Staff

Staff

Dean of Macquarie Law School 

  Name and contact details Research interests
  Professor Natalie Klein
Location: Building W3A, Room 510
Phone: (02) 9850 9931
Email: natalie.klein@mq.edu.au
International law, with a focus on law of the sea and international dispute settlement

Academic staff


Name and contact detailsResearch Interests

Ms Carolyn Adams
Title: Senior Lecturer
Location: Building W3A, Room 511
Phone: (02) 9850 7086
Email: carolyn.adams@mq.edu.au
Public law, with a focus on human rights and open government

Professor Shawkat Alam
Title: Professor
Location: Building W3A, Room 440
Phone: (02) 9850 8890
Email: shawkat.alam@mq.edu.au
International law, international environmental law, international trade and sustainable development

Dr Roy Baker
Title: Lecturer, LLB Programs Director
Location: Building W3A, Room 
Phone: (02) 9850
Email: roy.baker@mq.edu.au
Defamation, media law, journalism and the law, human rights, free speech, censorship, international law, European law, law of armed conflict

Ms Lise Barry
Title: Senior Lecturer, Learning & Teaching Director
Location: Building W3A, Room 507
Phone: (02) 9850 4237
Email: lise.barry@mq.edu.au
Legal Ethics, Capacity, Substitute Decision Making, Elder Law, Alternative Dispute Resolution, Juvenile Justice, Restorative Justice, Human Rights

Dr Carlos L. Bernal-Pulido
Title: Associate Professor
Location: Building W3A, Room 625
Phone: (02) 9850 4090
Email: carlos.bernal-pulido@mq.edu.au
Constitutional comparative law, jurisprudence, and torts

Mr Frank Carrigan
Title: Senior Lecturer
Location: Building W6A, Room 511
Phone: (02) 9850 7072
Email: frank.carrigan@mq.edu.au
Corporate Law, Labour Law

Susan Carter
Title: Lecturer
Location: Building W3A, Room 515
Phone: (02) 9850 7092
Email: susan.carter@mq.edu.au


Ms Shireen Daft
Title: Associate Lecturer
Location: Building W3A, Room 541
Phone: (02) 9850 7022
Email: shireen.daft@mq.edu.au
Non-state actors and international law; the intersections of international criminal law, human rights and humanitarian law. Her dissertation topic explores examines the ways in which human security discourse challenges, and is challenged by, the traditional structuring of public international law

Shayne Davenport
Title: Lecturer
Location: Building W3A, Room 519 
Phone: (02) 9850 7810
Email: shayne.davenport@mq.edu.au


Francesca Dominello
Title: Lecturer
Location: Building W3A, Room 514
Phone: (02) 9850 7094
Email: francesca.dominello@mq.edu.au
Indigenous legal issues, cultural studies and law, legal history, and social justice issues in the areas of constitutional law and family law, state apologies to Indigenous peoples

Kate Gleeson
Title: Senior Lecturer
Location: Building W3A, Room 622
Phone: (02) 9850 4091
Email: kate.gleeson@mq.edu.au
Intersections between politics and law, namely, governance

Mr Daniel Ghezelbash
Title: Lecturer
Location: Building W3A, Room 517
Phone: (02) 9850 7042
Email: daniel.ghezelbash@mq.edu.au
Domestic, international, regional and comparative refugee law; domestic and comparative immigration law; administrative law; comparative law; legal transfers/transplants; international human rights law

Mr Paul Govind
Title: Lecturer
Location: Building W3A, Room 620
Phone: (02) 9850 7863
Email: paul.govind@mq.edu.au        
Climate change law, human rights and the environment, environmental finance and disaster risk management through environmental law and policy with a particular focus on the relationship between environmental sustainability, development and the reduction of poverty

Mr Joel Harrison
Title: Lecturer
Location: Building W3A, Room 512
Phone: (02) 9850 7100
Email: joel.harrison@mq.edu.au
Law and religion; human rights; comparative human rights; constitutional law; post-secular theory

Professor Muhammad Rafiqul Islam
Title: Professor of Law
Location: Building W3A, Room 444
Phone: (02) 9850 7082
Email: rafiqul.islam@mq.edu.au
International Trade Law; Law of the World Trade Organization (WTO); International Economic Law; International Law of Foreign Investment; Law of International Economic Institutions; International Commercial Law; International Commercial Arbitration; Public International Law; International Human Rights Law; Law of International Organizations; International Dispute Resolution; International Regulation of Terrorism and Counter-Terrorism; International Security Law; Constitutional Law of Bangladesh

Dr Margaret R.L.L. Kelly
Title: Senior Lecturer
Location: Building W3A, Room 616
Phone: (02) 9850 7060
Email: margaret.kelly@mq.edu.au
Constitutional law, administrative law; the nature of governance; Australian governance; the people; Common law history and constitutionalism; History and law of the monarchy; Constitutional history

Associate Professor Therese MacDermott
Title: Associate Professor
Location: Building W3A, Room 520
Phone: (02) 9850 7067
Email: therese.macdermott@mq.edu.au 

Labour law, labour mobility, anti- discrimination law, dispute resolution, gender equality and human rights, workplace gender equality


Professor Denise Meyerson
Title: Professor
Location: Building W3A, Room 535
Phone: (02) 9850 7079
Email: denise.meyerson@mq.edu.au  

Theoretical and comparative human rights; constitutional law and comparative constitutionalism; jurisprudence


Mr David Mullan
Title: Associate Lecturer
Location: Building W3A, Room 605
Phone: (02) 9850 4276
Email: david.mullan@mq.edu.au
Corporate and commercial law; Mergers and acquisitions; Debt and equity fundraising; International investment; Regulation and legal governance; Financial markets; Property law

Dr Vijaya Nagarajan
Title: Associate Professor
Location: Building W3A, Room 611
Phone: (02) 9850 7911
Email: vijaya.nagarajan@mq.edu.au
Economic regulation in practice, specifically focused on the regulation of business by competition and corporate laws and spatiality of law

Professor Brian Opeskin
Title: Professor
Location: Building W3A, Room 534
Phone: (02) 9850 7074
Email: brian.opeskin@mq.edu.au

Public law, courts, judges, international migration, citizenship, public health law, Pacific law and legal systems, legal governance


Associate Professor Archana Parashar
Title: Associate Professor
Location: Building W3A, Room 625
Phone: (02) 9850 7062
Email: archana.parashar@mq.edu.au 
Contemporary Legal Theory with a special emphasis on social justice, Legal Pluralism, Legal Education, Discrimination Law, Family Law

Professor Peter Radan
Title: Professor
Location: Building W3A, Room 527
Phone: (02) 9850 7091
Email: peter.radan@mq.edu.au
Contracts; Equity & Trusts; Real Property; Secession/Self-determination

Ms Debra Ronan
Title: Associate Lecturer, Director, Conveyancing Law and Practice Program, Academic Advisor
Location: Building W3A, Room 518
Phone: (02) 9850 7906
Email: debra.ronan@mq.edu.au


Associate Professor Niloufer Selvadurai
Title: Associate Professor
Location: Building W3A, Room 621
Phone: (02) 9850 7925
Email: niloufer.selvadurai@mq.edu.au

Telecommunications law, technology law, intellectual property law, internet law and e-commerce law


Dr Iain Stewart
Title: Associate Professor
Location: Building W3A, Room 619
Phone: (02) 9850 7090
Email: iain.stewart@mq.edu.au

Theory of law, comparative law, constitutional law, administrative law, legal history


Mr George F. Tomossy
Title: Senior Lecturer
Location: Building W3A, Room 510
Phone: (02) 9850 7865
Email: george.tomossy@mq.edu.au
Health Law and Bioethics; Research Ethics and Regulation; Globalisation and Public Health; Elder Law; Tort Law; Legal Governance; Capacity Building in Developing Countries; Health, Human Rights and the Environment

Mr Ilija Vickovich
Title: Lecturer
Location: Building W3A, Room 624
Phone: (02) 9850 7921
Email: ilija.vickovich@mq.edu.au
Evidence; Civil and Criminal Procedure; Contract Law and Theory; Law of Work; Labour Law; Commercial Law; Consumer Law; Competition Law; Corporations Law; Equity and Trusts; Dispute Resolution; Legal History; Law of Church and State; Law and Society; Legal Education; Legal Publishing

Associate Professor Malcolm Voyce
Title: Associate Professor
Location: Building W3A, Room 617
Phone: (02) 9850 7089
Email: malcolm.voyce@mq.edu.au
Property law and succession concerning the privatisation of public property, geographical indications, intellectual property rights, social welfare, family farm inheritance. A further interest is law and religion, especially relating to Buddhism and Islam

Ms Penelope Watson
Title: Senior Lecturer
Location: Building W3A, Room 516
Phone: (02) 9850 7071
Email: penelope.watson@mq.edu.au
Torts, with specific interests in emerging torts and novel adaptations of old torts; privacy; educational malpractice and school law; school and workplace bullying; medical/health law including wrongful life and birth; tobacco and alcohol litigation; toxic torts and class actions; civil actions and remedies for sexual injury; negligence; causation; Legal education, especially assessment and feedback, graduate capabilities, group and teamwork, leadership, peer-assisted learning (PAL); Remedies, especially personal injury damages and compensation for invasion of dignitary interests

Dr Alexander Zahar
Title: Senior Leturer
Location: Building W3A, Room 441
Phone: (02) 9850 7077
Email: alexander.zahar@mq.edu.au

International climate change law and state compliance; Regulation and impact of international climate change finance; Environmental policy and law in China; "Lawlessness" and its effect on individual conduct, especially in civil war.

Professional staff

  Name Contact
  Ms Debbie Loo
Title: Department Administrator
Location: Building W3A, Room 533
Phone: (02) 9850 4218
Email: debbie.loo@mq.edu.au
  Ms Eleanor McGhee
Title: Assistant Department Administrator
Location: Building W3A, Room 530
Phone: (02) 9850 7096
Email: eleanor.mcghee@mq.edu.au

Adjunct Professors, Visiting Fellows, Honorary Associates

  Name Contact
  Dr John Bennett
Title: Adjunct Professor
 
  Gill Boehringer
Title: Honorary Associate
 
  Stuart Clark
Title: Adjunct Professor
 
  Professor Rosalind Croucher
Title: Adjunct Professor
 
  Christopher Kavelin
Title: Honorary Associate
 
 Harry Melkonian
Title: Honorary Associate
Email: harry.melkonian@mq.edu.au
 Benjamin Richardson
Title: Adjunct Professor
Phone: (02) 9850 7571
Email: B.J.Richardson@utas.edu.au
  Brent Salter
Title: Honorary Associate
 
 Andrew Tink
Title: Adjunct Professor
Email: atink@bigpond.net.au
  Victor Ulbrick
Title: Honorary Visiting Fellow

Emeritus Professors

  Name Contact
  Tony Blackshield
Title: Emeritus Professor
Email: bruce.kercher@mq.edu.au
  Bruce Kercher
Title: Emeritus Professor
 
  Professor Zada Lipman
Title: Emeritus Professor
Email: zada.lipman@mq.edu.au
Back to the top of this page