Skip to Content

Department of Linguistics

Academic staff by title

Professor

Name Position Phone Email Office
Prof Phil Benson Professor 02 9850 8756 philip.benson@mq.edu.au C5A 573
Prof Christopher Candlin Senior Research Professor Emeritus   christophercandlin@gmail.com  
Prof Stephen Crain
Distinguished Professor, Director of the ARC Centre of Excellence in Cognition and its Disorders
02 9850 9434 stephen.crain@mq.edu.au AHH.3.809
Prof Linda Cupples Professor 02 9850 8788 linda.cupples@mq.edu.au AHH 3.517
Prof Katherine Demuth ARC Australian Laureate and Distinguished Professor 02 9850 8783 katherine.demuth@mq.edu.au AHH 3.520
Prof Trevor Johnston Professor 02 9850 8067 trevor.johnston@mq.edu.au C5A 546
Prof Pamela Peters Emeritus Professor 02 9850 8773 pam.peters@mq.edu.au C5A 548
Prof Ingrid Piller Professor 02 9850 7674 ingrid.piller@mq.edu.au C5A 572
Prof Lynda Yates Professor, Head of Linguistics Department 02 9850 9646 lynda.yates@mq.edu.au C5A 520

Associate Professor

Name Position Phone Email Office
A/P David Butt Associate Professor 02 9850 8793 david.butt@mq.edu.au C5A 447
A/P Ilija Casule Associate Professor 02 9850 8660 ilija.casule@mq.edu.au C5A 527
A/P Felicity Cox Associate Professor 02 9850 8767 felicity.cox@mq.edu.au AHH 3.519
A/P Jan-Louis Kruger Associate Professor, Director of Translating and Interpreting 02 9850 1467 janlouis.kruger@mq.edu.au C5A 506
A/P Catherine McMahon Associate Professor, Head of Audiology 02 9850 8775 cath.mcmahon@mq.edu.au AHH 1.605
A/P Mehdi Riazi Associate Professor 02 9850 7951 mehdi.riazi@mq.edu.au C5A 575
A/P Rosalind Thornton Associate Professor 02 9850 6710 rosalind.thornton@mq.edu.au AHH 3.516

Senior Lecturer

Name Position Phone Email Office
Dr Elisabeth Harrison Senior Lecturer, Head of Speech Pathology 02 9850 6716 elisabeth.harrison@mq.edu.au C5A 515
Dr Annabelle Lukin Senior Lecturer, Faculty of Human Sciences Director - Master of Research 02 9850 8607 annabelle.lukin@mq.edu.au C5A 423
Dr Robert Mannell Senior Lecturer 02 9850 8771 robert.mannell@mq.edu.au AHH 3.522
Dr Stephen H Moore Senior Lecturer, Director of Higher Degree Research - Linguistics Department 02 9850 8742 stephen.moore@mq.edu.au C5A 503
Dr Peter Roger Senior Lecturer 02 9850 9650 peter.roger@mq.edu.au C5A 502
Dr Mridula Sharma Senior Lecturer, Convenor, Master of Clinical Audiology 02 9850 4863 mridula.sharma@mq.edu.au AHH 1.607
Ms Sue Spinks Senior Lecturer, Director of Learning and Teaching - Linguistics Department 02 9850 8770 sue.spinks@mq.edu.au C5A 517
Dr Jan Tent Senior Lecturer 02 9850 9659 jan.tent@mq.edu.au C5A 528
Dr Canzhong Wu Senior Lecturer 02 9850 8764 canzhong.wu@mq.edu.au C5A 421

 

Lecturer

Name Position Phone Email Office
Dr Liora Ballin Lecturer 02 9850 4144 liora.ballin@mq.edu.au C5A 524
Dr Scott Barnes Lecturer 02 9850 7960 scott.barnes@mq.edu.au C5A 525
Dr Isabelle Boisvert Postdoctoral Researcher 02 9850 1065 isabelle.boisvert@mq.edu.au AHH 1.614
Ms Jean Brick Lecturer 02 9850 9936 jean.brick@mq.edu.au C5A 504
Dr Adrian Buzo Lecturer 02 9850 8719 adrian.buzo@mq.edu.au C5A 409
Dr Philip Chappell Lecturer 02 9850 9603 philip.chappell@mq.edu.au C5A 574
Dr Maria Herke Lecturer 02 9850 4249 maria.herke@mq.edu.au C5A 544
Dr Izumi Inoue Lecturer 02 9850 9803 izumi.inoue@mq.edu.au C5A 412
Rebecca Kim Lecturer 02 9850 8789 rebecca.kim@mq.edu.au AHH 1.610
Dr John Knox Lecturer 02 9850 8729 john.knox@mq.edu.au C5A 501
Dr Cassie Liardet Lecturer 02 9850 6704 cassi.liardet@mq.edu.au C5A 537
Dr Jill Murray Lecturer 02 9850 9605 jill.murray@mq.edu.au C5A 547
Mr John Newall Lecturer 02 9850 2920 john.newall@mq.edu.au AHH 1.611
Dr Jennifer Peck Lecturer 02 9850 6876 jennifer.peck@mq.edu.au C5A 513
Dr Michael Proctor Lecturer 02 9850 4137 michael.proctor@mq.edu.au AHH 3.435
Ms Yan Qian Lecturer 02 9850 7030 yan.qian@mq.edu.au C5A 422
Dr Verna Robertson Rieschild Lecturer 02 9850 9922 verna.rieschild@mq.edu.au C5A 529
Ms Christine Sheard Lecturer 02 9850 8790 christine.sheard@mq.edu.au C5A 524
Ms Helen Slatyer Lecturer 02 9850 8651 Helen.Slatyer@mq.edu.au C5A 505
Dr Stanley Song Lecturer 02 9850 9608 zhongwei.song@mq.edu.au C5A 408
Dr Deanna Wong Lecturer 02 9850 1466 deanna.wong@mq.edu.au C5A 514

Associate Lecturer

Name Position Phone Email Office
Ms Jean Cho Associate Lecturer 02 9850 8836 jean.cho@mq.edu.au C5A 418
Ms Jing Fang Associate Lecturer 02 9850 4240 jing.fang@mq.edu.au C5A 417
Mr Guoqing Ge Associate Lecturer 02 9580 9438 guoqing.ge@mq.edu.au C5A 413
Ms Della Goswell Associate Lecturer 02 9850 9188 della.goswell@mq.edu.au C5A 420
Ms Heather Jackson Associate Lecturer 02 9850 1455 heather.jackson@mq.edu.au C5A 538
Mr Wai-Hung Lam Associate Lecturer 02 9850 4240 wai-hung.lam@mq.edu.au C5A 419
Ms Deborah Miyashita Associate Lecturer 02 9850 8719 deborah.miyashita@mq.edu.au C5A 409