Symposium Program



Session	Time		Торіс	Speaker
Session 1	9.00am		Welcome	Dr George Margelis, Independent Chair, Aged Care Industry Information Technology Council
	9.07am		Welcome to Macquarie University	Professor Jeffrey Braithwaite, Founding Director, Australian Institute of Health Innovation, Macquarie University
	9.15am		Opening address	Ms Susan Pearce, Secretary, NSW Health
	9.30am		Keynote address: Assessing the effectiveness of eMM to improve medication safety	Professor Johanna Westbrook, Professor and Director, Centre for Health Systems and Safety Research, Australian Institute of Health Innovation
	10.15am		Embedding Safety through Design in Digital Solutions	Dr Mark Simpson, eHealth NSW Chief Clinical Information Officer and Executive Director, Clinical Engagement and Patient Safety
Morning tea	10.30am	11.00am		
Session 2	11.00am		Medication administration errors in paediatrics and the impact of \ensuremath{eMM}	Dr Magda Raban, Senior Research Fellow, Australian Institute of Health Innovation
	11.20am		Does double-checking reduce medication administration errors?	Professor Johanna Westbrook, Professor and Director, Centre for Health Systems and Safety Research, Australian Institute of Health Innovation
	11.40am		Measuring potential and actual harm from medication errors	Dr Virginia Mumford, Senior Research Fellow, Australian Institute of Health Innovation Ms Erin Fitzpatrick, Research Officer, Australian Institute of Health
				Innovation
	12.00pm		Detection and incident reporting of prescribing errors by clinicians in paediatric hospitals after eMM	Associate Professor Ling Li, Associate Professor, Australian Institute of Health Innovation
Lunch	12.30pm	1.15pm		

Session	Tin	ne	Торіс	Speaker
Session 3	1.15pm		Technology-related prescribing errors in eMM	Dr Magda Raban, Senior Research Fellow, Australian Institute of Health Innovation Ms Alison Merchant, Research Officer, Australian Institute of Health Innovation
	1.45pm		Panel discussion: National review of eMM implementation and optimisation	Chair: Dr George Margelis, Independent Chair, Aged Care Industry Information Technology Council Members: Mr Peter Barclay, Director of Pharmacy, The Children's Hospital at Westmead Professor Melissa Baysari, Professor of Human Factors, University of Sydney Dr Erica Tong, Chief Pharmacy Information Officer and Deputy Director of Pharmacy, Alfred Health Ms Jackie McLeod, Chief Operating Officer, The Royal Melbourne Hospital Mr Daniel Trajkov, Senior Program Manager, UnitingCare QLD Mr Jerry Yik, Head of Policy and Advocacy, The Society of Hospital Pharmacists of Australia
	2.25pm		Health Innovation Series – launch	Professor Johanna Westbrook, Professor and Director, Centre for Health Systems and Safety Research, Australian Institute of Health Innovation Dr Magda Raban, Senior Research Fellow, Australian Institute of Health Innovation
	2.35pm		Assessing the economic value of medication safety interventions	Dr Virginia Mumford, Senior Research Fellow, Australian Institute of Health Innovation
Afternoon tea	3.oopm	3.20pm		

Session	Time	Topic	Speaker
Session 4	3.20pm	Serendipitous findings on medication safety in paediatrics	
		Paracetamol errors in paediatrics	Dr Karla Seaman, Research Fellow, Australian Institute of Health Innovation
		Are nurses placing themselves in danger from crushing medication?	Ms Amanda Woods, Nursing Research Officer, Australian Institute of Health Innovation
		What is the relationship between patient age and medication error rates?	Dr Tim Badgery-Parker, Research Fellow, Australian Institute of Health Innovation
	3.50pm	Panel discussion: Driving improvements in medication safety through partnerships	Chair: Joanna Holt, Formerly Chief Executive of Women's and Children's Health Australasia, Executive Director of the National Health and Hospitals Reform Commission; Chief Executive of NSW Kids and Families within NSW Health
			Mr Michael Dickinson, Director of Information, Communication and Technology/CIO, Sydney Children's Hospital Network
			Dr Mark Simpson, eHealth NSW Chief Clinical Information Officer and Executive Director, Clinical Engagement and Patient Safety
			Ms Jo Root, Policy Director, Consumers Health Forum of Australia
			Dr Racha Dabliz, Senior Project Officer, Australian Commission on Safety and Quality in Health Care
			Mr Alan Gardo, Director of Nursing, The Children's Hospital at Westmead
			Ms Kate Richardson, Clinical Applications Specialist (eMeds), Northern Beaches Hospital
	4.35pm	The future of safe care	Dr Mary McCaskill, Director of Medical Services and Clinical Governance, The Sydney Children's Hospitals Network
	4.50pm	Closing address	Professor Johanna Westbrook, Professor and Director, Centre for Health Systems and Safety Research, Australian Institute of Health Innovation
			Dr George Margelis, Independent Chair, Aged Care Industry Information Technology Council
Networking Drinks	5.00pm		