Staff

Staff

Head of Department 

 Name and contact detailsResearch interests
 Professor Ben Schreer
Location: Building Y3A, Level 2
Phone: (02) 9850 1423
Email: ben.schreer@mq.edu.au
Strategic and Military Trends in the Asia-Pacific; US strategic policy in Asia (book project); Cyber security and the future of conflict (book project); Australia-US alliance; Australian strategic and defence policy

Academic staff

  Name and contact details Research Interests
 Dr Dalbir Ahlawat
Title: Senior Lecturer
Location: Building Y3A, Level 2
Phone: (02) 9850 1433
Email: dalbir.ahlawat@mq.edu.au
Indo-Pacific strategic and security issues; Australia's security challenges; India-China strategic perceptions; US security challenges in the Indo-Pacific region
 Dr Mamoun Alazab
Title: Lecturer
Location: Building Y3A, Level 2
Phone: (02) 9850 1449
Email: mamoun.alazab@mq.edu.au 
Cybercrime, Cyber Security, IT Security, Botnets, Malware, Spam emails, Intelligence Analysis, Anti-phishing, Privacy, Computer Forensics.
 Dr Michael Cohen
Title: Senior Lecturer
Location: Building Y3A Room 234
Phone: (02) 9850 8820
Email: michael.cohen@mq.edu.au 
Causes of interstate conflict and war, Asia-Pacific security issues, nuclear weapons and interstate conflict, foreign policy decision-making, leaders, the ANZUS alliance, International Relations Theory
 Dr Brian Cuddy
Title: Associate Lecturer
Location: Building Y3A Room 234
Phone: (02) 9850 1428
Email: brian.cuddy@mq.edu.au 
Twentieth-century international history, American foreign relations history, international law, the evolution of warfare, intelligence, the Vietnam War
 Dr Glenn Diesen
Title: Associate Lecturer
Location: Building Y3A, Level 2
Phone: (02) 9850 1435
Email: glenn.diesen@mq.edu.au
Russia's Eurasian integration and 'pivot to Asia'
 Mr Garry Dobson
Title: Lecturer
Location: Building Y3A, Room 225
Phone: (02) 9850 1434
Email: garry.dobson@mq.edu.au
 
 Dr Julian Droogan
Title: Senior Lecturer
Location: Building Y3A, Level 2
Phone: (02) 9850 1425
Email: julian.droogan@mq.edu.au
Countering Violent Extremism, Religions and Asia Pacific international security, South Asian religious transformation
 Mr Vince Hurley
Title: Associate Lecturer
Location: Building Y3A, Room 225
Phone: (02) 9850 1447
Email: vincent.hurley@mq.edu.au
Policing as a Business and The future functions of the Police and Policing
 Dr Angela Irwin
Title: Lecturer 
Location: Building Y3A, Level 2
Phone: (02) 9850 1427
Email: angela.irwin@mq.edu.au
Anti-money laundering/counter-terrorism financing, Use of digital currencies to fund violent jihad, cybercrime, cybersecurity and criminology
 Dr Yves-Heng Lim
Title: Lecturer 
Location: Building Y3A, Level 2
Phone: (02) 9850 1425
Email: yves-heng.lim@mq.edu.au
Asia-Pacific security, China's military affairs, naval strategy, international relations theory
 Ms Sheryn Lee
Title: Associate Lecturer 
Location: Building Y3A, Level 2
Phone: (02) 9850 1426
Email: sheryn.lee@mq.edu.au
Asian security, strategic studies, international relations, comparative politics in the Asia-Pacific
 Dr Adam Lockyer
Title: Senior Lecturer
Location: Building Y3A, Room 225
Phone: (02) 9850 1436
Email: adam.lockyer@mq.edu.au
Australian defence strategy, US defence and foreign policy, post-conflict reconstruction, stability operations, civil wars and insurgency
 Dr James Martin
Title: Senior Lecturer
Location: Building Y3A, Room 225
Phone: (02) 9850 1439
Email: james.martin@mq.edu.au
 
 Dr Rolando Ochoa
Title: Lecturer
Location: Building Y3A, Room 225
Phone: (02) 9850 1439
Email:  rolando.ochoa@mq.edu.au
Organised crime (Latin American and Asia Pacific), the political economy of crime, governance of criminal organisations, trust and reputation, signaling
  Mr Fred Smith
Title: Associate Lecturer
Email: fred.smith@mq.edu.au
 
  Ms Becky Vogel
Title: Associate Lecturer
Location: Building Y3A Room 225
Phone: (02) 9850 1442
Email: rebecca.vogel@mq.edu.au
Intelligence, National Security, Cyber Espionage, Insider Threat, IP Theft, Threat Intelligence
  Ms Lise Waldek
Title: Associate Lecturer
Location: Level 2, Building Y3A
Phone: (02) 9850 1426
Email: lise.waldek@mq.edu.au
Countering Violent Extremism, Cyber space and Countering Violent Extremism, Socio-cultural explorations of violence, Warfare and conflict
  Dr Tom Waldman
Title: Lecturer
Location: Level 2, Building Y3A
Phone: (02) 9850 1431
Email:  Tom.Waldman@mq.edu.au
The politics of war, Clausewitz, Western strategy, modern warfare, contemporary strategy, US foreign policy, intra-state conflict and conflict analysis

Professional staff

  Name Contact
  Ms Louise Hutchence-Dingjan
Title: Student Services Administrator
Location: Level 2, Building Y3A
Phone: (02) 9850 1421
Email: louise.hutchence@mq.edu.au
  Ms Annabel Voysey
Title: Administrative Assistant
Location: Level 2, Building Y3A
Phone: (02) 9850 1420
Email: annabel.voysey@mq.edu.au

Adjunct Professors, Visiting Fellows, Honorary Associates

  Name Contact
 Dr John Langdale
Title: Honorary Fellow
Location: Level 2, Building Y3A
Phone: 0420 325 436 
Email: john.langdale@mq.edu.au
 Mr Brett Peppler
Title: Honorary Fellow
Location: Level 2, Building Y3A
Phone: (02) 9850 1420
Email: Brett.Peppler@mq.edu.au
  Mr Mike Smith
Titles: Adjunct Professor
Location: Level 2, Building Y3A
Email: mike.smith@mq.edu.au
 Vince Williams
Title: Honorary Fellow
Location: Level 2, Building Y3A
Phone: (02) 9850 1437
Email: vince.williams@mq.edu.au

PhD Students

  Name Contact
  Adrin Choubineh
Title: PhD Candidate
Location: Level 2, Building Y3A
Email: adrin.choubineh@students.mq.edu.au
  Simon Henry
Title: PhD Candidate
Location: Level 2, Building Y3A
Email: simon.henry@students.mq.edu.au
Back to the top of this page