Our people

Our people

Associate Professor David Coutts

Director

Associate Professor David Coutts (B.Sc. hons. Massey University 1987, Ph.D Macquarie University 1992) is Director of the MQ Photonics Research Centre and Deputy Associate Dean Research in the Faculty of Science and Engineering.




Academic staff (A-K)

 Name Contact details

Robert Carman
Department of Physics and Astronomy
Senior Research Fellow

E6B 2.701
P: +61-2-9850-7058
E: robert.carman@mq.edu.au

Russell Connally
Department of Physics and Astronomy
Honorary Associate

E7B 235
P: +61-2-9850-8111
E: russell.connally@mq.edu.au 

David Coutts
Centre for Ultrahigh-bandwidth Devices for Optical Systems (CUDOS)
Associate Dean, Research,Director MQ Photonics Research Centre

E6B-7 Wally's Walk 2.714
E: david.coutts@mq.edu.au
P: +61-2-9850-8970

Judith Dawes
Centre for Ultrahigh-bandwidth Devices for Optical Systems (CUDOS)
Professor

E6B-7 Wally's Walk 2.708
E: judith.dawes@mq.edu.au
P: +61-2-9850-8903

James Downes
Department of Physics and Astronomy
Associate Dean, Learning & Teaching

E6B-7 Wally's Walk 2.710
E: james.downes@mq.edu.au
P: +61-2-9850-8900

Alex Fuerbach
Centre for Ultrahigh-bandwidth Devices for Optical Systems (CUDOS)
Associate Professor

E6B-7 Wally's Walk 2.608
E: alex.fuerbach@mq.edu.au
P: +61-2-9850-6145

Ewa Goldys
Department of Physics and Astronomy
Personal Chair; Degree Director Photonics and Optoelectronics

E7A-12 Wally's Walk 2.704
E: ewa.goldys@mq.edu.au
P: +61-2-9850-8902

David Inglis
Department of Engineering
Lecturer

E6B-7 Wally's Walk 127
E: david.inglis@mq.edu.au
P: +61-2-9850-9144

 

Stuart Jackson
Department of Engineering
Associate Professor

E6B-7 Wally's Walk 1.123
E: stuart.jackson@mq.edu.au
P: +61-2-9850-9137

Ian Jamie
Department of Chemistry and Biomolecular Sciences
Senior Lecturer

F7B-4 Wally's Walk 236
E: ian.jamie@mq.edu.au
P: +61-2-9850-8293

Dayong Jin
Department of Chemistry and Biomolecular Sciences
Adjunct Professor

F7B 332
E: dayong.jin@mq.edu.au
P: +61-2-9850-8311

Adam Joyce
Department of Physics and Astronomy
Senior Scientific Officer

E7B-14 Sir Christopher Ondaatje Avenue 214

E: adam.joyce@mq.edu.au
P: +61-2-9850-1061

Deb Kane
Department of Physics and Astronomy
Professor

E6B-7 Wally's Walk 2.701

E: deb.kane@mq.edu.au
P: +61-2-9850-8907

Academic staff (L-Z)

Candace Lang
Department of Engineering
Professor

E6B-7 Wally's Walk 105
E: candace.lang@mq.edu.au
P: +61-2-9850-9149

 

Jon Lawrence
Department of Physics and Astronomy
Honorary Fellow

E7A-12 Wally's Walk 203
E: jon.lawrence@mq.edu.au
P: +61-2-9850-8901

Rich Mildren
Department of Physics and Astronomy
Associate Professor, ARC Future Fellow 

E6B-7 Wally's Walk 2.606

E: rich.mildren@mq.edu.au
P: +61-2-9850-8965

Gabriel Molina-Terriza
Department of Physics and Astronomy
ARC Future Fellow; ARC CoE EQuS

E6B-7 Wally's Walk 2.409

E: gabriel.molina-terriza@mq.edu.au
P: +61-2-9850-6371

Brian Orr
Department of Physics and Astronomy
Emeritus Professor 

E6B-7 Wally's Walk 2.208
E: brian.orr@mq.edu.au
P: +61-2-9850-8289

Helen Pask
Department of Physics and Astronomy
ARC Future Fellow (formerly MQ VC Innovation Fellow)

E6B-7 Wally's Walk 2.607

E: helen.pask@mq.edu.au
P: +61-2-9850-8932

Jim Piper
Department of Physics and Astronomy
Emeritus Professor

E6B 2.208
E: jim.piper@mq.edu.au
P: +61-2-9850-6369

 

James Rabeau
Department of Physics and Astronomy
Honorary Fellow

C5C 381
E: james.rabeau@mq.edu.au
P: +61-2-9850-4741

Reece Roberts
Department of Physics and Astronomy
PhD Student

E6B 2.401
E: reece.roberts@mq.edu.au

David Spence
Department of Physics and Astronomy
Associate Professor

E7B-14 Sir Christopher Ondaatje Avenue 2.709
E: david.spence@mq.edu.au
P: +61-2-9850-8973 

Michael Steel
Centre for Ultrahigh-bandwidth Devices for Optical Systems (CUDOS)
Professor, Head of Physics & Astronomy 

E6B-7 Wally's Walk 2.713
E: michael.steel@mq.edu.au
P: +61-2-9850-8916

Graham Town
Department of Engineering
Professor 

E6B-7 Wally's Walk 1.33

E: graham.town@mq.edu.au
P: +61-2-9850-9145

Anita Verinder
Centre for Ultrahigh-bandwidth Devices for Optical Systems (CUDOS)
Administrator 

Australian Hearing Hub-16 University Avenue 4.514
E: anita.verinder@mq.edu.au
P: +61-2-9850-8931

Thomas Volz
Department of Physics and Astronomy
Senior Lecturer 

E6B-7 Wally's Walk 2.609
E: thomas.volz@mq.edu.au
P: +61-2-9850-8261

Michael Withford
Centre for Ultrahigh-bandwidth Devices for Optical Systems (CUDOS)
Professor; Node Director CUDOS

Australian Hearing Hub-16 University Avenue 4 512
E: michael.withford@mq.edu.au
P: +61-2-9850-7056
 

Andrei Zvyagin
Department of Physics and Astronomy
Associate Professor

E7B-14 Sir Christopher Ondaatje Avenue 165

E: andrei.zvyagin@mq.edu.au
P: +61-2-9850-7760

Professional staff

 Name Contact details

Martin Ams
Department of Physics and Astronomy
Business Development Manager

Australian Hearing Hub 4.514
E: martin.ams@mq.edu.au
P: +61 (2) 9850 5044

Ayad Anwer
Department of Physics and Astronomy
Lab Manager

E6F G.12
E: ayad.anwer@mq.edu.au

Rajni Prasad
Department of Physics and Astronomy
a/c Executive Officer, Team Leader

E6B 2.712
E: rajni.prasad@mq.edu.au
P: +61-2-9850-8911

Laura Yang
Department of Physics and Astronomy
Administrative Officer Finance, HR & HDR 

E6B-7 Wally's Walk 2.602
E: laura.yang@mq.edu.au
P: +61-2-9850-9503

Postdoctoral staff

 Name Contact details

Alexander Arriola
Department of Physics and Astronomy
Research Associate in Astrophotonics 

Australian Hearing Hub-16 University Avenue 4.514
E: alex.arriola@mq.edu.au
P: +61-2-9850-5043

Peter Dekker
Department of Physics and Astronomy
Research Fellow

Australian Hearing Hub-16 University Avenue 4.514
E: peter.dekker@mq.edu.au
P: +61-2-9850-8927

Wei Deng
Department of Physics and Astronomy
ARC DECRA Research Fellow

E7B-14 Sir Christopher Ondaatje Avenue
E: wei.deng@mq.edu.au
P: +61-2-9850-4479

Simon Gross
Department of Physics and Astronomy
Research Fellow

Australian Hearing Hub-16 University Avenue 4.514
E: simon.gross@mq.edu.au
P: +61-2-9850-5021

Peter Ha
Department of Physics and Astronomy
Research Fellow

E7B-14 Sir Christopher Ondaatje Avenue 156
E: peter.ha@mq.edu.au
P: +61-2-9850-4167

Yabai He
Department of Physics and Astronomy
Honorary Fellow

F7B 011
E: yabai.he@mq.edu.au
P: +61-2-9850-8311

Luke Helt
Centre for Ultrahigh-bandwidth Devices for Optical Systems (CUDOS)
Macquarie University Research Fellow

E6B-7 Wally's Walk 2.405
E: luke.helt@mq.edu.au
P: +61-2-9850-6368

Benjamin Johnston
Department of Physics and Astronomy
Laser Applications Engineer

W1A 04.511
E: benjamin.johnston@mq.edu.au
P: +61-2-9850-8960

Andrew Lee
Department of Physics and Astronomy
Research Fellow

E7B-14 Sir Christopher Ondaatje Avenue 157
E: andrew.lee@mq.edu.au
P: +61-2-9850-6203

Douglas Little
Department of Physics and Astronomy
Research Associate

C5A 417
E: douglas.little@mq.edu.au
P: +61-2-9850-8115

Graham Marshall
Department of Physics and Astronomy
Honorary Associate 

E7B 165
E: graham.marshall@mq.edu.au
P: +61-2-9850-7583

Aaron McKay
Department of Physics and Astronomy
Honorary Associate 

C5A-12 Second Way 418
E: aaron.mckay@mq.edu.au
P: +61-2-9850-8975

Robert Williams
Department of Physics and Astronomy
Macquarie University Research Fellow 

E7B-14 Sir Christopher Ondaatje Avenue 165
E: robert.williams@mq.edu.au
P: +61-2-9850-8975
Back to the top of this page