Our people

Our people

Mary Ryan.png

Head of Department

Mary Ryan

Mary Ryan joined Macquarie University in October 2016 as Professor and inaugural Head of the Department of Educational Studies. She was previously Assistant Dean (Research) in the Faculty of Education at QUT, responsible for the development and implementation of research strategy. She has an extensive record of program development experience having co-ordinated both B(Ed) Primary and Doctor of Education programs, and coordinated a substantial Higher Degree Research Program. She is acknowledged internationally for her contribution to research in higher education, is a Principal Fellow of the UK Higher Education Academy and is the recipient of an AAUT citation for outstanding contribution to student learning. Her research investigates discourses of literacy, learning, youth culture and teachers’ work. She applies theories of reflexivity, socio-spatiality and criticality to the ‘texts’ produced in classrooms, schools, higher education institutions and workplace learning. Current projects include investigating a reflexive approach to teaching writing in schools; developing pre-service teachers’ epistemic reflexivity to teach to diversity; and tracking the enabling and constraining conditions for teacher education students to manage the demands of the profession.

Academic staff A-H

Name Area of expertise

Mrs Rebecca Andrews
Lecturer in Educational Studies
E: rebecca.andrews@mq.edu.au

  • Educator-child talk
  • Teacher education student mentoring
  • Professional experience
  • Child development

Dr Amael Arguel
Research Fellow
E: amael.arguel@mq.edu.au

  • Educational Psychology
  • Multimedia Learning
  • Health Informatics
  • Quantitative research, experimental methodology, eye tracking, learning analytics

Dr Matt Bower
Associate Professor in Educational Studies
E: matt.bower@mq.edu.au

  • Technology-enhanced learning
  • Learning design
  • Blended learning
  • Educational technology innovation
  • Teacher education
  • Computing education

Ms Clare Britt
Lecturer in Educational Studies
E: clare.britt@mq.edu.au

  • Visual Arts/Creative Arts
  • Early Childhood Creative Arts pedagogy
  • Young children & contemporary art in GLAM contexts

Dr Sarah Carlon
Lecturer in Educational Studies
E: sarah.carlon@mq.edu.au

  • Special Education
  • Early Intervention

Associate Professor Mark Carter
A/Prof in Special Education
E: mark.carter@mq.edu.au

  • Education of students with high support needs.
  • Educational issues in autism spectrum disorders.
  • Communication of individuals with intellectual disability.
  • Social interaction and friendships in individuals with intellectual disability.
  • Evidence-based practice in special education.

Dr Michael Cavanagh
Program Director - Secondary Teacher Education
E: michael.cavanagh@mq.edu.au

  • Teacher education
  • Reflective practice
  • Professional experience
  • Mathematics education

Ms Sandra Cheeseman
Lecturer in Educational Studies
E:sandra.cheeseman@mq.edu.au

  • Professional practice                               
  • Practitioner enquiry
  • Early childhood policy
  • Educational Leadership

Dr Alice Chik
Senior Lecturer in Educational Studies
E: alice.chik@mq.edu.au

  • Multilingualism in education
  • Learner autonomy
  • Digital literacy
  • Foreign language learning
  • Reading acquisition                              
  • Literacy teaching

Dr Hye-Eun Chu
Lecturer in Educational Studies
E: hye-eun.chu@mq.edu.au

  • Cross-cultural science education research
  • Interactions in science classrooms
  • Innovative science teaching and learning(e.g. arts integrated STEM)
  • Students’ conceptual development in science learning through explanatory modelling and multimodal thinking
  • Scientific literacy/Environmental literacy                  

Dr Yeshe Colliver
Lecturer in Educational Studies
E: yeshe.colliver@mq.edu.au

  • Learning through play
  • Young children’s perspectives
  • Family engagement
  • Observational learning
  • Early numeracy

Dr Pamela Coutts
Associate Dean, Standards and Quality
E: pamela.coutts@mq.edu.au

  • Developmental psychology
  • Educational psychology
  • Homework
  • Assessment
  • Pedagogy

Dr Belinda Davis
Lecturer in Educational Studies
E: belinda.davis@mq.edu.au

  • Professional experience       
  • Reflective practice
  • Infant toddler experiences in early childhood settings
  • Curriculum

Associate Professor Sheila Degotardi
Position description: Associate Head of Department: Research
E: sheila.degotardi@mq.edu.au

  • Infant-toddler learning and teaching
  • Relationship-based pedagogies
  • Young children’s interactions
  • Young children's thinking

Dr John De Nobile
Senior Lecturer in Educational Studies; Program Director - Primary 
Teacher Education
E: john.denobile@mq.edu.au

  • Educational leadership
  • Organisational behaviour
  • Classroom management
  • Primary science methodology

Dr Emilia Djonov
Lecturer in Educational Studies
E: emilia.djonov@mq.edu.au

  • Multiliteracies
  • Early language and literacy
  • Multimodality
  • (Critical) Discourse Analysis
  • Social Semiotics
  • Systemic Functional Linguistics

Dr Dean Dudley
Senior Lecturer in Educational Studies
E: dean.dudley@mq.edu.au

  • Health and Physical Education
  • Physical Literacy
  • Assessment       
  • Sport & Coaching          

Professor Garry Falloon
Vincent Fairfax Foundation Chair of Teacher Education
E: garry.falloon@mq.edu.au

  • Digital Learning (classroom focused)
  • Online, blended and distance learning
  • Curriculum design and assessment
  • Research methodologies
  • Primary and middle school education
  • Science education
  • Technology education

Dr Laurie Field
Senior Lecturer in Educational studies
E:laurie.field@mq.edu.au

  • Understanding educational organisations
  • Facilitating change within organisations
  • Educational leadership
  • Program evaluation

Dr Anne Forbes
Senior Lecturer in STEM Education (Early Childhood & Primary)
E: anne.forbes@mq.edu.au

  • STEM Education - primary and early years
  • Communities of Science Practice

Dr Ruth French
Lecturer in Educational Studies
E: ruth.french@mq.edu.au

  • Literacies education
  • Teacher education
  • Systemic functional linguistics
  • Children’s literature

Dr Rebekah Grace
Vice Chancellor’s Innovation Fellow
E: rebekah.grace@mq.edu.au

  • Child health and development
  • The service and support needs of vulnerable children and families
  • Child participation and child voice
  • Engagement with Indigenous children, families and communities
  • Prevention science / translational research

Dr Melissa Johnstone
Lecturer in Educational Studies, Health and Human Sciences
E: melissa.johnstone@mq.edu.au

  • Health & wellbeing  
  • Research design and analyses       
  • Psych development

Dr Fay Hadley
Director of Initial Teacher Education
E: fay.hadley@mq.edu.au

  • Partnerships with families
  • Family diversity
  • Educational leadership
  • Professional learning and development
  • Professional experience

Dr Maria Hatzigianni
Lecturer in Educational Studies
E: maria.hatzigianni@mq.edu.au

  • Technology in Education  
  • History/Philosophy of Education
  • Bilingual Education

Dr Neil Harrison
Coordinator Higher Degree Research
E: neil.harrison@mq.edu.au

  • Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander education
  • Affective learning
  • Trauma informed education
  • Learning from Country
  • Educational philosophy
  • Primary education

Dr Iain Hay
Director of Professional Learning and Engagement
E: iain.hay@mq.edu.au

  • Initial Teacher Education
  • Professional learning
  • School engagement
  • Gender/GLBTI/Young parents     
  • Educational policy & leadership                 
  • Comparative education
  • Tertiary Education Management 

Dr Toni Hopper
Associate Lecturer
E: toni.hopper@mq.edu.au

  • Special Education
  • Literacy
  • Numeracy

Dr Sally Howell
Principal, MUSEC School
E: sally.howell@mq.edu.au

  • Special Education
  • Early numeracy acquisition
  • Early literacy acquisition
  • Number sense as a predictor of numeracy difficulties

Academic staff I-Z

Name Area of expertise

Dr Rod Lane
Senior Lecturer in Educational Studies
E: rod.lane@mq.edu.au

  • Conceptual change/development
  • Learning processes in science and geographical education
  • Teachers’ knowledge and professional development
  • Educational Assessment
  • Qualitative research methods

Dr Wayne Leahy
Senior Lecturer in Educational Studies
E: wayne.leahy@mq.edu.au

  • Educational psychology                           
  • Human memory  and relationship to instructional design
  • Group research methods and statistics (quantitative research)

Dr Greg Leigh
Director, Renwick Centre, Royal Institute for Deaf
and Blind Children
E:  greg.leigh@ridbc.org.au

  • Early psychosocial development of deaf and hard of hearing children
  • Communications access by deaf and hearing impaired children and adults
  • Teachers' use of simultaneous communication
  • Literacy development in deaf children and adults

Dr Helen Little
Program Director, Early Childhood
E: helen.little@mq.edu.au

  • Outdoor learning environments
  • Risky play
  • Child development

Dr Kevin Lowe
Research Fellow
E: kevin.lowe@mq.edu.au

  • Aboriginal Education
  • Curriculum planning, development and implementation
  • Professional reflexivity and teacher change
  • Community and school engagement
  • Whole school planning
  • Aboriginal languages

Dr Norman McCulla
Senior Lecturer in Educational Studies
E: norman.mcculla@mq.edu.au

  • Educational leadership
  • Teacher professional development
  • Curriculum
  • Quality teaching

Ms Judith McKay-Tempest
Associate Lecturer in Educational studies
E: Judith.mckay-tempest@mq.edu.au

  • Play and inquiry in EC
  • family and community
  • Aboriginal engagement

Dr Anne McMaugh
Senior Lecturer, Educational Psychology; 

Program Director- BPhil/MRes
E: anne.mcmaugh@mq.edu.au

  • Educational psychology
  • Social and emotional development
  • Cognitive and noncognitive factors in learning (e.g. growth mindset)
  • Learning and development in vulnerable community, family and school contexts.
  • Research methods and design

Dr Robyn Moloney
Senior Lecturer in Educational Studies
E:robyn.moloney@mq.edu.au

  • Languages Education
  • Multicultural education
  • Intercultural competences
  • Teacher development

Dr Joanne Mulligan
Professor in Educational Studies
E: joanne.mulligan@mq.edu.au

  • Psychology of mathematics and science education
  • Spatial reasoning
  • Early algebra and pattern and structure
  • STEM curriculum and assessment
  • Teacher education/professional learning

Dr Carol Newall
Lecturer in Educational Studies
E:carol.newall@mq.edu.au

  • Child development
  • Fear memory development
  • Childhood Anxiety Disorders
  • Gender and STEM education
  • Teacher’s mental health literacy

Ms Jenny Nicholls
Senior Lecturer in Educational Studies
E: jenny.nichols@mq.edu.au

  • Drama in Education
  • Creative Arts
  • Online Learning
  • Curriculum Design

Dr Kerry-Ann O'Sullivan
Associate Head of Department: Learning and
Teaching
E: kerryann.osullivan@mq.edu.au

  • English and multiliteracies education
  • Texts, discourses, & decision making
  • Professional identity construction
  • Pedagogical change & professional learning

Dr Mariya Pachman
Research Fellow
E: mariya.pachman@mq.edu.au

  • Educational psychology
  • Research methods
  • Statistics, SPSS
  • Management of educational technologies
  • Multimedia learning
  • Instructional design

Dr Mitch Parsell
Associate Dean Learning and Teaching
E: mitch.parsell@mq.edu.au

  • Philosophy of Education
  • Higher Education
  • Peer Review of Teaching

Dr Greg Robertson
Postgraduate Coordinator
E: greg.robertson@mq.edu.au

  • Space & learning
  • Professional Development frameworks
  • Professional learning

Dr Mary Ryan
Professor and Head of Department
E: mary.ryan@mq.edu.au

  • Teacher preparation and reflexive practice
  • Writing development and pedagogy
  • Literacies
  • Reflective learning across programs/curriculum
  • Texts and discourses of learning and teaching
  • Socio-spatial contexts of learning  

Ms Wendy Shepherd
Director/Lecturer
Mia Mia Child and Family Study Centre
E: wendy.shepherd@mq.edu.au

  • E.C. Management
  • Health (EC)
  • Families & Communities

Dr Kathleen Tait MBPsS
Program Director of Post-Graduate Programs
in Special Education and Disability Studies
E: kathleen.tait@mq.edu.au

  • Neurodevelopmental disabilities
  • Intercultural studies in disability
  • Quality of LIfe & Family impact
  • Early intensive behavioural  
  • Applied Behaviour Analysis

Dr Penny Van Bergen
Senior Lecturer in Educational Psychology
E:penny.vanbergen@mq.edu.au

  • Educational psychology
  • Children’s memory
  • Learner processes
  • Socio emotional development
  • Emotion understanding and perspective-taking
  • Instructional implications  

Dr Bronwen Wade-Leeuwen
Senior Research Officer
E: bronwen.wadeleeuwen@mq.edu.au

  • Creative Arts education
  • Spatial reasoning
  • STEAM curriculum and assessment
  • Teacher education/professional learning/school engagement

Dr Manjula Waniganayake
Professor in Educational Studies
E: manjula.waniganayake@mq.edu.au

  • Educational leadership
  • Early Childhood policies
  • Early childhood workforce
  • Families - diversity and engagement
  • Professional learning and development

Ms Doranna Wong
Lecturer in Educational Studies
E: doranna.wong@mq.edu.au

  • Professional Experience
  • Professional learning and development
  • Reflective Practice
  • Mentoring in Early Childhood      

Dr Stuart Woodcock
Senior Lecturer in Educational Studies
E: stuart.woodcock@mq.edu.au

  • Inclusion
  • Educational psychology
  • Classroom management
  • Specific learning disabilities

Dr Shirley Wyver
Senior Lecturer in Educational Studies
E: shirley.wyver@mq.edu.au

  • Outdoor play and learning
  • Cognitive development
  • Vision impairment

 Professional staff

Name Contact details

Alison Pollard
Department Manager

T: (02) 9850 8656
E: alison.pollard@mq.edu.au

Julie McCorquodale
Executive Assistant to Head of Department

T: (02) 9850 9896
E: julie.mccorquodale@mq.edu.au

Nikki de Souza
Administrative Assistant

T: (02) 9850 8704
E: nikki.desouza@mq.edu.au

Owain Matthews
Administrative Assistant

T: (02) 9850 8679
E: owain.matthews@mq.edu.au

Darcy Le Raye
Administrative Officer

T: (02) 9850 8665
E: darcy.leraye@mq.edu.au

Sharyn Gilkes
Academic Programs & Administration Manager - Postgraduate

T: (02) 9850 8695
E: sharyn.gilkes@mq.edu.au

Petronella D’Souza
Team Leader, Professional Experience

T: (02) 9850 9435
E: petronella.dsouza@mq.edu.au

Kerry Klujin
Professional Experience Administration Officer

T: (02) 9850 8717
E: kerry.klujin@mq.edu.au  

Debbie Peeling
Professional Experience Officer

T: (02) 9850 9653
E: debbie.peeling@mq.edu.au

Mayes Kanoun
Science Laboratory Technician

T: (02) 9850 8617
E: mayes.kanoun@mq.edu.au

Andrea Ruttenberg
Professional Experience Assistant

T: (02) 9850 9817
E:  andrea.ruttenberg@mq.edu.au

Natalie Watson
Administrative Assistant

T: (02) 9850 8708
E:  natalie.watson@mq.edu.au

Jo Aboud
Administrative Assistant

T: (02) 9850 8708
E: jo.aboud@mq.edu.au

Back to the top of this page