Our research

Our research

Research is critical in this ever-changing field and the norm for our academics.

Our expertise of this complex discipline ranges across various topics, including:

  • financial and management accounting
  • international financial reporting
  • audit and assurance
  • risk management
  • corporate governance
  • ethics
  • management controls and performance management
  • information systems
  • sustainability reporting
  • financial crime
  • taxation
  • business law

Our research explores and helps shape real world issues, delivering innovative and explorations across a variety of issues, methodologies and ideologies.

Our research areas include:

  • financial and management accounting
  • international financial reporting
  • risk management
  • corporate governance
  • ethics
  • information systems
  • sustainability reporting
  • financial crime
  • taxation
  • business law
  • accounting education
  • auditing and assurance services
  • environmental and social accounting
  • ethical investment and energy law
  • water accounting
  • financial/corporate accounting and reporting
  • cyber security and corporate regulation

Our research has an impact on governing bodies, corporations and not-for-profits.

Here's how you can get involved:

Our research networks

Accounting for Sustainable Knowledge (ASK) Research Network

The ASK Research Network produces fresh insights in areas such as:

  • sustainable knowledge generation and dissemination
  • social and environmental issues
  • sustainability
  • intellectual capital
  • non-financial information
  • non-market information
  • industry applications
  • professional services  
  • sustainable knowledge education.

Our expert academics direct complex, interdisciplinary projects to address challenging research issues.

To get involved contact Associate Professor Johannes Dumay on john.dumay@mq.edu.au and Associate Professor James Hazelton on james.hazelton@mq.edu.au .

Performance, Management and Control Research Network

Network members focus on the management of organisational activities with a view to strengthen economic productivity, enhance employee well-being and improve sustainability.

Our research addresses the nature of management control systems, performance management systems and management accounting practises.

To get involved, contact Associate Professor Kevin Baird on kevin.baird@mq.edu.au  and Associate Professor Rahat Munir on rahat.munir@mq.edu.au.

International Accounting and Business Research Network

Providing theoretical, methodological and empirical evidence on various aspects of professional accountant and management decisions, this network adopts a multidisciplinary approach.  It examines countries such as Australia, China, India, Malaysia, Germany, Indonesia, Fiji and Japan.

Get involved by contacting Professor Chris Patel on chris.patel@mq.edu.au and Associate Professor Elaine Evans on elaine.evans@mq.edu.au.

East Asian Law, Regulation and Policy Research Network

As we engage in trade and immerse ourselves in cultural exchanges with our regional neighbours, it is critical we appreciate and understand how the law is changing in these countries and how this affects Australia. We focus on understanding the interactions between law, culture, economy, politics and society and their influence on business.

Get involved by contacting Dr Trish Blazey on trish.blazey@mq.edu.au and Dr Kay Chan on kay.chan@mq.edu.au.

International Governance and Performance (IGAP) Research Network

This network offers research expertise in corporate and not-for-profit organisational accountability and transparency in Australia and internationally. Financial reporting and assurance issues, focussing on building trust and confidence in financial reports and assurance processes is researched, as is understanding WHS performance to improve its evaluation and reporting indicators.

Get involved by contacting Professor Nonna Martinov-Bennie on

nonna.martinov-bennie@mq.edu.au.

Back to the top of this page