Our people

Our people

Key people in the Department

Key department contacts

Head of Department:
Professor Jim Denier Room 6039850 8956jim.denier@mq.edu.au
Department Manager:
Ms Christine Hale Room 605 9850 8947 christine.hale@mq.edu.au
Director of Research
Associate Professor Steve LackRoom 7309850 8928steve.lack@mq.edu.au
Director of Teaching
Dr Rod YagerRoom 6179850 8934rod.yager@mq.edu.au
Director of First Year Studies
Dr Frank ValckenborghRoom 619850 8945frank.valckenborgh@mq.edu.au
Undergraduate Liaison: (incl. Advanced Program)
Dr Rod Yager Room 617 9850 8934 rod.yager@mq.edu.au
MRes Coordinator:
Dr Adam SikoraRoom 721 9850 8952adam.sikora@mq.edu.au
Postgraduate Coordinator:
Prof Xuan Duong Room 729 9850 8948 xuan.duong@mq.edu.au
Student Support Officer:
Garry Lawson Room 606 9850 4175 garry.lawson@mq.edu.au
Director of Numeracy Centre:
Carolyn Kennett Room 711 9850 8924 carolyn.kennett@mq.edu.au

People in the Department

Academic staff

Name Phone Email Office
Professors
Jim Denier 9850 8956 jim.denier@mq.edu.au 603
Xuan Duong 9850 8948 xuan.duong@mq.edu.au 729
Vladimir Gaitsgory 9850 8946 vladimir.gaitsgory@mq.edu.au 738
Paul Smith 9850 8944 paul.smith@mq.edu.au 726
Associate Professors
Michael Batanin 9850 8926 michael.batanin@mq.edu.au 706
Steve Lack 9850 8928 steve.lack@mq.edu.au 730
Senior Lecturers
Richard Garner 9850 8923 richard.garner@mq.edu.au 718
Stuart Hawkins 9850 4177 stuart.hawkins@mq.edu.au 722
Ji Li 9850 6146 ji.li@mq.edu.au 710
Ross Moore 9850 8955 ross.moore@mq.edu.au 734
Gerry Myerson 9850 8952 gerry.myerson@mq.edu.au 739
Adam Sikora 9850 8919 adam.sikora@mq.edu.au 721
Rod Yager 9850 8934 rod.yager@mq.edu.au 617
Lecturers
Paul Bryan (starting Jan 2018)   
Sophie Calabretto 9850 8950 sophie.calabretto@mq.edu.au 705
Christopher Green9850 8922christopher.c.green@mq.edu.au725
Carolyn Kennett 9850 8924 carolyn.kennett@mq.edu.au 711
Christopher Lustri 8950 8915 christopher.lustri@mq.edu.au 714
Catherine Penington catherine.penington@mq.edu.au717
Frank Valckenborgh 9850 8945 frank.valckenborgh@mq.edu.au 613
Elena Vynogradova 9850 8920 elena.vynogradova@mq.edu.au 709
Justin Tzou (starting Sept 2017) justin.tzou@mq.edu.au713
Associate Lecturers
Chris Gordon 9850 8918 chris.gordon@mq.edu.au 618
Dilshara Hill 9850 8924 dilshara.hill@mq.edu.au 711

Professional staff

Name Phone Email Office
Department Manager
Christine Hale 9850 8947 christine.hale@mq.edu.au  605
Administrator Finance/Staff
Donna Hua9850 4770donna.hua@mq.edu.au615
Administrator Academic
Frank Schöenig9850 8555frank.schoenig@mq.edu.au615
Administrator Outreach Co-ordinator
Lesley Mooney (P/T)9850 8550lesley.mooney@mq.edu.au615
    
Administration Assistant
Hayley Prescott9850hayley.prescott@mq.edu.au615
    
Student Support Officer
Garry Lawson 9850 4175 garry.lawson@mq.edu.au 606

Research staff

Name Position Email Office
The Anh Bui Research Fellow the.bui@mq.edu.au719
Adam Tunney Research Associateadam.tunney@mq.edu.au707
John BourkeResearch Associatejohn.d.bourke@mq.edu.au719
Philip HackneyResearch Associatephilip.hackney@mq.edu.au719

Numeracy Centre staff

Name Phone Email Office
Director
Carolyn Kennett9850 8924carolyn.kennett@mq.edu.au711
Associate Lecturers
Dilshara Hill9850 8924dilshara.hill@mq.edu.au711

Higher Degree Research Students

Name Position Email Location
Ramon Abud Alcala PhD ramon.abud-alcala@students.mq.edu.au736
Leon BealePhDleon.beale@students.mq.edu.au728
Chuong Hong DoanPhDchuong-hong.doan@students.mq.edu.au626
James DolanPhDjames.dolan@students.mq.edu.au636
Edoardo LanariPhDedoardo.lanari@students.mq.edu.au736
Hardy HulleyPhDhardy.hulley@students.mq.edu.au 
Poon LeungPhDpoon.leung@students.mq.edu.au728
Daniel LinPhDdaniel.lin@students.mq.edu.au611
Audrey MarkowskeiPhDaudrey.markowskei@students.mq.edu.au728
Branko NikolicPhDbranko.nikolic@students.mq.edu.au626
Alex ParkinsonPhDalex.parkinson@students.mq.edu.au636
Charles WalkerPhDcharles.walker@students.mq.edu.au611
Florian De LegerMResflorian.de-leger@students.mq.edu.au732
Martin SagradianMRes martin.sagradian@students.mq.edu.au732

Türker Topal

MResturker.topal@students.mq.edu.au732
Joel CouchmanMRes joel.couchman@students.mq.edu.au632
Hyeon Tai JungMRes hyeon-tai.jung@students.mq.edu.au632
Ori Livson MResori.livson@students.mq.edu.au632

Adjunct and Honorary staff

Name Position Email
Bon Clarke Honorary Associate bon.clarke@mq.edu.au
William Chen Emeritus Professor william.chen@mq.edu.au
Chris Cooper Honorary Fellow christopher.cooper@mq.edu.au
John Corbett Honorary Fellow john.corbett@mq.edu.au
Michael Edgeloe Honorary Fellow michael.edgeloe@mq.edu.au
Kevin Hong Adjunct Professor  
John Loxton Emeritus Professor johnloxton@optusnet.com.au
Ross Street Emeritus Professor ross.street@mq.edu.au

Moyal Medal

The Moyal Medal is awarded annually by Macquarie University for research contributions to mathematics, physics or statistics, the areas of research of the late Professor José Enrique Moyal who was Professor of Mathematics at Macquarie University for five years from 1973 to 1977.

José Enrique Moyal

José Enrique Moyal

Born in Jerusalem on 1 October 1910

Died in Canberra on 22 May 1998

Joe Moyal was one of Australia’s most remarkable scientists. His insight into the interaction between mathematics, physics and statistics led him to make contributions to these disciplines which have had far-reaching ramifications in all three fields. The Moyal formalism which he introduced in 1949 is being developed today in physics as the Moyal quantum mechanics.

Born and raised in Palestine under the British Mandate, he went to France to study and then work in electrical engineering. He moved to Cambridge to study mathematics, and then returned to Paris to study statistics and theoretical physics.

During the first years of the Second World War, he worked for the British on a secret project together with French scientists in Paris. As the Germans were invading Paris, he could see that this material would come under enemy hands, so co-opted some French troops who were passing by to help him destroy the equipment and records, with the exception of some which he smuggled back to London. Following this, he worked for de Havilland on aircraft design, often taking frequency measures aloft, squashed in the cockpit of developmental fighter planes.

After the war, he started an academic career as a mathematical physicist in Belfast, and then as a statistician in Manchester. At this time, he made fundamental contributions to both fields, introducing the Moyal bracket into physics, and developing the foundations of stochastic processes.

Moyal came to Australia in 1958, and worked for six years in the Department of Statistics at the Institute of Advanced Studies of the Australian National University in Canberra. There he trained several graduate students who are now eminent professors in Australia and the United States, and also made fundamental contributions to the theory of population processes, enabling researchers to track population size as well as the characteristics of individuals.

He extended this work at the Argonne National Laboratory near Chicago, where he worked from 1964 to 1973 on the peaceful uses of nuclear energy. Following this, he returned to Australia to spend five years as a Professor of Mathematics at Macquarie University. Following his retirement, he went back to Canberra where he maintained his interest in the fundamental questions of science. In 1997, the Australian National University conferred on him the honorary degree of Doctor of Science, stating that “he is one of a diminishing breed of mathematical scientists working in a broad range of fields, in each of which he has made fundamental advances”.

Moyal was also an adventurous scuba diver and an avid wine connoisseur. A more detailed picture of him appeared in the book Breakfast with Beaverbrook by the distinguished historian of science, Ann Moyal, whom he married in 1963. He died in Canberra in 1998, and is survived by Ann and two children from his previous marriage.

Moyal Medal Rules

The recipient of the Moyal Medal will have made distinguished contributions to research in mathematics, physics or statistics. Preference will be given to candidates with cross-disciplinary interests, chiefly across the disciplines of mathematics, physics or statistics, but other disciplines can be involved. The field of research of the recipient will normally, but not necessarily, rotate between the three named disciplines each year.

The recipient can either be an Australian, an Australian resident or someone visiting Australia at the appropriate time, and must give a public lecture, the Moyal Lecture on Mathematics, Physics and Statistics, at Macquarie University in the year that she/he is awarded the Moyal Medal. The Medal will be presented at the lecture.

The Moyal Lecture should be such as to provide an intellectual meeting ground for researchers in these three disciplines from Macquarie University and other universities and research establishments. It is hoped that the public lecture will be accessible to honours and graduate students in these disciplines.

The Moyal Medal Committee will be composed of one representative from each of the disciplines of mathematics, physics and statistics at Macquarie University, plus the Head of the Mathematics Department at Macquarie University who is responsible for ensuring that the Committee discharges its duty. One of the representatives will be Chair of the Committee. The Chair will call the meetings of the Committee and negotiate with the Moyal Medallist to arrange the time of the Moyal Lecture.

The Committee will make recommendations concerning the choice of the Moyal Medallist each year with due regard for the requirement that the Moyal Lecture be given by the recipient in that year.

The recommendation of the Committee will be presented by the Executive Dean of the Faculty of Science and Engineering for approval.

Medallists

Moyal Medal

The Moyal Medal is awarded annually by Macquarie University for research contributions to mathematics, physics or statistics.

  • 2000: Joe Gani (Statistics – Australian National University)
  • 2001: Gerard Milburn (Physics – University of Queensland)
  • 2002: Alan McIntosh (Mathematics – Australian National University)
  • 2003: Terry Speed (Statistics – UC Berkeley and WEHI Melbourne)
  • 2004: Denis Evans (Physics – Australian National University)
  • 2005: Bob Anderssen (Mathematics – CSIRO Mathematical and Information Sciences)
  • 2006: Eugene Seneta (Statistics – University of Sydney, Department of Mathematics and Statistics)
  • 2007: Peter Drummond (Physics – University of Queensland, Department of Physics)
  • 2008: Alan Carey (Mathematics – Australian National University)
  • 2009: Peter Hall (Statistics – University of Melbourne and the University of California, Davis.)
  • 2010: William D Phillips (Physics – National Institute of Standards and Technology in Gaithersburg MD)
  • 2011: Cheryl Praeger (Mathematics – School of Mathematics and Statistics, University of Western Australia)
  • 2012: Annette Dobson (Statistics – School of Population Health, University of Queensland)
  • 2013: Donald Melrose (Physics – School of Physics, Sydney University)
  • 2014: Richard Brent (Mathematics - Australian National University)
  • 2015: David Balding (Statistics - University of Melbourne and UCL Genetics Institute London)
  • 2016: Sir Michael Berry (Physics - University of Bristol, UK)

Past visitors to the department

Prof Mahadevan Ganesh, Colorado School of Mines (visiting Dr Stuart Hawkins)

A/Professor Ilya Shvartsman, Penn State University (visiting Professor Gaitsgory)

Dr John Power, University of Bath (visiting CoACT)

Prof Walter Tholen, University of York (visiting CoACT)

Prof Kazuya Kobayashi, Chuo University Japan (visiting Prof Paul Smith)

Dr Martin Markl, Institute of Mathematics of the Czech Academy of Sciences (visiting A/Prof Michael Batanin)

Prof Qui Huy Bui, University of Cantebury (visiting Prof Xuan Thinh Duong)

Dr David White, Denison University (visiting Associate Professor Michael Batanin)

Dr Alexei Davydov, Ohion University (visiting CoACT)

Professor Stephen Garrett, University of Leicester (visiting Professor Jim Denier)

Back to the top of this page