Staff

Staff

Head of Department 

  

Professor Sean Brawley
Location: Building W6A Room 421
Phone: (02) 9850 1013
Email: sean.brawley@mq.edu.au

Migration, war, sport and terrorism in the Asia-Pacific in transnational focus and Australia's Asian context.

Academic staff

Name and contact details Research Interests
Associate Professor Michelle Arrow
Title: Associate Professor
Location: Building W6A Room 416
Phone: (02) 9850 8840
Email: michelle.arrow@mq.edu.au

History of popular culture in Australia, Australian theatre history and histories of cultural production

Dr Matthew Bailey
Title: OUA Program Co-ordinator
Location: Building W6A Room 414
Phone: (02) 9850 7083
Email: matthew.bailey@mq.edu.au
Histories of consumerism, Australian urban history and oral history
Dr Nicholas Scott Baker
Title: Senior Lecturer
Location: Building W6A Room 412
Phone: (02) 9850 8856
Email: nicholas.baker@mq.edu.au

Early modern Europe, specifically: political and economic cultures of Renaissance Italy; cultural and political histories of the early modern Mediterranean

Dr Noah Bassil
Title: Assoc Dean HDR (secondment)
Location: Building W6A Room 426
E-mail: noah.bassil@mq.edu.au
Global, regional and national power relations that have emerged following the Arab uprisings
Dr Jumana Bayeh
Title: Early Career Fellow
Location: Building W6A, Room 418
Phone: (02) 9850 8854
Email: jumana.bayeh@mq.edu.au 
Arab diaspora cultures, the history of colonialism in the Middle East, and the politics and culture in the Middle East
Dr Leigh Boucher
Title: Senior Lecturer
Location: Building W6A Room 405
Phone: (02) 9850 7041
Email: Leigh.Boucher@mq.edu.au
Feminist theory, postcolonial studies, post-structuralism and historical theory
Professor David Christian
Title: Professor
Location: Building W6A Room 406
Phone: (02) 9850 8769
Email: director.bighistory@mq.edu.au
World History including social and material history of the 19th century Russian peasantry, history of modern Russia, and a synoptic history of Inner Eurasia (Russia, Central Asia and Mongolia), history of Russia, Central Asia and Mongolia from the Mongol Empire to the present day
Dr Lloyd Cox
Title:Lecturer
Location: Building W6A Room 423
Phone: (02) 9850 4096
Email: lloyd.cox@mq.edu.au
Australian and U.S. political history and foreign policy, globalization and nationalism, comparative politics and political theory
Professor Chris Dixon
Title: Professor
Location: Building W6A Room 403
Phone: (02) 9850 6808
Email: chris.dixon@mq.edu.au
American history, African American history, the Pacific War, and the Vietnam War
Dr Tanya Evans
Title: Senior Lecturer
Location: Building W6A Room 402
Phone: (02) 9850 8875
Email: Tanya.Evans@mq.edu.au

History of Britain and Australia from the 18th century through to the present. Feminist and gender history. History of the family and sexuality.

Dr Kate Fullagar
Title: Senior Lecturer
Location: Building W6A Room 401
Phone: (02) 9850 9932
Email: kate.fullagar@mq.edu.au
Eighteenth-century Britain, the early Atlantic, and the early Pacific, comparative indigenous history
Associate Professor Geoffrey Hawker
Title: Associate Professor
Location: Building W6A
Email: geoffrey.hawker@mq.edu.au
Australian politics and public policy
Dr Mark Hearn
Title: Lecturer
Location: Building W6A Room 411
Phone:  (02) 9850 8824
Email: mark.hearn@mq.edu.au
Australian history, particularly late nineteenth and early twentieth century Australia; biography; labour history
Dr Alison Holland
Title: Senior Lecturer
Location: Building W6A Room 417
Phone:  (02) 9850 8829
Email: alison.holland@mq.edu.au
Australian History with a particular interest in Aboriginal History; Comparative Indigenous Histories; Histories of Humanitarianism and Human Rights (from Australian perspective), Protest Movements and Feminist History.
Dr Glenn Kefford
Title: Lecturer
Location: Building W6A Room 432
Phone: (02) 9850 TBC
Email:glenn.kefford@mq.edu.au
Australian Politics and Policy; Comparative Politics; Political Parties; Elections; Campaigning; Political Leadership
Dr Sung-Young Kim
Title: Lecturer
Location:Building W6A Room 427
Phone: (02) 9850 8871
Email:sungyoung.kim@mq.edu.au
International Political Economy, Developmental States, Industry Policy, State Capacity, Government-Business Relations, High-Technology Development
Information and Communications Technologies (ICT), Renewable Energy Technologies (RET), Energy Security, East Asian Politics, Multilateral Trade and Investment
Dr Ashley Lavelle
Title: Lecturer
Location: Building W6A Room 435
Phone: (02) 9850 9660
Email: ashley.lavelle@mq.edu.au
 
Professor Stephanie Lawson
Title: Professor
Location: Building W6A Room 434 
Phone:  (02) 9850 8878
Email: stephanie.lawson@mq.edu.au
Postcolonial approaches to history and politics in the Pacific Islands; post colonialism in IR theory; indigenous nationalism in Fiji; theories of culture in politics with a particular focus on the tensions between anthropological and humanist approaches; the politics of past and present; time, politics and ethics; contextual methodology and normative theory
Dr Lavina Lee
Title: Lecturer
Location: Building W6A Room 431
Phone:  (02) 9850 8872
Email: lavina.lee@mq.edu.au  
The nuclear non-proliferation regime and nuclear disarmament, Indian foreign, security and nuclear policy, the role of culture and norms in international relations, legitimacy and US hegemony, international law on the use of force, international security
Professor Marion Maddox
Title: Professor
Location: Building W6A Room 424
Phone:  (02) 9850 7032
Email: marion.maddox@mq.edu.au 
Religion and politics; religion and law; religion and citizenship; religious diversity; religious freedom; democracy, difference and inclusion; Durkheim
Dr Clare Monagle
Title: Senior Lecturer
Location: Building W6A Room 415
Phone:  (02) 9850 7918
Email: clare.monagle@mq.edu.au
History of intellectuals in the Middle Ages and histories of the institutions that housed them
Associate Professor Aleksandar Pavkovic
Title: Associate Professor
Location: Building W6A Room 433
Phone: (02) 9850 7043
Email: aleksandar.pavkovic@mq.edu.au
Nationalism; secessionism; creation of new states; supranational states and world government.  Balkan state creation and dissolution; contemporary nationalist discourses in Russia and Serbia
Dr Keith Rathbone
Title:Lecturer
Location:W6A
Email:keith.rathbone@mq.edu.au
modern French history, modern German History, military history, medical history, and the history of sports and leisure
Associate Professor Robert Reynolds
Title: Associate Professor
Location: Building W6A Room 404
Phone: (02) 9850 7861
Email:  robert.reynolds@mq.edu.au
Post-World War 2 Australian History with a particular emphasis upon identity politics and sexuality
Associate Professor Shawn Ross
Title: Associate Professor
Location: Building W6A Room 510 
Phone: (02) 9850 7010
Email: shawn.ross@mq.edu.au
 
Dr Jonathan Symons
Title: Lecturer
Location: Building W6A, Room 425
Phone: (02) 9850 8864
Email: jonathan.symons@mq.edu.au
Politics and ethics of climate change, energy security and geo-engineering; theories of political and sociological legitimacy; processes of international norm change; human rights; and international relations theory
Dr Francesco Stolfi
Title: Lecturer
Location: Building W6A

Email: francesco.stolfi@mq.edu.au

Professional staff

Name Contact
Jacqueline Anker
Title: Department Administrator
Location: Building W6A, Room 400
Phone: (02) 9850 8879 
Email: jacqueline.anker@mq.edu.au
Kelli-Lee Drake
Title: Department Administrator
Location: Building W6A, Room 440
Phone: (02) 9850 8869
Email: kelli-lee.drake@mq.edu.au

Adjunct Professors, Visiting Fellows, Honorary Associates, Adjunct Teaching Staff

  Name Contact
 Effy Alexakis
Title: Honorary Associate
Location: Building W6A, Room 245
Phone: (02) 9850 7580 / 6886
Email: effy.alexakis@mq.edu.au
 Professor Paul Ashton
Title: Adjunct Professor
Email: paul.ashton@uts.edu.au
 Dr Govand AzeezEmail: govand.azeez@mq.edu.au
 Dr. Lorna BarrowLocation: Building W6A, Room 314
Phone: (02) 9850 8834
Email: lorna.barrow@mq.edu.au
 Dr Steve Chavura
Title: ARC Senior Research Associate
Location: Building W6A, Room 429
Phone: (02) 9850 8808
Email: steve.chavura@mq.edu.au 
 Professor Daniel Druckman
Title: Honorary Professor
Email: daniel.druckman@mq.edu.au
 Dr Sandey Fitzgerald
Title: Honorary Postdoctoral Associate
 
 Dr Emma Gleadhill
Title: Honorary Postdoctoral Associate
Email: emma.gleadhill@monash.edu
 Dr Shane Greentree
Title: Honorary Postdoctoral Associate
Email: shane.greentree@mq.edu.au
 Dr Paula Hamilton
Title: Adjunct Professor
Email: paula.hamilton@uts.edu.au
 Kyle Harvey
Title: Honorary Postdoctoral Associate
Email: kyle.harvey@mq.edu.au
 Leonard J. Janiszewski
Title: Honorary Associate 
Location: Building W6A, Room 231
Phone: (02) 9850 7580
Email: leonard.janiszweski@mq.edu.au
 Dr Dorothy Kass
Title: Honorary Postdoctoral Associate
Email: dorothy.kass@mq.edu.au
 Dr Conor KeaneLocation: Building W6A Room 420
Email: conor.keane@mq.edu.au
 Dr Jodi McAlister
Title: Honorary Postdoctoral Associate
Email: jodi.mcalister@hotmail.com
 Associate Professor Morris Morley
Title: Honorary Associate Professor
Location: Building W6A Room 439
Phone:  (02) 9850 8818
Email: morris.morley@mq.edu.au
  Professor Tasman G. Parsons
Title: Adjunct Professor
Location: Building W6A, Room 106
Phone: (02) 9850 8723
Email: george.parsons@mq.edu.au
 Dr Cheryl Ware
Title: Honorary Postdoctoral Associate
Email:cheryl.ware@mq.edu.au

Research Fellows

  Name Contact
 Kathe Boehringer
Title:Honorary Fellow
Email:kathe.boehringer@mq.edu.au
 Associate Professor Harvey Broadbent, AM
Title: Honorary Fellow
Email: harvey.broadbent@mq.edu.au
 Dr Christopher Cunneen
Title: Honorary Fellow
Location: Building W6A, Room 315
Phone: (02) 9850 8803
Email: chris.cunneeen@mq.edu.au
 Gennaro Gervasio
Title: Honorary Fellow
Email: gennaro.gervasio@mq.edu.au
 Rebecca Jennings
Title: Honorary Fellow
Email: Rebecca.Jennings@mq.edu.au
 John Kilcullen
Title: Senior Research Fellow
Email: jkilcull@homemail.com.au
 Dr Stephen Mutch
Title: Honorary Fellow
 
 Dr Erik Nielsen
Title: Honorary Fellow
Email: erik.nielsen@pnc.com.au
 Dr Shirleene Robinson
Title: Vice-Chancellor's Innovation Fellow
Location: W6A 413
Phone: (02) 9850 7087
Email: shirleene.robinson@mq.edu.au
 Dr Zita Rohr
Title: Honorary Fellow
Email: zita.rohr@mq.edu.au

Emeritus Professors

  Name Contact
  Frank G. Clarke Email: fclarke@hmn.mq.edu.au
  Murray Goot Email: murray.goot@mq.edu.au
  Jill Roe, AO Location: Building W6A, Room 315
Phone: (02) 9850 8866
Email: jill.roe@mq.edu.au
 Duncan B. WatersonFax: (02) 9850 6064
Back to the top of this page