Skip to Content

Department of Linguistics

Linguistics staff

Style Council

Academic staff listed by their positions within the Department of Linguistics, their full profiles and contact details.

Academic advisor

Not sure which subject units to study? Need advice on your assignments? Consult an academic advisor. 

Student advisor

Contact our friendly student advisors for help to apply or enrol for a course or other administrative matters.

Find a staff member by their last name

Name Position Phone Email Office
Ms. Hiranya Anderson P.A to Head of Linguistics Department 02 9850 8777 Hiranya.Anderson@mq.edu.au C5A Room 521
Dr Liora Ballin Lecturer 02 9850 4144 liora.ballin@mq.edu.au C5A 524
Dr Scott Barnes Lecturer 02 9850 7960 scott.barnes@mq.edu.au C5A 525
Prof Phil Benson Professor and Director of Research, Linguistics Department 02 9850 8756 philip.benson@mq.edu.au C5A 573
Ms Lynne Blackford Clinical Educator (Audiology) 02 9850 1063 lynne.blackford@mq.edu.au AHH G.505
Dr Isabelle Boisvert Postdoctoral Researcher 02 9850 1065 isabelle.boisvert@mq.edu.au AHH 1.614
Ms Jean Brick Lecturer 02 9850 9936 Jean.Brick@mq.edu.au C5A 504
Ms Maria Brittain Receptionist 02 9850 2900 maria.brittain@mq.edu.au AHH G.200
Ms Jennifer Brown Clinical Educator/Speech Pathologist 02 9850 1451 Jennifer.Brown@mq.edu.au AHH G.505
Dr Jorg Buchholz Auditory Scientist 02 9412 6909 jorg.buchholz@mq.edu.au AHH NAL
A/P David Butt Associate Professor 02 9850 8793 david.butt@mq.edu.au C5A 447
Dr Adrian Buzo Lecturer 02 9850 8719 adrian.buzo@mq.edu.au C5A 409
Prof Christopher N Candlin Senior Research Professor Emeritus   christophercandlin@gmail.com  
A/P Ilija Casule Associate Professor 02 9850 8660 ilija.casule@mq.edu.au C5A 527
Dr Philip Chappell Lecturer 02 9850 9603 philip.chappell@mq.edu.au C5A 574
Ms Jean Cho Associate lecturer 02 9850 8836 jean.cho@mq.edu.au C5A 418
Ms Kylie Coaldrake Postgraduate Officer 02 9850 7102 ling.postgrad@mq.edu.au C3A Ground Floor
A/P Felicity Cox Associate Professor 02 9850 8767 Felicity.Cox@mq.edu.au AHH 3.519
Prof Stephen Crain Distinguished Professor, Director of the ARC Centre of Excellence in Cognition and its Disorders 02 9850 9434 stephen.crain@mq.edu.au AHH.3.809
Prof Linda Cupples Professor 02 9850 8788 Linda.Cupples@mq.edu.au AHH 3.517
Dr Maria Dahm Early Career Fellow 02 9850 9601 maria.dahm@mq.edu.au C5A 518
Prof Katherine Demuth Professor 02 9850 8783 katherine.demuth@mq.edu.au AHH 3.520
Ms Jing Fang Associate Lecturer 02 9850 4240 jing.fang@mq.edu.au C5A 417
Mr Guoqing Ge Associate Lecturer 02 9580 9438 Guoqing.Ge@mq.edu.au C5A 413
Ms Della Goswell Associate lecturer, Convenor of Auslan Interpreting program 02 9850 9188 della.goswell@mq.edu.au C5A 420
Ms Virginia Gore Clinical Placement Coordinator, MSLP Program 02 9850 6536 virgina.gore@mq.edu.au AHH G.505
Ms Megan Gradden Clinical Educator (Audiology)   megan.gradden@mq.edu.au  
Dr Elisabeth Harrison Senior Lecturer, Head of Speech Pathology 02 9850 6716 Elisabeth.Harrison@mq.edu.au C5A 515
Dr Maria Herke Lecturer 02 9850 4249 maria.herke@mq.edu.au C5A 544
Ms Belinda Hill Manager - Speech Pathology Clinical Education 02 9850 6877 belinda.hill@mq.edu.au AHH G.503
Dr Ronny Ibrahim Postdoctoral Researcher 02 9850 4246 ronny.ibrahim@mq.edu.au AHH G.614
Dr Izumi Inoue Lecturer 02 9850 9803 Izumi.Inoue@mq.edu.au C5A 412
Ms Heather Jackson Associate Lecturer 02 9850 1455 heather.jackson@mq.edu.au C5A 538
Prof Trevor Johnston Professor 02 9850 8067 trevor.johnston@mq.edu.au C5A 546
Ms Rebecca Keech Receptionist 02 9850 2900 bec.keech@mq.edu.au AHH G.200
Rebecca Kim Lecturer 02 9850 8789 rebecca.kim@mq.edu.au AHH 1.610
Dr John Knox Lecturer 02 9850 8729 John.Knox@mq.edu.au C5A 501
Mrs Lalana Knox Computing Officer 02 9850 8794 lalana.knox@mq.edu.au C5A 455
A/P Jan-Louis Kruger Associate Professor and Director of Translating and Interpreting 02 9850 1467 JanLouis.Kruger@mq.edu.au C5A 506
Mr Wai-Hung Lam Associate Lecturer 02 9850 4240 wai-hung.lam@mq.edu.au C5A 419
Dr Cassi Liardet Lecturer 02 9850 6704 cassi.liardet@mq.edu.au C5C 537
Dr Annabelle Lukin Senior Lecturer, FOHS Director, Master of Research 02 9850 8607 annabelle.lukin@mq.edu.au C5A 423
Ms Jeanie MacDonald Clinical Educator (Speech Pathology) 02 9850 1454   AHH G.505
Dr Robert Mannell Senior Lecturer 02 9850 8771 robert.mannell@mq.edu.au AHH 3.522
A/P Catherine McMahon Associate Professor, Head of Audiology 02 9850 8775 cath.mcmahon@mq.edu.au AHH 1.605
Ms Deborah Miyashita Associate Lecturer 02 9850 8719 deborah.miyashita@mq.edu.au C5A 409
Dr Stephen H Moore Senior Lecturer, Director of Higher Degree Research, Linguistics Department 02 9850 8742 Stephen.Moore@mq.edu.au C5A 503
Ms Sofia Robredo Moran Higher Degree Research Coordinator- Linguistics 02 9850 9243 fohs.hdr@mq.edu.au X5B 242
Ms Melanie Moscatt Postgraduate Officer 02 9850 7594 ling.postgrad@mq.edu.au C3A Ground Floor
Dr Jill Murray Lecturer 02 9850 9605 Jill.Murray@mq.edu.au C5A 547
Mr Andrew Myles Clinical Educator (Audiology) 02 9850 7595 andrew.myles@mq.edu.au AHH G.505
Mr Phillip Nakad Audiology Clinical Manager 02 9850 6702 phillip.nakad@mq.edu.au AHH G.504
Ms Eva Nemeth Director of Clinical Education 02 9850 6877 eva.nemeth@mq.edu.au AHH G.503
Mr John Newall Lecturer 02 9850 2920 john.newall@mq.edu.au AHH 1.611
Dr Jennifer Peck Lecturer 02 9850 6876 jennifer.peck@mq.edu.au C5A 513
Prof Pamela Peters Emeritus Professor 02 9850 8773 pam.peters@mq.edu.au C5A 548
Prof Ingrid Piller Professor 02 9850 7674 ingrid.piller@mq.edu.au C5A 572
Dr Michael Proctor Lecturer 02 9850 4137 michael.proctor@mq.edu.au AHH 3.435
Ms Yan Qian Lecturer 02 9850 7030 yan.qian@mq.edu.au C5A 422
A/P Mehdi Riazi Associate Professor 02 9850 7951 Mehdi.Riazi@mq.edu.au C5A 575
Dr Verna Robertson Rieschild Lecturer 02 9850 9922 Verna.Rieschild@mq.edu.au C5A 529
Mrs Katherine Revius Laboratory Co-ordinator, Child Language Lab 02 9850 6705 katherine.revius@mq.edu.au AHH 3.626
Dr Peter Roger Senior Lecturer 02 9850 9650 Peter.Roger@mq.edu.au C5A 502
Ms Brooke Rose Clinical Educator (Audiology) 02 9850 2907 brooke.rose@mq.edu.au AHH G.505
Ms Collette Ryan Administration Manager 02 9850 8774 Collette.Ryan@mq.edu.au C5A 519
Dr Mridula Sharma Senior Lecturer, Convenor, Master of Clinical Audiology 02 9850 4863 mridula.sharma@mq.edu.au AHH 1.607
Ms Christine Sheard Lecturer 02 9850 8790 christine.sheard@mq.edu.au C5A 524
Mrs Kittye Shen T&I Practicum Officer 02 9850 7424 ti.practicum@mq.edu.au C5A 563
Ms Susan Shouk Business Development Manager 02 9850 8732 susan.shouk@mq.edu.au AHH G.502
Miss Deepti Singh Clinical Educator (Audiology) 02 9850 6709 deepti.singh@mq.edu.au AHH G.505
Ms Helen Slatyer Lecturer 02 9850 8651 Helen.Slatyer@mq.edu.au C5A 505
Mr Adam Smith Corpus Project Officer 02 9850 8773 adam.smith@mq.edu.au C5A 548
Dr Stanley Song Lecturer 02 9850 9608 zhongwei.song@mq.edu.au C5A 408
Ms Sue Spinks Senior Lecturer, Director of Learning and Teaching, Linguistics Department 02 9850 8770 Sue.Spinks@mq.edu.au C5A 517
Ms Yee-Foong Stone Clinical Coordinator of Audiology Clinic 02 9850 8727 yee-foong.stone@mq.edu.au AHH 1.609
Dr Jan Tent Senior Lecturer 02 9850 9659 Jan.Tent@mq.edu.au C5A 528
A/P Rosalind Thornton Associate Professor 02 9850 6710 Rosalind.Thornton@mq.edu.au AHH 3.516
Ms Lorraine Whybrow Postgraduate Officer 02 9850 7102 ling.postgrad@mq.edu.au C3A Ground Floor
Dr Deanna Wong Lecturer 02 9850 1466 deanna.wong@mq.edu.au C5A 514
Ms Margaret Wood Linguistics Undergraduate Administration Officer 02 9850 8740 lingadmin@mq.edu.au , margaret.wood@mq.edu.au C5A 508
Ms Alice Xufang Wu Postgraduate Officer 02 9850 6782 translate@mq.edu.au C3A Ground Floor
Dr Canzhong Wu Senior Lecturer 02 9850 8764 Canzhong.Wu@mq.edu.au C5A 421
Dr Nan Xu Postdoctoral Research Fellow 02 9850 9651 nan.xu@mq.edu.au AHH 3.525
A/P Lynda Yates Associate Professor, Head of Linguistics Department 02 9850 9646 lynda.yates@mq.edu.au C5A 520
Dr Ivan Yuen Postdoctoral Research Fellow 02 9850 8707 ivan.yuen@mq.edu.au AHH 3.525
Dr. Beth Zielinski Researcher +61 469 272 182 beth.zielinski@mq.edu.au