Dean of Macquarie Law School 

  Name and contact details Research interests
  Professor Natalie Klein
Location: Building W3A, Room 510
Phone: (02) 9850 9931
International law, with a focus on law of the sea and international dispute settlement

Academic Staff

Name and Contact DetailsResearch Interests
Carolyn ADAMSPublic Law, with a focus on human rights and open government
Dr Shawkat ALAMInternational Law; International Environmental Law; International Trade and Sustainable Development
  • Position: Lecturer, LLB Programs Director
  • Location: Building W3A, Room
  • Phone: (02) 9850 6928
  • Email:
Defamation; Media Law; Journalism and the Law; Human Rights; Free Speech; Censorship; International Law; European Law; Law of Armed Conflict
  • Position: Senior Lecturer, Learning & Teaching Director
  • Location: Building W3A, Room 507
  • Phone: (02) 9850 4237
  • Email:
Legal Ethics; Capacity; Substitute Decision Making; Elder Law; Alternative Dispute Resolution; Juvenile Justice; Restorative Justice; Human Rights
Dr Carlos L. BERNAL-PULIDOConstitutional Comparative Law; Jurisprudence; Torts
Andrew BURKE
  • Position: Associate Lecturer
  • Location: Building W3A, Room 514
  • Phone: (02) 9850 7090
  • Email:
Environmental and Criminal Law fields, with a focus upon their intersection: Environmental Crime
Dr Frank CARRIGANCorporate Law; Labour Law
Dr Phil C.W. CHAN
  • Positions: Senior Lecturer; Director (International Law and Global Governance Major)
  • Location: Building W3A, Room 615
  • Phone: (02) 9850 7074
  • Email:
International Law; Public Law; Comparative Law; Chinese and Hong Kong Legal and Political Systems; Law, Governance and Development in East Asia and in Southeast Asia
Dr Shireen DAFT
  • Position: Associate Lecturer
  • Location: Building W3A, Room 541
  • Phone: (02) 9850 7022
  • Email:
Non-State Actors and International Law; The Intersections of International Criminal Law; Human Rights and Humanitarian Law
Dr Kirsten DAVIES
  • Positions: Senior Lecturer; Director (International Engagement)
  • Location: Building W3A, Room 505
  • Phone: (02) 9850 8334
  • Email:
Environmental Law and Policy; Customary Law; Human Rights and Climate Change; and Community Engagement
Francesca DOMINELLOIndigenous Legal Issues; Cultural Studies and Law; Legal History; Social Justice within Constitutional and Family Law; State Apologies to Indigenous Peoples
Dr Kate GLEESONGovernance and regulation of bodies, sexuality and reproductive practice
Dr Daniel GHEZELBASHDomestic, International, Regional and Comparative Refugee Law; Domestic and Comparative Immigration Law; Administrative Law; Comparative Law; Legal Transfers/Transplants; International Human Rights Law
Paul GOVINDClimate Change Law; Human Rights and the Environment; Environmental Finance and Disaster Risk Management through Environmental Law and Policy, with a particular focus on the relationship between Environmental Sustainability, Development and the Reduction of Poverty
Dr Joel HARRISONLaw and Religion; Human Rights; Comparative Human Rights; Constitutional Law; Post-Secular Theory
Professor Muhammad Rafiqul ISLAMInternational Trade Law; Law of the World Trade Organization (WTO); International Economic Law; International Law of Foreign Investment; Law of International Economic Institutions; International Commercial Law; International Commercial Arbitration; Public International Law; International Human Rights Law; Law of International Organizations
Dr Aline JAECKELInternational Environmental Law; Law of the Sea; Public International Law; Cross-Disciplinary Approaches to Environmental Challenges
Dr Margaret R.L.L. KELLYConstitutional Law; Administrative law; The Nature of Governance; Australian Governance; The People; Common Law History and Constitutionalism; History and Law of the Monarchy; Constitutional History
Caitriona MCCABE Succession Law
Associate Professor Therese MACDERMOTTLabour Law; Labour Mobility; Anti-Discrimination Law; Dispute Resolution; Gender Equality and Human Rights; Workplace Gender Equality
Professor Denise MEYERSONTheoretical and Comparative Human Rights; Constitutional Law and Comparative Constitutionalism; Jurisprudence
  • Position: Associate Lecturer
  • Location: Building W3A, Room 521
  • Phone: (02) 9850 4276
  • Email:
Corporate and Commercial Law; Mergers and Acquisitions; Debt and Equity Fundraising; International Investment; Regulation and Legal Governance; Financial Markets; Property Law
Dr Vijaya NAGARAJANEconomic regulation in practice, specifically focused on the regulation of business by Competition and Corporate Law; and Spatiality of Law
Associate Professor Archana PARASHARContemporary Legal Theory, with a particular focus on Social Justice; Legal Pluralism; Legal Education; Discrimination Law; Family Law
Professor Peter RADANContracts; Equity & Trusts; Real Property; Secession/Self-Determination
  • Position: Associate Lecturer; Director; Conveyancing Law and Practice Program; Academic Advisor
  • Location: Building W3A, Room 518
  • Phone: (02) 9850 7906
  • Email:
Associate Professor Niloufer SELVADURAITelecommunications Law, Technology Law, Intellectual Property Law, Internet Law and E-commerce Law
George F. TOMOSSYHealth Law and Bioethics; Research Ethics and Regulation; Globalisation and Public Health; Elder Law; Tort Law; Legal Governance; Capacity Building in Developing Countries; Health, Human Rights and the Environment
Ilija VICKOVICHEvidence; Civil and Criminal Procedure; Contract Law and Theory; Law of Work; Labour Law; Commercial Law; Consumer Law; Competition Law; Corporations Law; Equity and Trusts; Dispute Resolution; Legal History; Law of Church and State; Law and Society; Legal Education; Legal Publishing
Associate Professor Malcolm VOYCEProperty Law and Succession concerning the privatisation of public property; Geographical Indications; Intellectual Property Rights; Social Welfare; Family Farm Inheritance; Law and Religion, particularly relating to Buddhism and Islam
Penelope WATSONTorts, with specific interests in emerging torts and novel adaptations of old torts; Privacy; Educational Malpractice and School Law; School and Workplace Bullying; Medical/Health Law including Wrongful Life and Birth; Tobacco and Alcohol Litigation; Toxic Torts and Class Actions; Civil Actions and Remedies for Sexual Injury; Negligence; Causation
  • Position: Associate Lecturer
  • Location: Building W3A, Room 523
  • Phone: (02) 9850 6545
  • Email:
Civil Procedure, with a particular focus on Case Management; Evidence
Dr Alexander ZAHARInternational Climate Change Law and State Compliance; Regulation and Impact of International Climate Change Finance; Environmental Policy and Law in China; "Lawlessness" and its effect on individual conduct, especially in civil war

Professional Staff

  Name Contact
  Ms Debbie Loo
Title: Department Administrator
Location: Building W3A, Room 533
Phone: (02) 9850 4218
  Ms Eleanor McGhee
Title: Assistant Department Administrator
Location: Building W3A, Room 530
Phone: (02) 9850 7096

Honorary Appointments

Emeritus Professors

Professor Tony Blackshield AO


Professor Bruce Kercher

Professor Zada Lipman

Adjunct Professors

Mr Stuart Clark


Professor Rosalind Croucher


Mr George Newhouse


Professor Benjamin Richardson
+61 475 399 448

Andrew Tink AO

Honorary Associates

Mr Gill Boehringer

Dr Jed Goodfellow

Mr Harry Melkonian

Honorary Fellows

Ms Judith Preston

Associate Professor Iain Stewart

The Hon. Robert Stokes

Back to the top of this page