UNIVERSITY MEDALLISTS 2020

FACULTY OF ARTS



Lily Davies

Nominated by the Macquarie Law School

Lily Davies graduate at the top of her cohort in Law with First Class Honours and a LAWS WAM of 85.238. During her studies she achieved 14 High Distinction grades and 7 Distinction Grades and was top student in 4 Laws units. Lily has received numerous awards for academic excellence and was on the Merit List in 2017, 2018 and 2019.

Tess Watterson

Nominated by the Department of Modern History, Politics and International Relations

Tess Watterson has a sustained record of excellence throughout her time at Macquarie University. For her Bachelor of Arts, she achieved a GPA of 3.957/4.0, and for her Master of Research, her GPA was 7/7. Crucially, she achieved an excellent result of 93% for the research thesis in the Master of Research and her thesis result was the second-highest in the Faculty of Arts in 2019. She received a number of prizes during her undergraduate and postgraduate studies.



Samuel Wessels

Nominated by the Department of Ancient History

Samuel Wessels completed his Bachelor of Ancient History degree in 2017, achieving an exceptional overall GPA of 4.000 on a 4-point scale and also 4.000 on a 4-point scale at 300level, and winning numerous prizes. He continued to carry out his studies to the same high standard during his Bachelor of Philosophy candidature in Ancient History in 2018, achieving straight High Distinction grades. This resulted in a GPA of 7.000 on a 7-point scale. Samuel received an outstanding thesis mark of 94% and a final weighted mark of 92.3% for his Master of Research, with one examiner encouraging him to contribute material from his thesis to a major international research project.

FACULTY OF ARTS

Katrina Woodforde

Nominated by the Macquarie Law School

Katrina Woodforde is an outstanding student who graduated at the top of her cohort in Law with First Class Honours, a GPA of 4/4.0 and a LAWS WAM of 85.81. In the course of her studies she achieved 14 High Distinction grades and 7 Distinction grades with no grade lower than a Distinction. Katrina was the top student in five of her units during this time, was on the annual Merit List four years in a row, and was awarded numerous prizes.

UNIVERSITY MEDALLISTS 2020

FACULTY OF MEDICINE, HEALTH AND HUMAN SCIENCES



Katarzyna Odgers Nominated by the Department of Psychology

Benjamin Cronin

Nominated by the Department of Health Professions

Benjamin Cronin achieved 18 High Distinction grades and 3 Distinction grades for the 21 units he undertook for the Doctor of Physiotherapy. As well as coming first or equal first in a range of these units, Benjamin also received Excellence Awards for his First Year and Second Year studies, and for Research and Clinical Practice. He also demonstrated academic excellence in his earlier studies, having completed a Bachelor of Chiropractic Science and Master of Chiropractic at Macquarie University before his studies in Physiotherapy.

Katarzyna Odgers had an outstanding academic record throughout her candidature as well as being the recipient of an impressive 9 departmental prizes. She has also been on the University Merit List since 2018. During her undergraduate studies she achieved 6 High Distinction grades at 3rd year level, a total of 14 High Distinction grades for Psychology units, and an overall GPA of 4/4.0. In her honours studies she obtained 56.4 out of 60 for her empirical thesis and 36.2 out of 40 for her coursework units.

Kirilee Wagner

Nominated by the Department of Cognitive Sciences

Kirilee Wagner achieved 92% for her Master of Research degree in December 2019, including a thesis mark of 93% and was the top performing eligible student in her cohort. She also obtained the degree of Bachelor of Clinical Science achieving a GPA of 3.667/4, and she achieved a GPA of 6.5/7 for the first year of her Master of Research degree. Kirilee had the highest overall thesis grade of the 2019 Faculty of Human Sciences cohort, with one examiner awarding a grade of 95%, the other awarding a grade of 90% and both recommending straight award with no amendments.

FACULTY OF SCIENCE AND ENGINEERING

Yvette Bauder

Nominated by the Department of Biological Sciences

Yvette Bauder was studying the Bachelor of Science at Macquarie University as a part-time student in 2015 when she was invited to transfer to the Bachelor of Advanced Science on the strength of her academic results. She achieved a GPA of 4.0/4 for the 14 units she completed in the Bachelor of Advanced Science, earning a mark of over 80% in all 14 units. She earned 7 High Distinction grades and 1 Distinction grade for her studies in the first year of the Master of Research degree, with her second year thesis achieving an overall grade of 93%.

Nabomita Mukty (graduated in absentia)

Nominated by the Department of Physics and Astronomy

Nabomita Mukty completed a Bachelor of Science at Macquarie University in 2017 with a 4.0/4.0 GPA including 4 High Distinction grades and 6 Distinction grades at the 3rd year level. She was named on the Merit List in 2017 and 2018. She completed the first year of her Master of Research in 2018 with a GPA of 6.250/7.0 (with 2 High Distinction grades and 6 Distinction grades) and received the award of the Australian Institute of Physics prize for best performance at Honours/Masters level study. She then went on to do a MRes Y2 research project in theoretical quantum physics which received glowing examiner reports and a final mark of 92.

MACQUARIE BUSINESS SCHOOL

Sixian Tang

Nominated by the Department of Actuarial Studies and Business Analytics

Sixian Tang has demonstrated academic excellence in her undergraduate and postgraduate studies, earning an undergraduate GPA of 4.0/4 and a postgraduate GPA of 6.375/7. She obtained High Distinction grades in most of her units, five subject prizes, appeared on the merit list for all three years of her undergraduate studies and earned the Macquarie University Award for Academic Excellence for the Bachelor of Applied Finance. Her final thesis mark in the Master of Research of 83 is one of the highest awarded in this Department.