Our research

Our research

Our accounting research explores and helps shape real world issues, delivering innovative insightss across a variety of issues, methodologies and ideologies. Our research has an impact on governing bodies, corporations and not-for-profits.

The key areas of our research include financial and management accounting, international financial reporting, risk management, corporate governance, ethics, information systems, sustainability reporting, financial crime, taxation, business law, accounting education, auditing and assurance services, environmental and social accounting, ethical investment and energy law, water accounting, corporate accounting and reporting, management controls and capital markets.

Our research is represented by Accounting for Sustainable Knowledge, Performance Management and Control, International Accounting and Business, East Asian Law, Regulation and Policy and International Governance and Performance.

Contact us

Department of Accounting and Corporate Governance
Level 2 & 3
4 Eastern Road
Macquarie University
North Ryde NSW 2109
Office hours: 9am - 5pm (Mon to Fri)

Our research networks

Allied to the wider department are the following specialist subject area research networks, each of which opens up additional opportunities for innovation and learning for our students and academic staff.

  • sustainable knowledge generation and dissemination
  • social and environmental issues
  • sustainability
  • intellectual capital
  • non-financial information
  • non-market information
  • industry applications
  • professional services
  • sustainable knowledge education.

To learn more, contact Associate Professor Johannes Dumay on john.dumay@mq.edu.au and Associate Professor James Hazelton on james.hazelton@mq.edu.au .

Our research addresses the nature of management control systems, performance management systems and management accounting practises.

To learn more, contact Professor Kevin Baird on kevin.baird@mq.edu.au and Professor Rahat Munir on rahat.munir@mq.edu.au.

Learn more by contacting Professor Chris Patel on chris.patel@mq.edu.au and Associate Professor Parmod Chand on parmod.chand@mq.edu.au.

This network seeks to understand the interactions between law, culture, economics, politics and society, and their influence on global business.

To learn more, contact Dr Trish Blazey on trish.blazey@mq.edu.au and Dr Kay Chan on kay.chan@mq.edu.au.

Our research focuses on building trust and confidence in financial reporting and assurance, and understanding WHS performance to improve its evaluation and reporting indicators.

Learn more by contacting Professor Nonna Martinov-Bennie on nonna.martinov-bennie@mq.edu.au and Dr Dale Tweedie at dale.tweedie@mq.edu.au.

Masters programs and PhDs

Macquarie Business School is investing in developing top researchers and we invite you to join us.

Macquarie’s core pathway to higher degree research study is the international standard two-year research training pathway leading to the Master of Research.

The Master of Research equips students with intensive research preparation before beginning a PhD.

Find out more about our Masters programs and PhDs.

Content owner: Department of Accounting and Corporate Governance Last updated: 08 May 2019 12:12am

Back to the top of this page