.carter-white@mq.edu.au
Cultural and Political Geography
Dr Sara Fuller
Title: Senior Lecturer
Location: 6 First Walk, Room 412
Phone: (02) 9850 8385
Email: sara.fuller@mq.edu.au
Concepts and practices of justice and democracy in the field of the environment, with an empirical focus on the role of NGOs and communities in enacting a low carbon transition
Dr Donna Houston
Title: Senior Lecturer
Location: 6 First Walk, Room 418
Phone: (02) 9850 8322
Email:  donna.houston@mq.edu.au

Environmental and social justice in cities and places in a time of environmental change; environmental justice and geographies of waste, urban political ecology and multispecies cities, urban planning, climate change and planetary urbanism

Ms Linda Kelly
Title: Teaching Fellow
Location: 6 First Walk, Room 433
Email: linda.kelly@mq.edu.au

 
Associate Professor Kate Lloyd
Title: Associate Professor
Phone: (02) 9850 1965
Email: kate.lloyd@mq.edu.au
Transitional countries and in particular on Vietnam's transition from a command economy to a socialist market economy
Associate Professor Andrew McGregor
Title: Associate Professor
Location: 6 First Walk, Room 412
Phone: (02) 9850 7993
Email: andrew.mcgregor@mq.edu.au
REDD+ as a new form of global environmental governance, activist geographies and geographies of aid
Dr Jessica McLean
Title: Lecturer
Location: 6 First Walk, Room 416
Phone: (02) 9850 6925
Email: jessica.mclean@mq.edu.au 
Water cultures and politics in Australian Indigenous and non-Indigenous communities; geographies of feminism and digital activism, and geographies of development
Dr Fiona Miller
Title: Senior Lecturer
Location: 6 First Walk, Room 426
Phone: (02) 9850 8425
Email:  fiona.miller@mq.edu.au
Social and equity dimensions of environmental change in the Asia Pacific, notably Vietnam and Cambodia, as well as Australia
Dr Emily O'Gorman
Title: Senior Lecturer
Location: Building W3A, Room 420
Phone: (02) 9850 9670
Email:  emily.ogorman@mq.edu.au
Past, current and future river and wetland knowledge and management; and, approaches to weather and climate in the sciences from the nineteenth century to the present
Dr Maartje Roelofsen
Title: Associate Lecturer
Location: 6 First Walk, Room 433
Phone: (02) 9850 7792
Email: maartje.roelofsen@mq.edu.au

Critical tourism studies; Feminist and gender perspectives on tourism; The body in tourism; Platform or "sharing" economies of tourism; Digital geographies

 
Dr Kristian Ruming
Title: Associate Professor
Location: 6 First Walk, Room 432
Phone: (02) 9850 8314
Email:  kristian.ruming@mq.edu.au
Issues of housing and urban planning focusing on social housing provision in New South Wales, in particular residents' experience of their neighbourhood and the evaluation of policies tied to urban renewal and community regeneration
Associate Professor Sandra Suchet-Pearson
Title: Associate Professor
Location: 6 First Walk, Room 428
Phone: (02) 9850 8393
Email: sandie.suchet@mq.edu.au
Indigenous rights and environmental management
Dr Greg Walkerden
Title: Senior Lecturer
Location: 6 First Walk, Room 430
Phone: (02) 9850 7991
Email:  greg.walkerden@mq.edu.au
Designing policies, strategies, systems, and practices to support shifts to socially, economically and ecologically sustainable forms of life
Dr Miriam Williams
Title: Lecturer
Location: 6 First Walk, Room 431
Phone: (02) 9850 2153
Email: miriam.williams@mq.edu.au
Urban geography focussing on care, justice and commons in the city.
Dr Alison Ziller
Title: Lecturer
Location: 6 First Walk, Room 428
Phone: (02) 9850 6835
Email: alison.ziller@mq.edu.au
Social impact assessment and program evaluation, social sustainability and policy development, strategic social planning

Professional staff

NameContact
Ms Farhana Haque
Title: Department Administrator
Location: Building W3A / 6 First Walk, Room 419
Phone: (02) 9850 1816
Email: farhana.haque@mq.edu.au

Adjunct Professors, Visiting Fellows, Honorary Associates

NameContact
Geetha Abayasekara
Title: Honorary Associate
Email: 
geetha.abayasekara@mq.edu.au
Alfred Agius
Title: Honorary Associate
Email: alfred.agius@mq.edu.au
Graeme Aplin
Title: Lecturer
Phone: (02) 9850 8411
Email: graeme.aplin@mq.edu.au
Richard Boele
Title: Visiting Fellow 
Email: richard.boele@mq.edu.au
Claire Colyer
Title: Honorary Associate
Email: claire.colyer@mq.edu.au
Kim Doohan
Title: Honorary Associate 
Email: kim.doohan@mq.edu.au
Ann El Khoury
Title: Honorary Associate 
Phone: (02) 9850 8389
Email: ann.elkhoury@mq.edu.au
Robert Fagan
Title: Emeritus Professor
Phone: (02) 9850 8392
Email: robert.fagan@mq.edu.au
Jim Forrest
Title: Senior Research Fellow 
Phone: (02) 9850 8406
Email: jim.forrest@mq.edu.au
Ann Henderson-Sellers
Title: Emeritus Professor
Phone: (02) 9850 4076
Email: ann.henderson-sellers@mq.edu.au
Richie Howitt
Title: Emeritus Professor
Phone: (02) 9850 8386
Email: richie.howitt@mq.edu.au
Jay Johnson
Title: Visiting Fellow
 
Ronald Johnston
Title: Honorary Associate  
Email: ronald.johnston@mq.edu.au
Kevin McCracken
Title: Honorary Fellow
Phone: (02) 9850 8388
Email: kevin.mccracken@mq.edu.au
Claudio Minca
Title: Honorary Professor
Phone: (02) 9850 9780
Email: claudio.minca@mq.edu.au
Janice Monk
Title: Adjunct Professor 
 
Stephen Mulqueen
Title: Honorary Associate 
Email: stephen.mulqueen@mq.edu.au
David Newhouse
Title: Honorary Associate  
Email: david.newhouse@mq.edu.au
David Phillips
Title: Adjunct Professor
 
Noim Uddin
Title: Honorary Associate
Email: noim.uddin@mq.edu.au
Siri Veland
Title: Honorary Associate
Email: siri.veland@mq.edu.au
Peter Whitecross
Title: Honorary Associate 
Email: peter.whitecross@mq.edu.au
Stephen Wyatt
Title: Honorary Associate
Email: stephen.wyatt@mq.edu.au

Research Fellows

NameContact
Dr John Hunter
Title: Macquarie University Fellowship for Indigenous Researchers
Location: Building W3A, Room 438
Phone: (02) 9850 6319
Email: john.hunter@mq.edu.au

Content owner: Department of Geography and Planning Last updated: 13 Nov 2019 4:19pm

Back to the top of this page