Our people

Our people

chris_dixon

Head of Department

Professor Chris Dixon

Chris Dixon’s teaching and research focuses on American history. He has published widely on race relations, and the social and cultural dimensions of military history. In 2016 he held the Fulbright Scholarship in Australian-U.S. Alliance Studies.




Academic staff

Name and contact details Research Interests
Associate Professor Michelle Arrow
Title: Associate Professor
Phone: (02) 9850 8840
Email:  michelle.arrow@mq.edu.au

History of popular culture in Australia, Australian theatre history and histories of cultural production

Dr Matthew Bailey
Title: OUA Program Co-ordinator
Phone: (02) 9850 7083
Email: matthew.bailey@mq.edu.au
Histories of consumerism, Australian urban history and oral history
Dr Nicholas Scott Baker
Title: Senior Lecturer
Phone: (02) 9850 8856
Email: nicholas.baker@mq.edu.au

Early modern Europe, specifically: political and economic cultures of Renaissance Italy; cultural and political histories of the early modern Mediterranean

Dr Noah Bassil
Title: Assoc Dean HDR (secondment)
Location: Building Y3A
E-mail: noah.bassil@mq.edu.au
Global, regional and national power relations that have emerged following the Arab uprisings
Dr Jumana Bayeh
Title: Early Career Fellow
Phone: (02) 9850 8854
Email: jumana.bayeh@mq.edu.au 
Arab diaspora cultures, the history of colonialism in the Middle East, and the politics and culture in the Middle East
Dr Leigh Boucher
Title: Senior Lecturer
Phone: (02) 9850 7041
Email: leigh.boucher@mq.edu.au
Feminist theory, postcolonial studies, post-structuralism and historical theory
Professor David Christian
Title: Professor
Phone: (02) 9850 8769
Email: director.bighistory@mq.edu.au
World History including social and material history of the 19th century Russian peasantry, history of modern Russia, and a synoptic history of Inner Eurasia (Russia, Central Asia and Mongolia), history of Russia, Central Asia and Mongolia from the Mongol Empire to the present day
Dr Lloyd Cox
Title:Lecturer
Phone: (02) 9850 4096
Email: lloyd.cox@mq.edu.au
Australian and U.S. political history and foreign policy, globalization and nationalism, comparative politics and political theory
Professor Chris Dixon
Title: Professor
Phone: (02) 9850 6808
Email: chris.dixon@mq.edu.au
American history, African American history, the Pacific War, and the Vietnam War
Dr Tanya Evans
Title: Senior Lecturer
Phone: (02) 9850 8875
Email: tanya.evans@mq.edu.au

History of Britain and Australia from the 18th century through to the present. Feminist and gender history. History of the family and sexuality.

Dr Kate Fullagar
Title: Senior Lecturer
Phone: (02) 9850 9932
Email: kate.fullagar@mq.edu.au
Eighteenth-century Britain, the early Atlantic, and the early Pacific, comparative indigenous history
Dr Adele Garnier
Title: Lecturer
Email:adele.garnier@mq.edu.au
Comparative politics; institutionalism; multi-level governance; migration and refugee policy; qualitative methodologies
Dr Mark Hearn
Title: Lecturer
Phone:  (02) 9850 8824
Email: mark.hearn@mq.edu.au
Australian history, particularly late nineteenth and early twentieth century Australia; biography; labour history
Dr Alison Holland
Title: Senior Lecturer
Phone:  (02) 9850 8829
Email: alison.holland@mq.edu.au
Australian History with a particular interest in Aboriginal History; Comparative Indigenous Histories; Histories of Humanitarianism and Human Rights (from Australian perspective), Protest Movements and Feminist History.
Dr Glenn Kefford
Title: Lecturer
Phone: (02) 9850 8853
Email:glenn.kefford@mq.edu.au
Australian Politics and Policy; Comparative Politics; Political Parties; Elections; Campaigning; Political Leadership
Dr Sung-Young Kim
Title: Lecturer
Phone: (02) 9850 8871
Email:sungyoung.kim@mq.edu.au
International Political Economy, Developmental States, Industry Policy, State Capacity, Government-Business Relations, High-Technology Development
Information and Communications Technologies (ICT), Renewable Energy Technologies (RET), Energy Security, East Asian Politics, Multilateral Trade and Investment
Dr Ashley Lavelle
Title: Lecturer
Phone: (02) 9850 9660
Email: ashley.lavelle@mq.edu.au
 
Professor Stephanie Lawson
Title: Professor
Phone:  (02) 9850 8878
Email: stephanie.lawson@mq.edu.au
Postcolonial approaches to history and politics in the Pacific Islands; post colonialism in IR theory; indigenous nationalism in Fiji; theories of culture in politics with a particular focus on the tensions between anthropological and humanist approaches; the politics of past and present; time, politics and ethics; contextual methodology and normative theory
Dr Lavina Lee
Title: Lecturer
Phone:  (02) 9850 8872
Email: lavina.lee@mq.edu.au  
The nuclear non-proliferation regime and nuclear disarmament, Indian foreign, security and nuclear policy, the role of culture and norms in international relations, legitimacy and US hegemony, international law on the use of force, international security
Professor Marion Maddox
Title: Professor
Phone:  (02) 9850 7032
Email: marion.maddox@mq.edu.au 
Religion and politics; religion and law; religion and citizenship; religious diversity; religious freedom; democracy, difference and inclusion; Durkheim
Dr Clare Monagle
Title: Senior Lecturer
Phone:  (02) 9850 7918
Email: clare.monagle@mq.edu.au
History of intellectuals in the Middle Ages and histories of the institutions that housed them
Associate Professor Aleksandar Pavkovic
Title: Associate Professor
Phone: (02) 9850 7043
Email: aleksandar.pavkovic@mq.edu.au
Nationalism; secessionism; creation of new states; supranational states and world government.  Balkan state creation and dissolution; contemporary nationalist discourses in Russia and Serbia
Dr Keith Rathbone
Title:Lecturer
Phone: (02) 9850 8842
Email:keith.rathbone@mq.edu.au
Modern French history, modern German History, military history, medical history, and the history of sports and leisure
Associate Professor Robert Reynolds
Title: Associate Professor
Phone: (02) 9850 7861
Email:  robert.reynolds@mq.edu.au
Post-World War 2 Australian History with a particular emphasis upon identity politics and sexuality
Associate Professor Shawn Ross
Title: Associate Professor
Phone: (02) 9850 7010
Email: shawn.ross@mq.edu.au
 
Dr Jonathan Symons
Title: Lecturer
Phone: (02) 9850 8864
Email: jonathan.symons@mq.edu.au
Politics and ethics of climate change, energy security and geo-engineering; theories of political and sociological legitimacy; processes of international norm change; human rights; and international relations theory
Dr Francesco Stolfi
Title: Lecturer
Email: francesco.stolfi@mq.edu.au
Political economy of liberalization; impact of European integration on the politics and policies of EU Member States; political budget cycles; political economy of banking; administrative reform under conditions of austerity; South European politics
Dr Ian Tregenza
Title: Senior Lecturer
Phone:(02) 9850 8808
Email:ian.tregenza@mq.edu.au
Political theory; religion and politics; theories of secularism; history of political thought, especially British and Australian, nineteenth and early twentieth century.
Dr Steve Wood
Title: Senior Lecturer
Phone:(02) 9850 8659
Email: steve.wood@mq.edu.au
European integration; European foreign, security and neighbourhood policies; global energy politics; Germany; Russia; Turkey; prestige and other ideational influences in international relations

Professional staff

Name Contact
TBC
Title: Department Administrator
Location:Level 2, The Australian Hearing Hub
Phone: (02) 9850 8879 
Email: 
Kelli-Lee Drake
Title: Department Administrator

Location: Level 2, The Australian Hearing Hub
Phone: (02) 9850 8869
Email: kelli-lee.drake@mq.edu.au

Adjunct Professors, Visiting Fellows, Honorary Associates, Adjunct Teaching Staff

 NameContact
 Effy Alexakis
Title: Honorary Associate
Email: effy.alexakis@mq.edu.au
 Professor Paul Ashton
Title: Adjunct Professor
Email: paul.ashton@uts.edu.au
 Dr Govand AzeezEmail: govand.azeez@mq.edu.au
 Dr. Lorna BarrowEmail: lorna.barrow@mq.edu.au
 Dr Steve Chavura
Title: ARC Senior Research Associate
Email: steve.chavura@mq.edu.au 
 Professor Daniel Druckman
Title: Honorary Professor
Email: daniel.druckman@mq.edu.au
 Dr Sandey Fitzgerald
Title: Honorary Postdoctoral Associate
 
 Dr Emma Gleadhill
Title: Honorary Postdoctoral Associate
Email: emma.gleadhill@monash.edu
 Dr Shane Greentree
Title: Honorary Postdoctoral Associate
Email: shane.greentree@mq.edu.au
 Dr Paula Hamilton
Title: Adjunct Professor
Email: paula.hamilton@uts.edu.au
 Associate Professor Geoffrey Hawker
Title: Honorary Associate Professor
Email: geoffrey.hawker@mq.edu.au
 Leonard J. Janiszewski
Title: Honorary Associate 
Email: leonard.janiszweski@mq.edu.au
 Dr Dorothy Kass
Title: Honorary Postdoctoral Associate
Email: dorothy.kass@mq.edu.au
 Dr Conor KeaneEmail: conor.keane@mq.edu.au
 Dr Jodi McAlister
Title: Honorary Postdoctoral Associate
Email: jodi.mcalister@hotmail.com
 Associate Professor Morris Morley
Title: Honorary Associate Professor
Email: morris.morley@mq.edu.au
 Professor Tasman G. Parsons
Title: Adjunct Professor
Email: george.parsons@mq.edu.au
 Dr Cheryl Ware
Title: Honorary Postdoctoral Associate
Email:cheryl.ware@mq.edu.au

Research Fellows

 NameContact
 Kathe Boehringer
Title:Honorary Fellow
Email:kathe.boehringer@mq.edu.au
 Associate Professor Harvey Broadbent, AM
Title: Honorary Fellow
Email: harvey.broadbent@mq.edu.au
 Dr Christopher Cunneen
Title: Honorary Fellow
Email: chris.cunneeen@mq.edu.au
 Gennaro Gervasio
Title: Honorary Fellow
Email: gennaro.gervasio@mq.edu.au
 Rebecca Jennings
Title: Honorary Fellow
Email: Rebecca.Jennings@mq.edu.au
 John Kilcullen
Title: Senior Research Fellow
Email: jkilcull@homemail.com.au
 Dr Stephen Mutch
Title: Honorary Fellow
 
 Dr Erik Nielsen
Title: Honorary Fellow
Email: erik.nielsen@pnc.com.au
 Dr Shirleene Robinson
Title: Vice-Chancellor's Innovation Fellow
Email: shirleene.robinson@mq.edu.au
 Dr Zita Rohr
Title: Honorary Fellow
Email: zita.rohr@mq.edu.au

Emeritus Professors

  Name Contact
  Frank G. Clarke Email: frank.clarke@mq.edu.au
  Murray Goot Email: murray.goot@mq.edu.au
 Duncan B. Waterson
Back to the top of this page