Our people

Our people

Centre Director

Professor Gabriel Molina-Terriza

Associate Professor Molina-Terriza has PhD degree from the Universitat Politecnica de Catalunya (2002, Barcelona, Spain). He has previously worked in the University of Vienna, National University of Singapore, Universita’ degli Studi dell’Insubria and in the Institute of Photonic Sciences (ICFO). He started working in Macquarie University in 2010 as a Senior Lecturer and was promoted to Associate Professor in 2012. He was awarded a Future Fellowship from the Australian Research Council in 2011. Previously, he held other prestigious Fellowships: Lise Meitner Fellowship (Austria), Marie Curie Fellowship (EU), Ramon y Cajal (Spain) and the ICREA Fellowship (Spain).

Academic staff

 NameContact Details

Dominic Berry
Department of Physics and Astronomy
ARC Future Fellow

E6B-7 Wally's Walk 2.408
E: dominic.berry@mq.edu.au
T: +61 (2) 9850 6370

Gavin Brennen
Department of Physics and Astronomy
Associate Professor, ARC CoE EQuS 

E6B-7 Wally's Walk 2.611
E: gavin.brennen@mq.edu.au
T: +61 (2) 9850 4445

Louise Brown
Macquarie University Centre for Analytical Biotechnology
Senior Lecturer 

E8C-6 Wally's Walk 305
E: louise.brown@mq.edu.au
T: +61 (2) 9850 8294

James Cresser
Department of Physics and Astronomy
Senior Lecturer 

E6B-7 Wally's Walk 2.711
E: james.cresser@mq.edu.au
T: +61 (2) 9850 8913

Alexei Gilchrist
Department of Physics and Astronomy
Associate Professor, ARC CoE EQuS

E6A-9 Wally's Walk 2.610
E: alexei.gilchrist@mq.edu.au
T: +61 (2) 9850 4443

 

Luke Helt
Centre for Ultrahigh-bandwidth Devices for Optical Systems (CUDOS)
Macquarie University Research Fellow

E6B-7 Wally's Walk 2.405
E: luke.helt@mq.edu.au
T: +61 (2) 9850 6368

Gabriel Molina-Terriza
Department of Physics and Astronomy
ARC Future Fellow; ARC CoE EQuS 

E6B-7 Wally's Walk 2.409
E: gabriel.molina-terriza@mq.edu.au
T: +61 (2) 9850 6371

Robert Pfeifer
Department of Physics and Astronomy
Honorary Associate 

E6B-7 Wally's Walk 2.405

E: robert.pfeifer@mq.edu.au
T: +61 (2) 9850 6368


Michael Steel
Centre for Ultrahigh-bandwidth Devices for Optical Systems (CUDOS)
Professor, Head of Physics & Astronomy 

E6B-7 Wally's Walk 2.713

E: michael.steel@mq.edu.au
T: +61 (2) 9850 8916

Daniel Terno
Department of Physics and Astronomy
Associate Professor 

C5C-17 Wally's Walk 349

E: daniel.terno@mq.edu.au
T: +61 (2) 9850 4162

Jason Twamley
Department of Physics and Astronomy
Professor; Chair, Quantum Information Science, CoE EQUS, MQRC QSCITECH 

E6B-7 Wally's Walk 2.612

E: jason.twamley@mq.edu.au
T: +61 (2) 9850 8908


Thomas Volz
Department of Physics and Astronomy
Senior Lecturer 

E6B-7 Wally's Walk 2.609
E: thomas.volz@mq.edu.au
T: +61 (2) 9850 8261

Lynne Cousins
Department of Physics and Astronomy
Research Centre Administrator, ARC CoE EQuS 

E6B-7 Wally's Walk 2 613

E: lynne.cousins@mq.edu.au
T: +61 (2) 9850 8939

Post-docs and students

 Name Contact details

Carlo Bradac
Department of Physics and Astronomy
Research Fellow 

E6B 2.407
E: carlo.bradac@mq.edu.au

Mathieu Juan
Department of Physics and Astronomy
Research Fellow ARC CoE EQuS 

E6B 2.405

E: mathieu.juan@mq.edu.au

Mattias Johnsson
Department of Physics and Astronomy
Honorary Associate 

E6B 2.406
E: mattias.johnsson@mq.edu.au

Sukhbinder Singh
Quantum Science and Technology
Research Fellow ARC CoE EQuS 

E6B 2.406

E: sukhwinder.singh@mq.edu.au

Ke Yu Xia
Department of Physics and Astronomy
Research Fellow ARC CoE EQuS 

E6B-7 Wally's Walk 2.609
E: keyu.xia@mq.edu.au
T: +61 (2) 9850 8261

 

Aida Ahmadzadegan  

Babatunde Ayeni
Department of Physics and Astronomy
PhD Student 

E6B 2.437
E: babatunde.ayeni@students.mq.edu.au

Matthew Van Breugel
Department of Physics and Astronomy
PhD Student 

E6B 2.401
E: matthew.vanbreugel@mq.edu.au

Alexander Buese
Department of Physics and Astronomy
PhD Student 

E6B 2.401

E: alexander.buese@students.mq.edu.au

Thomas Guff
Department of Physics and Astronomy
PhD Student

E6B 2.401

E: thomas.guff@students.mq.edu.au

Clara Javaherian
Department of Physics and Astronomy
PhD Student 

E6B-7 Wally's Walk

E: clara.javaherian@mq.edu.au

Keith Motes
Department of Physics and Astronomy
PhD Student 

E6B 2.433
E: keith.motes@students.mq.edu.au

Reece Roberts
Department of Physics and Astronomy
PhD Student 

E6B 2.401
E: reece.roberts@mq.edu.au

Alexander Smit  

Andrea Tabacchini
Department of Physics and Astronomy
PhD Student 

E6B 2.401
E: andrea.tabacchini@mq.edu.au

Hossein Tavakoli Dinani
Department of Physics and Astronomy
Demonstrator - Normal Rate 

E6B 2.401
E: hossein.tavakoli-dinani@mq.edu.au

Nora Tischler
Department of Physics and Astronomy
PhD Student 

E6B 2.401
E: nora.tischler@mq.edu.au

Andrew Wood
Department of Physics and Astronomy
PhD Student 

E6B 2.401
E: andrew.wood@students.mq.edu.au

Visitors

DateNameLocation
23 November – 18 December 2015Dr Alexia AuffevesFrench National Centre for Scientific Research, France
 15 November -5 December 2015 A/Prof Sile Nic Chomaic Ojinawa Institute of Science and Technology, Japan
 15 November -5 December 2015 A/Prof Thomas Busch Ojinawa Institute of Science and Technology, Japan
 8 November – 18 December 2015 Dr Maxime RichardFrench National Centre for Scientific Research, France
18 October – 25 October 2015Prof Fedor JelezkoUniversity of Ulm, Germany
18 October – 25 October 2015Prof Jon DowlingLouisiana State University, USA
12 July – 25 July 2015Prof Jon DowlingLouisiana State University, USA
4-10 April & 1-12 July 2015Prof Rob MannUniversity of Waterloo Canada

Header

NameThesis titleYear of completion
First name, Last name
Role
Placeholder titleYear of completion



Back to the top of this page