Our Staff

Our Staff

Head of Department

NamePositionArea of Interests
Prof Michael ShengHead of Department

The Executives of the Department

NamePositionAreas of Interests
A/Prof Steve Cassidy
On Leave Til 2017
Associate Professor
Director of Teaching
Data Science
Language Resources and Semantic Web
A/Prof Mark DrasAssociate Professor
MRes Coordinator
RPL Officer
Data Science
Natural Language Processing
Computational Linguistics
Machine Learning
A/Prof Manolya KavakliAssociate Professor
Director of Postgraduate Coursework Programs
Virtual Reality
Computer Games
Human Computer Interaction
Information Processing and Cognitive Modelling
 Prof Annabelle McIver
On Leave Til 2017
Director of Research
Formal Verification and Modelling of Probabilistic Systems
Quantitative Logics
Quantitative Information Flow for Security
A/Prof Yan WangAssociate Professor
Director of Higher Degree Research
Trust Management
Services Computing
Social Networks
Dr Len HameySenior Lecturer
Director of Industry & External Relations
Pattern Recognition
Computer Vision
Machine Learning
Image Processing
Artificial Neural Networks

Academic Staff

NamePositionAreas of Interests
Dr. Peter BuschSenior LecturerInformation Systems - Knowledge Management,
Organisational Learning
Knowledge Flows
Business Processes,
Social Network Analysis
A/Prof Franck CassezAssociate Professor
Acting Director of Research
Formal Methods
Software Verification
Static Analysis
Real-Time Systems Verification and Control
A/Prof. Christophe DocheAssociate Professor
Executive Director of the Optus Macquarie University Cyber Security Hub
Cyber Security - Cryptography 
A/Prof Michael HitchensAssociate Professor
FSE A/Dean of Quality & Standards
Computer Security
Roleplaying Games
Player/Avatar Interaction
Prof Mark JohnsonProfessorData Science
Machine Learning
Computational Linguistics
Statistical Models
Prof Michael JohnsonProfessor
RPL Officer
Cyber Security
Category Theory
Dr. Young Choon LeeLecturer
ARC DECRA Researcher
Distributed Computing
High Performance Computing
Parallel and Distributed Systems
Prof Bernard Mans
OSP Jan-June 2017
FSE Deputy Dean
Algorithms and Complexity
Mobile & Wireless Computing
Dr. Scott McCallumSenior LecturerSymbolic and Algebraic Computation
Dr. Diego Molla AliodSenior Lecturer
RPL Officer
Computational Linguistics
Machine Learning
A/Prof Abhaya NayakAssociate ProfessorArtificial Intelligence
Knowledge Representation 
Prof Mehmet OrgunProfessorArtificial Intelligence
Trust & Security
Intelligent Agents
Prof Deborah RichardsProfessorVirtual Humans
Agent-based Simulations
Virtual Reality and Simulations
Knowledge Acquisition
Serious Games (education, training and health)
Dr. Matthew RobertsLecturerProgramming Languages
Type Systems
Dr. Malcolm RyanSenior LecturerArtificial Intelligence
Knowledge Representation
Deep Learning
Game Design - Ethical engagement, crowd simulation, serious games
Dr. Rolf SchwitterSenior LecturerArtificial Intelligence
Computational Linguistics
Data Science
Dr. Rajan ShankaranSenior LecturerCyber Security
Mobile and Wireless Networks Security
Trust in Mobile Networks
A/Prof Anthony SloaneAssociate Professor
Acting Director of Teaching
Programming Languages
Software Language Engineering
Dr. Stephen SmithLecturerInformation Systems
Green IS
Emergency Management
Prof Vijay VaradharajanProfessor
Microsoft Chair in Innovation in Computing
Cyber Security
Trusted Computing
Cloud Security
Big Data Security
Internet of Things Security
Software Security
Internet and Critical Infrastructure Protection
Security Policies
Models and Architectures
Smart Grid Security
Healthcare Security
Privacy Technologies and Policies
Prof Dominic Verity
On Leave Til 2017
ProfessorCategory Theory
Programming Languages
Semantics and Type Theory
Prof Jian YangProfessorSocial Network
Business Process Management
Service Oriented Computing

Postdoctoral Research Fellow

NameContact DetailsAreas of Interests
Dr. Tahiry RabehajaOffice:  E6A 316
Phone: 9850 9577
Email:  tahiry.rabehaja@mq.edu.au
Program Verification and Security Analysis
Dr. Min ShaOffice:  E6A 373
Phone: 9850 9571
Email:  min.sha@mq.edu.au

Professional Staff

NamePositionContact Details
Melina ChanExecutive Officer - Team LeaderOffice:  E6A 361
Phone: 9850 9510
Email:  melina.chan@mq.edu.au
Sylvian ChowDepartment AdministratorOffice:  E6A 360
Phone: 9850 9105
Email:  sylvian.chow@mq.edu.au
Donna HuaAdministrative OfficerOffice:  E6A 359
Phone: 9850 9526
Email:  donna.hua@mq.edu.au
Donna Lukezic

Executive Assistant to Prof Vijay Varadharajan

(Monday, Tuesday, Thursday:  9.30am - 4.30pm)

Office:  E6A 360
Phone: 9850 9536
Email:  donna.lukezic@mq.edu.au
Jackie WalshDepartment Administrator
(Monday -Wednesday: 9am - 5pm)
Office:  E6A 364
Phone: 9850 9563
Email:  jackie.walsh@mq.edu.au
Fiona YangDepartment AdministratorOffice:  E6A 360
Phone: 9850 9514
Email:  fiona.yang@mq.edu.au

Adjunct Professors, Visiting Professors, Honorary Fellows

NamePositionContact Details
Prof Robert DaleAdjunct ProfessorEmail: robert.dale@mq.edu.au
Prof Mikhail ProkopenkoAdjunct ProfessorEmail: mikhail.prokopenko@mq.edu.au
Prof Josef PieprzykVisiting ProfessorEmail: josef.pieprzyk@mq.edu.au
Prof Igor ShparlinskiVisiting ProfessorEmail: igor.shparlinski@mq.edu.au
Dr. Lee FlaxHonorary FellowEmail: lee.flax@mq.edu.au
A/Prof Leszek MaciaszekHonorary FellowEmail: leszek.maciaszek@mq.edu.au
A/Prof Gunther RossmanithHonorary FellowEmail: gunther.rossmanith@mq.edu.au

For a full list of staff and research students at Department of Computing, please click here.

Back to the top of this page