Pre-award and faculty contacts

Pre-award and faculty contacts

Pre-Award Purpose, Structure and Contacts

Objectives and Structure of the Pre-Award Team

The main objectives of the Pre-Award Team are to:

  • Help researchers to identify appropriate funding opportunities and collaborative partners
  • Assist in the development of high-quality, competitive research proposals
  • Manage submission processes on behalf of Macquarie University

Pre-Award Team Structure

Director, Strategic Partnerships and Pre-Award

 

Dr Derek Van Dyk
derek.vandyk@mq.edu.au
T: 02 9850 8609

Research Development Consultants

Objective: Develop high-quality, competitive external grant applications

  • Build, track and articulate research performance
  • Provide resources, programs and initiatives aimed at increasing researcher effectiveness in external research funding endeavours
  • Organise and deliver researcher development workshops
  • ARC and NHMRC focus

Dr Ross Hill

Dr Ross Hill

Researcher with experience in grant assessment

Assessor for ARC DP, Future Fellowship and DECRA schemes

Recipient of postdoctoral research fellowships, ARC and other grants

Primarily assisting researchers in the hard sciences

ross.hill@mq.edu.au
T: 02 9850 4737

Ms Courtney Bendall

Administrator with experience in grant assessment, submission and management

Successful funding experience through NHMRC, NIH, WHO and pharma

Primarily assisting researchers in the medical, health and human sciences

courtney.bendall@mq.edu.au
T: 02 9850 4745

Research Partnerships Managers

Objective: Identify, develop and manage relationships with private sector, government and other external organisations to boost research funding

  • Identify and facilitate research funding opportunities to provide solutions to challenges faced by partners
  • Assist the University to achieve its strategic objectives in relation to Category 2 and 3 research income
  • Assist researchers to develop new partnerships, including through Enterprise Partnership Funding Scheme
  • Provide guidance, pitch development and relationship building advice
Mark Berlage  Mark Berlage

Research Framework Themes:
Secure Planet
Innovative Technologies

Faculty of Science and Engineering

mark.berlage@mq.edu.au
T: 02 9850 4058
Lisa Elliott  Lisa Elliott

Research Framework Theme:
Healthy People

Faculty of Human Sciences
Australian Institute for Health Innovations

lisa.elliott@mq.edu.au
T: 02 9850 1064
Carly Evans  Carly Evans

Research Framework Themes:
Resilient Societies
Prosperous Economies

Faculties of Arts
Faculty of Business and Economics

carly.evans@mq.edu.au
T: 02 9850 4057

Research Proposals Team 

Objective: Provide compliance advice and submit proposals on behalf of MQ researchers

  • Provide advice and support to researchers applying for funding
  • Ensure compliance with funding rules
  • Responsible for submitting proposals on behalf of the University to funding bodies
  • Administer and run Macquarie University internal research funding schemes

Research Proposals Team Leader

  Belle Chinchen

T: 02 9850 4877
research.preaward@mq.edu.au

Research Proposals Officers:

  Anita Quinn

T: 02 9850 4462
research.preaward@mq.edu.au

Lyn Schedlich

Lyn Schedlich

Wed-Fri
T: 02 9850 4193
research.preaward@mq.edu.au

Faculty Contacts

Faculty of Arts

Associate Dean, ResearchProf Catriona MacKenzie
Email: catriona.mackenzie@mq.edu.au
Phone: 02 9850 8865
Faculty Research ManagerJan Zwar
Email: jan.zwar@mq.edu.au
Phone: 02 9850 4496
General Faculty Research Office EmailArtsRO@mq.edu.au
Faculty General ManagerNeil Durrant
Email: neil.durrant@mq.edu.au
Phone: 02 9850 7687

Faculty of Business and Economics

Associate Dean, ResearchProf Lucy Taksa
Email: lucy.taksa@mq.edu.au
Phone: 02 9850 4811
Faculty Research ManagerAgnieszka Baginska
Email: agnieszka.baginska@mq.edu.au
Phone: 02 9850 8485
General Faculty Research Office Emailfberu@mq.edu.au
Faculty General ManagerAnn Goldwater
Email: ann.goldwater@mq.edu.au
Phone: 02 9850 7292

Faculty of Human Sciences

Associate Dean, ResearchProf Mike Jones
Email: mike.jones@mq.edu.au
Phone: 02 9850 8601
Faculty Research ManagerColm Halbert
Email: colm.halbert@mq.edu.au
Phone: 02 9850 8073
General Faculty Research Office Emailhumansciencesresearch@mq.edu.au
Faculty General ManagerLinda Schofield
Email: linda.schofield@mq.edu.au
Phone: 02 9850 8068

Faculty of Medicine and Health Sciences

Associate Dean, ResearchProf Roger Chung
Email: roger.chung@mq.edu.au
Phone: 02 9850 7813
Faculty Research ManagerDr Kyle Ratinac
Email: kyle.ratinac@mq.edu.au
Phone: 02 9850 2788
General Faculty Research Office Emailfmhs.researchsupport@mq.edu.au
Faculty General ManagerDr Welly Firmanto
Email: welly.firmanto@mq.edu.au
Phone: 02 9850 3507

Faculty of Science and Engineering

Associate Dean, ResearchProf David Coutts
Email: david.coutts@mq.edu.au
Phone: 02 9850 8970
Faculty Research ManagerIrina Zakoshanski
Email: irina.zakoshanski@mq.edu.au
Phone: 02 9850 8912
General Faculty Research Office Emailsci.research@mq.edu.au
Faculty General ManagerImtiaz Bhayat
Email: imtiaz.bhayat@mq.edu.au
Phone: 02 9850 9561

Macquarie Graduate School of Management

Associate Dean, ResearchProf Masud Behnia
Email: masud.behnia@mgsm.edu.au
Phone: 02 9850 6865
Faculty Research ManagerKerry Daniel
Email: kerry.daniel@mgsm.edu.au
Phone: 02 9850 7732
General Faculty Research Office Email research@mgsm.edu.au

All Faculty Contacts

Faculty Contacts

Back to the top of this page