Staff

Staff

The Macquarie University Research Centre for Astronomy, Astrophysics & Astrophotonics currently has about 50 members including faculty, postdoctoral research fellows, postgraduate students, research associates and honorary associates as detailed below.

Some staff and students have joint appointments with other departments or institutes, such as the Australian Astronomical Observatory (AAO) or CSIRO Astronomy & Space Science (CASS).

Department Staff

  Name Position Email Location
na Joanne Dawson Lecturer (Joint with CASS) joanne.dawson@mq.edu.au E6B 2.603
na Orsola De Marco Professor, ARC Future Fellow orsola.demarco@mq.edu.au E6B 2.706
na Richard McDermid Lecturer (Joint with AAO Gemini Office), Future Fellowrichard.mcdermid@mq.edu.au E6B 2.603
Matt Owers Lecturer and ARC Future Fellow (Joint with AAO) matt.owers@mq.edu.au E6B 2.703
na  Christian Schwab Lecturer (Joint with AAO), DECRA Fellowchristian.schwab@mq.edu.auE6B 2.207
na Lee Spitler Senior Lecturer (Joint with AAO) lee.spitler@mq.edu.au E6B 2.605
na Mark Wardle Professor, Research Centre Director mark.wardle@mq.edu.au E6B 2.702
na Daniel Zucker Joint with AAOdaniel.zucker@mq.edu.au E6B 2.705

Administrative Staff

  Name Position Email Location
   Research Centre Administrator fse.astro-admin@mq.edu.au E6B 2.601

Postdoctoral Fellows

  Name Position Email Location
 Angel Lopez-Sanchez ORS Postdoctoral Research Fellow angel.lopez-sanchez@mq.edu.au 
 Cormac PurcellORS Postdoctoral Research Fellow (50/50 astro/education)  
 Chengyuan LiResearch Fellowchengyuan.li@mq.edu.au 
na Birendra Pandey Research Fellow birendra.pandey@mq.edu.au E6B 2.206
 Eric HowardResearch Associateeric.howard@mq.edu.au 

Postgraduate Students

  Name Position Email Location
christina Christina Baldwin PhD Student christina.baldwin@students.mq.edu.au E6B 2.201
na Tui Britton PhD Student (Joint with CASS) tui.britton@mq.edu.au E6B 2.201
na Michael Cowley PhD Student (Joint with AAO) michael.cowley@mq.edu.au E6B 2.201
 Tiffany DayPhD Studenttiffany.day@students.mq.edu.auE6B 2.201
DanicaD Danica Draskovic PhD Student danica.draskovic@students.mq.edu.au E6B 2.201
Greg Goldstein PhD Student gregory.goldstein@students.mq.edu.au E6B 2.201
 Erik Kool PhD Student erik.kool@students.mq.edu.au E6B 2.201
 Roberto Iaconi PhD Student roberto.iaconi@mq.edu.au E6B 2.201
na Andrew Lehmann PhD Student andrew.lehmann@mq.edu.au E6A 2.201
 Daniel MacDonald PhD Student daniel.macdonald1@students.mq.edu.au E6B 2.201
 Alessandro Maini PhD Student alessandro.maini@students.mq.edu.au E6B 2.201
 Stephen McAndrew PhD Student stephen.mcandrew@mq.edu.au E6B 2.201
 Colin Navin PhD Student colin.navin@students.mq.edu.au E6B 2.201
grees Glen Rees PhD Student glen.rees@students.mq.edu.au E6B 2.201
 Thomas Reichardt PhD Studentthomas.reichardt@students.mq.edu.au E6B 2.201
na James Tocknell PhD Student james.tocknell@mq.edu.au E6B 2.201
Shane Vickers PhD Student shane.vickers@mq.edu.au E6B 2.201
 Wilfre GeeMRes Stduent  
 Hiep Van NguyenPhD Student  
 Anita PetzlerMRes Student  
 Stefania BarsantiMRes Studentstefania.barsanti@students.mq.edu.au 

Association for Astronomy Staff

Name Position Email Location
Orsola De Marco Director orsola.demarco@mq.edu.au E6B 2.706
Adam Joyce Observatory Technical Officer adam.joyce@mq.edu.au E7B 214
Tash McFadden Administrator & Manager starinfo@mq.edu.au E6B 2.601

Honorary Associates

Name Position Email Location
Roy Allen Retired roy.allen@mq.edu.au E7A 322
Jeremy Bailey University of New South Wales j.bailey@unsw.edu.au UNSW
Joao Bento ANUjoao.bento@mq.edu.au  
Mike Ireland Future Fellow - ANUmichael.ireland@mq.edu.au ANU
Borja Anguiano Jimenez borja.anguiano@mq.edu.au 
Alan Vaughan Retired alan.vaughan@mq.edu.au E7A 322

Alumni

Name Position
Andreas HerzogPhD Stduent - 2016
Charles CosgroveMRes Student - 2016
Carlos BacigalupoPhD Student - 2016
Eric HowardPhD Student - 2015
Travis StenborgPhD Student – 2015
Adriano Poci
MRes Student - 2015
Sarah (Traine) KeithPhD Student – 2015
Nick Cvetojevic PhD Student – 2014
Ashkbiz Danehkar PhD Student – 2014
Dimitri Douchin PhD Student – 2014
Michael Fitzgerald PhD Student – 2014
David Gardner MRes Student – 2014
Elaina Hyde PhD Student -2014
Rajika (Reggie) Kuruwita MRes Student – 2014
Izabela Spaleniak PhD Student – 2014
Aaron Rizzuto PhD Student – 2014
Arik Mitschang PhD Student – 2014
Stacey Bright PhD Student – 2013
Anthony Conn PhD Student – 2013
Geraldine Marien MPhil Student – 2012
Richard Baxter MPhil Student – 2012
Nemanja Jovanovic PhD Student, PostDoc – 2012
Catherine Braiding PhD Student – 2011
Sarah Chamberlain PhD Student – 2011
Kyle DePew PhD Student  – 2011
Korinne McDonnell PhD Student – 2011
Duane Hamacher PhD Student – 2011
Andreas Ritter PhD Student – 2011
Anna Kovacevic PhD Student – 2011
Madusha Gunawardhana BSc(Hons) Student  – 2010
Andrew Smith MPhil Student – 2010
Brent Miszalski PhD Student – 2010
Ivan BojiicPhD - 2009; Postdoc 2010-2014 (ARC SSF); IT specialist 2014-2015
David FrewPhD - 2008; Postdoc (MURF) 2010-2014
Daniel Cotton PhD Student (Adjunct) – 2008
John Ching BSc(Hons) Student – 2008
Milorad StuparPhD - 2007; Postdoc 2007-2013 (Space to Grow and AAO)
Warren ReidPhD - 2007; Postdoc (MURF) 2007-2015
Rachel Moody PostDoc Student – 2006
Raquel Salmeron BSc(Hons) Student – 2006
Alan Peyaud PhD Student – 2005, PostDoc – 2009
Mark Pierce PhD Student – 2005
Shane Hengst BSc(Hons) Student – 2005
Daniel HobbsBSc(Hons) Student  – 2004
Angela MabeeBSc(Hons) Student – 2004
Lesa MooreBSc(Hons) Student – 2003, MPhil – 2008
Back to the top of this page