The Macquarie University Research Centre for Astronomy, Astrophysics & Astrophotonics currently has about 50 members including faculty, postdoctoral research fellows, postgraduate students, research associates and honorary associates as detailed below.

Some staff and students have joint appointments with other departments or institutes, such as the Australian Astronomical Observatory (AAO) or CSIRO Astronomy & Space Science (CASS).


  Name Position Email Location
na Joanne Dawson Lecturer (Joint with CASS) E6B 2.603
na Orsola De Marco Professor, ARC Future Fellow E6B 2.706
na Jon Lawrence Senior Lecturer (Joint with AAO) E6B 2.207
na Richard McDermid Lecturer (Joint with AAO Gemini Office) E6B 2.603
Matt Owers Lecturer and ARC Future Fellow (Joint with AAO) E6B 2.703
na  Christian Schwab Lecturer (Joint with AAO) 2.207
na Lee Spitler Senior Lecturer (Joint with AAO) E6B 2.605
na Mark Wardle Professor, Research Centre Director E6B 2.702
na Daniel Zucker ARC Future Fellow (Joint with AAO) E6B 2.705

Administrative Staff

  Name Position Email Location
na Tash McFadden Research Centre Administrator E6B 2.601

Postdoctoral Fellows

  Name Position Email Location
Niyas Madappattu Alikutty Research Assistant E6B 2.207
 Heath Jones ORS Postdoctoral Research Fellow E6B 2.206
 Chengyuan LiResearch 
na Birendra Pandey Research Fellow E6B 2.206
 Eric HowardResearch 

Postgraduate Students

  Name Position Email Location
Carlos Bacigalupo PhD Student E6B 2.201
christina Christina Baldwin PhD Student E6B 2.201
na Tui Britton PhD Student (Joint with CASS) E6B 2.201
  Charles Cosgrove MRes Student ; W6A Level 2
na Michael Cowley PhD Student (Joint with AAO) E6B 2.201
 Tiffany DayPhD 2.201
DanicaD Danica Draskovic PhD Student E6B 2.201
 Tobias Feger PhD Student E6B 2.201
Greg Goldstein PhD Student E6B 2.201
Andreas_Herzog Andreas Herzog PhD Student (co-supervised by CASS) E6B 2.201
 Erik Kool PhD Student E6B 2.201
 Roberto Iaconi PhD Student E6B 2.201
na Andrew Lehmann PhD Student E6A 2.201
 Daniel MacDonald PhD Student E6B 2.201
 Alessandro Maini PhD Student E6B 2.201
 Stephen McAndrew PhD Student E6B 2.201
 Colin Navin PhD Student E6B 2.201
grees Glen Rees PhD Student E6B 2.201
 Thomas Reichardt PhD E6B 2.201
na James Tocknell PhD Student E6B 2.201
Shane Vickers PhD Student E6B 2.201

Association for Astronomy Staff

Name Position Email Location
Orsola De Marco Director E6B 2.706
Adam Joyce Observatory Technical Officer E7B 214
Tash McFadden Administrator & Manager E6B 2.601

Honorary Associates

Name Position Email Location
Roy Allen Retired E7A 322
Jeremy Bailey University of New South Wales UNSW
Joao Bento  
Mike Ireland Future Fellow - ANU
Borja Anguiano Jimenez 
Quentin Parker Adjunct Professor University of Hong Kong
Warren Reid  
Alan Vaughan Retired E7A 322


Name Position
Eric HowardPhD Student - 2015
Travis StemborgPhD Student – 2015
Adriamo Poci
MRes Student - 2015
Sarah (Traine) KeithPhD Student – 2015
Nick Cvetojevic PhD Student – 2014
Ashkbiz Danehkar PhD Student – 2014
Dimitri Douchin PhD Student – 2014
Michael Fitzgerald PhD Student – 2014
David Gardner MRes Student – 2014
Elaina Hyde PhD Student -2014
Rajika (Reggie) Kuruwita MRes Student – 2014
Izabela Spaleniak PhD Student – 2014
Aaron Rizzuto PhD Student – 2014
Arik Mitschang PhD Student – 2014
Stacey Bright PhD Student – 2013
Anthony Conn PhD Student – 2013
Geraldine Marien MPhil Student – 2012
Richard Baxter MPhil Student – 2012
Nemanja Jovanovic PhD Student, PostDoc – 2012
Catherine Braiding PhD Student – 2011
Sarah Chamberlain PhD Student – 2011
Kyle DePew PhD Student  – 2011
Korinne McDonnell PhD Student – 2011
Duane Hamacher PhD Student – 2011
Andreas Ritter PhD Student – 2011
Anna Kovacevic PhD Student – 2011
Madusha Gunawardhana BSc(Hons) Student  – 2010
Andrew Smith MPhil Student – 2010
Brent Miszalski PhD Student – 2010
Daniel Cotton PhD Student (Adjunct) – 2008
John Ching BSc(Hons) Student – 2008
Rachel Moody PostDoc Student – 2006
Raquel Salmeron BSc(Hons) Student – 2006
Alan Peyaud PhD Student – 2005, PostDoc – 2009
Mark Pierce PhD Student – 2005
Shane Hengst BSc(Hons) Student – 2005
Daniel HobbsBSc(Hons) Student  – 2004
Angela MabeeBSc(Hons) Student – 2004
Lesa MooreBSc(Hons) Student – 2003, MPhil – 2008

For questions or updates, please email the centre administrator Tash McFadden at

Back to the top of this page