Our people

Our people

Head of Department

Professor Catherine Dean

Director of Physiotherapy

Professor Catherine Dean is a researcher and educator in neurological physiotherapy. She joined Macquarie University as the inaugural Director and Head of the Physiotherapy Program in May 2011 and has previously worked as an academic with teaching, administrative and research responsibilities at the University of Sydney since 1991.


Academic staff 

Name and contact details Research Interests

Associate Professor Mark Hancock
Curriculum Development Leader
T: +61 (2) 9850 6622
E: mark.hancock@mq.edu.au
Building W6A, Room 505

  • Research and clinical expertise in musculoskeletal physiotherapy
  • Experience in curriculum development of physiotherapy programs.

Associate Professor Julia Hush
Research and Innovation Leader
T: +61 (2) 9850 6621
E: julia.hush@mq.edu.au
Ground floor 75 Talavera Road, Macquarie University

  • Teaching expertise: musculoskeletal physiotherapy, clinical pain science and evidence-based healthcare.
  • Research areas: spinal pain, including prognosis, epidemiology, outcomes, sleep, and pain neuroscience.
  • Current research focus: neurobiological mechanisms involved in the development of chronic pain.

Dr Tim Doyle
Senior Lecturer
T: +61 (2) 9850 9841
E: tim.doyle@mq.edu.au
Ground floor 75 Talavera Road, Macquarie University

  • Teaching expertise: biomechanics, strength and conditioning, motor control.
  • Research areas: biomechanics of lower limb injury, injury prevention, physical preparation for elite sport, development of field testing of physical performance, biomechanics of load carriage.

Dr Taryn Jones
Lecturer
T: +61 (2) 9850 6625 
E: taryn.jones@mq.edu.au
Ground floor 75 Talavera Road, Macquarie University

  • Main area of expertise is in managing complex cases resulting from significant neurological and orthopaedic trauma. 

Dr Kathryn Mills
Lecturer
T: +61 (2) 9850 6624
E: kathryn.mills@mq.edu.au
Ground floor 75 Talavera Road, Macquarie University

  • Research interests include targeted biomechanical and neuromuscular treatments for lower limb overuse injuries and osteoarthritis, health care delivery for people with Osteoarthritis and subgrouping individuals with OA.

Dr Verity Pacey
Lecturer
T: +61 (2) 9850 2795
E: verity.pacey@mq.edu.au
Ground floor 75 Talavera Road, Macquarie University

  • Research interests extend to other chronic, complex musculoskeletal conditions presenting in childhood, such as achondroplasia, osteogenesis imperfecta and congenital talipes equinovarus.

Dr Karen Peebles
Lecturer 
T: +61 (2) 9850 2799
E: karen.peebles@mq.edu.au
Ground floor 75 Talavera Road, Macquarie University

  • Research interests include cardiorespiratory interactions, and consider mechanisms that regulate human cerebral blood flow in conditions of relevance to physiotherapy.

Dr Kate Scrivener
Lecturer
T: +61 (2) 9850 6625
E: kate.scrivener@mq.edu.au 
Ground floor 75 Talavera Road, Macquarie University

  • Clinician, researcher and educator in neurological physiotherapy.

Dr Marita Dale


Professional staff

Name and contact details

Ms Jacqueline North
Physiotherapy Department Operations & Teaching
Clinical Educator (Physiotherapy)
T: +61 (2) 9850 2793 
E: jacque.north@mq.edu.au
Ground floor 75 Talavera Road, Macquarie University


Ms Angela Stark
Physiotherapy Clinical Education and Student 
Support Manager
T: +61 (2) 9850 6627 
E: angela.stark@mq.edu.au
Ground floor 75 Talavera Road, Macquarie University

  • Areas of teaching expertise include neurological physiotherapy, orthopaedic physiotherapy (including amputees), clinical education and professional issues.
  • Areas of sub-specialty are amputees, stroke and traumatic brain injury.

Mr Timothy Foulcher
Physiotherapy Department Operations & Teaching
Education and Student 
Clinical Educator (Physiotherapy)
T: +61 (2) 9850 6627 
E: tim.foulcher@mq.edu.au


Ms Natasha Pocovi
Physiotherapy Department Operations & Teaching
Research Officer
T: +61 (2) 9850 2794
E: tash.pocovi@mq.edu.au
Ground floor 75 Talavera Road, Macquarie University


Ms Michelle Jeffrey
Department Administrator
T: +61 (2) 9850 6626
E: michelle.jeffrey@mq.edu.au
F: +61 (2) 9850 6630
Ground floor 75 Talavera Road, Macquarie University


Mrs Chiara Suarez
Physiotherapy Department Operations & Teaching 
Administration Assistant
E: chiara.suarez@mq.edu.au


Back to the top of this page