Staff

Staff

Head of Department 

  Name and contact details Research interests
 Professor Gabrielle Meagher
Location: Building W6A, Room 826
Phone: (02) 9850 8747
Email: gabrielle.meagher@mq.edu.au
How care work and social services are distributed, organised and valued - in society overall, by welfare and labour market policies and within organisations

Academic staff

Name and contact details Research Interests
Dr Kristine Aquino
Title: Associate Lecturer
Location: Building W6A, Room 834
Phone: (02) 9850 7284
Email: kristine.aquino@mq.edu.au
Migration and multiculturalism, racism, individual and institutional anti-racism, transnationalism, and whiteness
Dr Niko Antalffy
Title: Lecturer
Location: Building W6A, Room 822
Phone: (02) 9850 7095
Email: niko.antalffy@mq.edu.au
Emerging technologies, Critical Theory of science and technology, and alternative relationship cultures
Dr Maria Amigo
Title: Associate Lecturer
Location: Building W6A, Room 822
Phone: (02) 9850 8027
Email: maria.amigo@mq.edu.au
Children from non-western contexts and their life transitions
Dr Harry Blatterer
Title: Senior Lecturer
Location: Building W6A, Room 839
Phone: (02) 9850 8069
Email: harry.blatterer@mq.edu.au
Intimate relationships, privacy and gender with a focus on friendship
Dr Norbert Ebert
Title: Senior Lecturer
Location: Building W6A, Room 836
Phone: (02) 9850 8980
Email: norbert.ebert@mq.edu.au
Critical social theory - individualisation, social differentiation and integration and how they can help to sociologically understand and critique social trends and changes in all areas of late modern societies
Dr Tobia Fattore
Title: Senior Lecturer
Location: Building W6A, Room 837
Phone: (02) 9850 8074
Email: tobia.fattore@mq.edu.au
Sociology of childhood, sociology of work and political sociology
Dr Markus Hadler
Title: Senior Lecturer
Location: Building W6A, Room 823
Phone: (02) 9850 6779
Email: markus.hadler@mq.edu.au 
Political sociology, social inequality, and environmental sociology
Associate Professor Pauline Johnson
Title: Associate Professor
Location: Building W6A, Room 838
Phone: (02) 9850 9491
Email: Pauline.Johnson@mq.edu.au
The difficulties that contemporary Sociology encounters in setting up an effective critique of neoliberal ideologies
Dr Kumiko Kawashima
Title: Lecturer
Location: Building W6A, Room 834
Phone: (02) 9850 7943
Email: kumiko.kawashima@mq.edu.au
Nexus between individual lives, labour and consumption in post-industrial contexts, as well as social transformation through the lens of transnational migration
Dr Alison Leitch
Title: Lecturer
Location: Building W6A, Room 832
Phone: (02) 9850 8102
Email: alison.leitch@mq.edu.au
cultural history of labour movements, food politics, cultural sociology and sociology of everyday life
Dr Justine Lloyd
Title: Senior Lecturer
Location: Building W6A, Room 830
Phone: (02) 9850 9940
Email: justine.lloyd@mq.edu.au
Relationship between spatial and social change, particularly investigated through cultural histories of domesticity and urban space
Dr Peter Rogers
Title: Senior Lecturer
Location: Building W6A, Room 800
Phone: (02) 9850 6781
Email: peter.rogers@mq.edu.au
Theory and politics of space, disaster resilience
Dr Ben Spies-Butcher
Title: Senior Lecturer
Location: Building W6A, Room 840
Phone: (02) 9850 4074
Email: ben.spies-butcher@mq.edu.au  
Economics and politics of social and environmental policy, and political participation.
Dr Adam Stebbing
Title: Lecturer
Location: Building W6A, Room 824
Phone: (02) 9850 4098
Email: adam.stebbing@mq.edu.au
Interactions of social policy, taxation and inequality
Associate Professor Ellie Vasta
Title: Associate Professor
Location: Building W6A, Room 828
Phone: (02) 9850 4114
Email: ellie.vasta@mq.edu.au
Situation of immigrants and the social and cultural practices which they develop through their interactions within increasingly diverse societies
Dr Selvaraj Velayutham
Title: Senior Lecturer
Location: Building W6A, Room 835
Phone: (02) 9850 4426
Email: selvaraj.velayutham@mq.edu.au  
Globalisation, nationalism, international migration and the Sociology of Everyday Life
Associate Professor  Shaun Wilson
Title: Associate Professor
Location: Building W6A, Room 829
Phone: (02) 9850 8620
Email: shaun.wilson@mq.edu.au  
Intersection of political sociology, work and welfare, fiscal sociology, and political economy
Associate Professor Amanda Wise
Title: Associate Professor
Location: Building W6A, Room 833
Phone: (02) 9850 8835
Email: amanda.wise@mq.edu.au
Global cities and diversity; materialities, civilities, and 'sensibilities' of urban life; multiculturalism and 'lived diversity' (especially 'everyday multiculturalism') in Australia and Singapore; race and interethnic relations; cultural attachments to and formations of place, especially in relation to multicultural cities; national and cultural identities; diasporic, transnational and migrant communities; labour mobility in and from Asia; and experiences of low wage migrant labourers in Australia and Asia

Professional staff

  Name Contact
  Ms Vicki Worthington
Title: Department Administrator
Location: Building W6A, Room 827
Phone: (02) 9850 8078
Email: vicki.worthington@mq.edu.au

Adjunct Professors, Visiting Fellows, Honorary Associates

  Name Contact
  Professor Jack Barbalet
Title: Honorary Adjunct Professor
Email: Jack.Barbalet@mq.edu.au
  Professor Michael Bittman
Title: Honorary Visiting Fellow
Location: Building W6A, Room 804
Email: Michael.Bittman@mq.edu.au
  Professor Michael Fine
Title: Honorary Adjunct Professor
Location: Building W6A, Room 804
Email: Michael.Fine@mq.edu.au
 Professor John Lechte
Honorary Adjunct Professor
Location: Building W6A, Room 804
Phone: (02) 9850 8620
Email: john.lechte@mq.edu.au
 Associate Professor Joan Kirkby
Title: Honorary Visiting Fellow
Location: Building W6A, Room 830
Email: Joan.Kirkby@mq.edu.au
 Professor Jocelyn PixleyLocation: Building W6A, Room 804
Email: Jocelyn.Pixley@mq.edu.au
 Dr Xiaoying QiEmail: Xiaoying.Qi@mq.edu.au
 Dr Bob Davidson
Title: Honorary Fellow
Location: Building W6A, Room 804
Email: Bob.Davidson@mq.edu.au
Back to the top of this page