Our people

Our people

placeholder

Head of Department

Professor Ben Schreer

Ben Schreer's areas of expertise include strategic and military trends in the Asia-Pacific, Australian strategic and defence policy, US strategic policy in Asia, Regional strategic responses to China's rise, Japanese defence policy, European responses to China's rise.





Academic staff

Name and contact details Research Interests
Dr Dalbir Ahlawat
Title: Senior Lecturer
Location: Building Y3A, Level 2
Phone: (02) 9850 1433
Email: dalbir.ahlawat@mq.edu.au
Indo-Pacific strategic and security issues, India's security challenges, India-China strategic perceptions, US security challenges in the Indo-Pacific region, Border security and migration challenges.
Dr Mamoun Alazab
Title: Lecturer
Location: Building Y3A, Level 2
Phone: (02) 9850 1449
Email: mamoun.alazab@mq.edu.au 
Cyber Crime / Cyber Security, Information and Network Security, Digital Forensics and Reverse Engineering, Machine Learning and Data Mining, Malware, Botnets, Spam, emails, Mobile Computing, IOT, Cloud Computing
Dr Layla Branicki
Title: Lecturer
Location: Level 2, Building Y3A
Phone: (02) 9850 220
Email: layla.branicki@mq.edu.au
Individual and organizational resilience, High Reliability Organizations, High risk work, Emergency management, Social media and crisis communication
Dr Michael Cohen
Title: Senior Lecturer
Location: Building Y3A Room 234
Phone: (02) 9850 8820
Email: michael.cohen@mq.edu.au 
Interstate Conflict, Asia-Pacific Security, Nuclear Weapons Proliferation, Deterrence and Coercion, Leaders, Foreign Policy Decision-Making
Dr Brian Cuddy
Title: Associate Lecturer
Location: Building Y3A Room 234
Phone: (02) 9850 1428
Email: brian.cuddy@mq.edu.au 
Twentieth-century international history, American foreign relations history, international law, the evolution of warfare, intelligence, the Vietnam War
Dr Glenn Diesen
Title: Scholarly Teaching Fellow
Location: Building Y3A, Level 2
Phone: (02) 9850 1435
Email: glenn.diesen@mq.edu.au
Russia's Eurasian integration and 'pivot to Asia'
Mr Garry Dobson
Title: Lecturer
Location: Building Y3A, Room 225
Phone: (02) 9850 1434
Email: garry.dobson@mq.edu.au
Police Leadership, governance and accountability
Dr Julian Droogan
Title: Senior Lecturer
Location: Building Y3A, Level 2
Phone: (02) 9850 1425
Email: julian.droogan@mq.edu.au
Countering Violent Extremism/Terrorism Studies, Religion and International Security, Material Culture and Security Studies, Asia Pacific Security Issues
Mr Vince Hurley
Title: Associate Lecturer
Location: Building Y3A, Room 225
Phone: (02) 9850 1447
Email: vincent.hurley@mq.edu.au
Policing as a Business and The future functions of the Police and Policing
Dr Angela Irwin
Title: Lecturer 
Location: Building Y3A, Level 2
Phone: (02) 9850 1427
Email: angela.irwin@mq.edu.au
Anti-money laundering/counter-terrorism financing, Use of digital currencies to fund violent jihad, cybercrime, cybersecurity and criminology
Ms Sheryn Lee
Title: Associate Lecturer 
Location: Building Y3A, Level 2
Phone: (02) 9850 1426
Email: sheryn.lee@mq.edu.au
Military modernization and arms racing, Disruptive/emerging technologies and defense innovation, Taiwanese foreign and defense policy, Strategic studies, Internal security and political violence in Asia
Dr Yves-Heng Lim
Title: Lecturer 
Location: Building Y3A, Level 2
Phone: (02) 9850 1425
Email: yves-heng.lim@mq.edu.au
Asia-Pacific security, China's military affairs, naval strategy, international relations theory
Dr Adam Lockyer
Title: Senior Lecturer
Location: Building Y3A, Room 225
Phone: (02) 9850 1436
Email: adam.lockyer@mq.edu.au
Australian defence strategy, US defence and foreign policy, post-conflict reconstruction, stability operations, civil wars and insurgency
Dr James Martin
Title: Senior Lecturer
Location: Building Y3A, Room 225
Phone: (02) 9850 1439
Email: james.martin@mq.edu.au
Cryptomarkets and online drug distribution, Global drug prohibition and the War on Drugs, Vigilantism and non-state policing, Transnational crime and policing, CCTV and security networks
Dr Rolando Ochoa
Title: Lecturer
Location: Building Y3A, Room 225
Phone: (02) 9850 1439
Email:  rolando.ochoa@mq.edu.au
Organised crime (Latin American and Asia Pacific), the political economy of crime, governance of criminal organisations, trust and reputation, signalling
Mr Fred Smith
Title: Associate Lecturer
Email: fred.smith@mq.edu.au

Indo-Asia-Pacific Security-related issues and developments, particularly focused on China.  Intelligence historical and process-related issues and developments focused on Australia and the United States.

Dr Andrew Tan
Title: Associate Professor
Location: Level 2, Building Y3A
Phone: (02) 9850 6898
Email: andrew.tan@mq.edu.au
Security issues and international relations in Asia, Southeast Asian security and international relations, Defence issues, Terrorism, Insurgencies.
Ms Becky Vogel
Title: Associate Lecturer
Location: Building Y3A Room 225
Phone: (02) 9850 1442
Email: rebecca.vogel@mq.edu.au
Intelligence, National Security, Cyber Espionage, Insider Threat, IP Theft, Threat Intelligence
Ms Lise Waldek
Title: Lecturer
Location: Level 2, Building Y3A
Phone: (02) 9850 1426
Email:  lise.waldek@mq.edu.au
Countering Violent Extremism, Cyber space and Countering Violent Extremism, Socio-cultural explorations of violence, Warfare and conflict
Dr Tom Waldman
Title: Lecturer
Location: Level 2, Building Y3A
Phone: (02) 9850 1431
Email: tom.waldman@mq.edu.au
The politics of war, Clausewitz, Western strategy, modern warfare, contemporary strategy, US foreign policy, intra-state conflict and conflict analysis

Professional staff

Name Contact
Ms Louise Hutchence-Dingjan
Title: Student Services Administrator
Location: Level 2, Building Y3A
Phone: (02) 9850 1421
Email: louise.hutchence@mq.edu.au
Ms Annabel Voysey
Title: Administrative Assistant
Location: Level 2, Building Y3A
Phone: (02) 9850 1420
Email: annabel.voysey@mq.edu.au

PhD Students

Name Contact
Mr. Adrin Choubineh
PhD Candidate
Location: Level 2, Building Y3A
Email: adrin.choubineh@students.mq.edu.au
Mr. Simon Henry
PhD Candidate
Location: Level 2, Building Y3A
Email: simon.henry@students.mq.edu.au
Mr. Andrew Henshaw
PhD Candidate
Location: Level 2, Building Y3A
Ms. Malkanthi Hettiarachchi
PhD Candidate
Location: Level 2, Building Y3A
Mr. David Hooker
PhD Candidate
Location: Level 2, Building Y3A
Mr. Vince Hurly
PhD Candidate
Location: Level 2, Building Y3A
Mr Abdulla Phairoosch
PhD Candidate
Location: Level 2, Building Y3A
Ms. Amber Stabek
PhD Candidate
Location: Level 2, Building Y3A
Mr. Rifaie Tammas
PhD Candidate
Location: Level 2, Building Y3A
Ms. Rebecca Vogel
PhD Candidate
Location: Level 2, Building Y3A

Adjunct Professors, Visiting Fellows, Honorary Associates

Name Contact
Dr John Langdale
Title: Honorary Fellow
Location: Level 2, Building Y3A
Phone: 0420 325 436 
Email: john.langdale@mq.edu.au
Mr Brett Peppler
Title: Honorary Fellow
Location: Level 2, Building Y3A
Phone: (02) 9850 1420
Email: brett.peppler@mq.edu.au
Mr Mike Smith
Titles: Adjunct Professor
Location: Level 2, Building Y3A
Email: mike.smith@mq.edu.au
Vince Williams
Title: Honorary Fellow
Location: Level 2, Building Y3A
Phone: (02) 9850 1437
Email: vince.williams@mq.edu.au
Back to the top of this page