Our people

Our people

Centre Director

Professor Gabriel Molina-Terriza

Associate Professor Molina-Terriza has PhD degree from the Universitat Politecnica de Catalunya (2002, Barcelona, Spain). He has previously worked in the University of Vienna, National University of Singapore, Universita’ degli Studi dell’Insubria and in the Institute of Photonic Sciences (ICFO). He started working in Macquarie University in 2010 as a Senior Lecturer and was promoted to Associate Professor in 2012. He was awarded a Future Fellowship from the Australian Research Council in 2011. Previously, he held other prestigious Fellowships: Lise Meitner Fellowship (Austria), Marie Curie Fellowship (EU), Ramon y Cajal (Spain) and the ICREA Fellowship (Spain).

Academic staff

 NameContact Details

Dominic Berry
Department of Physics and Astronomy
ARC Future Fellow

E6B-7 Wally's Walk 2.408
E: dominic.berry@mq.edu.au
T: +61 (2) 9850 6370

Gavin Brennen
Department of Physics and Astronomy
Associate Professor, ARC CoE EQuS 

E6B-7 Wally's Walk 2.611
E: gavin.brennen@mq.edu.au
T: +61 (2) 9850 4445

Louise Brown
Macquarie University Centre for Analytical Biotechnology
Senior Lecturer 

E8C-6 Wally's Walk 305
E: louise.brown@mq.edu.au
T: +61 (2) 9850 8294

Alexei Gilchrist
Department of Physics and Astronomy
Associate Professor, ARC CoE EQuS

E6A-9 Wally's Walk 2.610
E: alexei.gilchrist@mq.edu.au
T: +61 (2) 9850 4443

Gabriel Molina-Terriza
Department of Physics and Astronomy
ARC Future Fellow; ARC CoE EQuS 

E6B-7 Wally's Walk 2.409
E: gabriel.molina-terriza@mq.edu.au
T: +61 (2) 9850 6371

Michael Steel
Centre for Ultrahigh-bandwidth Devices for Optical Systems (CUDOS)
Professor, Head of Physics & Astronomy 

E6B-7 Wally's Walk 2.713

E: michael.steel@mq.edu.au
T: +61 (2) 9850 8916

Daniel Terno
Department of Physics and Astronomy
Associate Professor 

C5C-17 Wally's Walk 349

E: daniel.terno@mq.edu.au
T: +61 (2) 9850 4162

Jason Twamley
Department of Physics and Astronomy
Professor; Chair, Quantum Information Science, CoE EQUS, MQRC QSCITECH 

E6B-7 Wally's Walk 2.612

E: jason.twamley@mq.edu.au
T: +61 (2) 9850 8908


Thomas Volz
Department of Physics and Astronomy
Senior Lecturer 

E6B-7 Wally's Walk 2.609
E: thomas.volz@mq.edu.au
T: +61 (2) 9850 8261

Lynne Cousins
Department of Physics and Astronomy
Research Centre Administrator, ARC CoE EQuS 

E6B-7 Wally's Walk 2 613

E: lynne.cousins@mq.edu.au
T: +61 (2) 9850 8939

Post-docs

 Name Contact details

Mattias Johnsson
Department of Physics and Astronomy
Honorary Associate 

E6B-7 Wally's Walk 2.406
E: mattias.johnsson@mq.edu.au

Valentina Baccetti
Department of Physics and Astronomy
Honorary Associate
E6B-7 Wally's Walk 2.407
E: valentina.baccetti@mq.edu.au

Shakib Daryanoosh
Department of Physics and Astronomy
Honorary Associate
E6B-7 Wally's Walk 2.405
E: shakib.daryanoosh@mq.edu.au

Simon Devitt
Department of Physics and Astronomy
Honorary Associate
E6B-7 Wally's Walk 2.401
E: simon.devitt@mq.edu.au

Miguel Ferreira
Department of Physics and Astronomy
Honorary Associate
E6B-7 Wally's Walk 2.406
E: miguel.ferreira@mq.edu.au

Sarah Kaiser
Department of Physics and Astronomy
Honorary Associate
E6B-7 Wally's Walk 2.404
E: sarah.kaiser@mq.edu.au

Lachlan Rogers
Department of Physics and Astronomy
Honorary Associate
E6B-7 Wally's Walk 2.404
E: lachlan.rogers@mq.edu.au

Yuval Sanders
Department of Physics and Astronomy
Honorary Associate
E6B-7 Wally's Walk 2.406
E: yuval.sanders@mq.edu.au

Artur Scherer
Department of Physics and Astronomy
Honorary Associate
E6B-7 Wally's Walk 2.406
E: artur.scherer@mq.edu.au

Mikolaj Schmidt
Department of Physics and Astronomy
Honorary Associate
E6B-7 Wally's Walk 2.407
E: mikolaj.schmidt@mq.edu.au

Xavier Vidal
Department of Physics and Astronomy
Honorary Associate
E6B-7 Wally's Walk 2.407
E: xavier.vidal@mq.edu.au

Students

 Name                            Contact details

Babatunde Ayeni
Department of Physics and Astronomy
PhD Student

E6B-7 Wally's Walk 2.437
E:babatunde.ayeni@students.mq.edu.au

Steward Connor
Department of Physics and Astronomy
Master Student
E6B-7 Wally's Walk 2.437
E: steward.connor@mq.edu.au

Oliver Conquest
Department of Physics and Astronomy
Master Student
E6B-7 Wally's Walk 2.437
E: oliver.conquest@mq.edu.au

Daniel Blay
Department of Physics and Astronomy
PhD Student
E6B-7 Wally's Walk 2.437
E: daniel.blay@mq.edu.au

Matthew Van Breugel
Department of Physics and Astronomy
PhD Student

E6B-7 Wally's Walk 2.401
E: matthew.vanbreugel@mq.edu.au

Alexander Buese
Department of Physics and Astronomy
PhD Student

E6B-7 Wally's Walk 2.401  

E: alexander.buese@students.mq.edu.au

Stephen Dunn
Department of Physics and Astronomy
Master Student
E6B-7 Wally's Walk 2.401
E: stephen.dunn@students.mq.edu.au

Thomas Guff
Department of Physics and Astronomy
PhD Student
E6B-7 Wally's Walk 2.401
E: thomas.guff@students.mq.edu.au

Bryte Hagan
Department of Physics and Astronomy
Master Student
E6B-7 Wally's Walk 2.401
E: bryte.hagan@students.mq.edu.au

Maria Kieferova
Department of Physics and Astronomy
PhD Student
E6B-7 Wally's Walk 2.401
E: maria.kieferova@mq.edu.au 

Ian Nagle
Department of Physics and Astronomy
PhD Student

E6B-7 Wally's Walk 2.401
E: ian.nagle@mq.edu.au 

Sarath Raman Nayer
Department of Physics and Astronomy
PhD Student
E6B-7 Wally's Walk 2.401
E: sarath.raman.nair@mq.edu.au

Reece Roberts
Department of Physics and Astronomy
PhD Student

E6B-7 Wally's Walk 2.401
E: reece.roberts@mq.edu.au

Alexander Smith
Department of Physics and Astronomy
PhD Student
E6B-7 Wally's Walk 2.401
E: alexander.smith@mq.edu.au

Andrew Wood
Department of Physics and Astronomy
PhD Student

E6B-7 Wally's Walk 2.401
E: andrew.wood@students.mq.edu.au

Visitors

DateNameLocation
04 March 2017 - 4 March 2018Dr James CresserUniversity of Glasgow, Scotland
23 November – 18 December 2015Dr Alexia AuffevesFrench National Centre for Scientific Research, France
15 November -5 December 2015 A/Prof Sile Nic Chomaic Ojinawa Institute of Science and Technology, Japan
 15 November -5 December 2015 A/Prof Thomas Busch Ojinawa Institute of Science and Technology, Japan
 8 November – 18 December 2015 Dr Maxime RichardFrench National Centre for Scientific Research, France
18 October – 25 October 2015Prof Fedor JelezkoUniversity of Ulm, Germany
18 October – 25 October 2015Prof Jon DowlingLouisiana State University, USA
12 July – 25 July 2015Prof Jon DowlingLouisiana State University, USA
4-10 April & 1-12 July 2015Prof Rob MannUniversity of Waterloo Canada

Alumni

NameThesis titleYear of completion
First name, Last name
Role
Placeholder titleYear of completion
  
Back to the top of this page