Members of the Biodiversity Node included include internationally and nationally recognised leaders in the fields of climate change impacts and adaptation with proven track records in research in the natural and social sciences, united by the common goal of understanding the current and potential impacts of climate change and the adaptive responses required to reduce risk and vulnerability of biodiversity.

Prospective members are encouraged to contact the Node and provide details of their work in the area of climate change.

Professor Lesley Hughes

Professor Lesley Hughes is an expert on the impacts of climate change on species and ecosystems. She is a member of the Climate Commission and is the Australian Representative on the United Nations Convention on Biological Diversity Ad Hoc Technical Expert Group on Biodiversity and Climate Change. She is also a lead author for the UN’s IPCC Fourth and Fifth Assessment Reports, and a member of the Wentworth Group of Concerned Scientists and Climate Scientists Australia.


Professor Michelle Leishman, Deputy Leader of the Biodiversity Node

Associate Professor Michelle Leishman works with plant functional traits and ecological strategies of plants to understand the success of invasive plants, predicting the success of invasive plants with climate change and developing sustainable vegetation restoration methods.

Leigh Staas

Leigh Staas, Executive Officer of Biodiversity Node

Leigh is the Executive Officer for the Biodiversity Node of the NSW Adaptation Research Hub. Leigh graduated at Macquarie University in 2008 with a Bachelor of Science, and has a strong interest in science communication and education.

Back to the top of this page