Staff

Staff

Head of Department 

  Name and contact details Research interests
  Professor Nicole Anderson
Location: Building Y3A, Room 165C
Phone: (02) 9850 2157
Email: nicole.anderson@mq.edu.au
Derrida Studies and deconstruction, visual culture (including film and art theory and criticism), social media, ethics, animal studies, gender studies, biopolitics, biocultures, and posthumanism

Academic staff

 Name and contact detailsResearch Interests
 Dr Andrew Alter
Title: Senior Lecturer in Contemporary Music Studies
HDR Director, MMCCS
Location: Building Y3A, Room 253
Phone: (02) 9850 2118
Email: andrew.alter@mq.edu.au
South Asian music cultures, contemporary Australian transcultural musical expression, and Southeast Asian music cultures
 Dr Jeannine Baker
Title: Honorary Associate, Media
Email: jeannine.baker@mq.edu.au 
Media history (press and radio), twentieth-century Australian history, and Australian women's history
 Dr Iqbal Barkat
Title: Lecturer in Screen Production
Location: Building Y3A, Room 154
Phone: (02) 9850 2101
Email: iqbal.barkat@mq.edu.au
Independent Cinema; Early Soviet Cinema; Dance; Community Filmmaking; The Cinematic Practice of Dziga Vertov; The Philosophy of Alain Badiou
 Dr Margie Borschke
Title: Senior Lecturer in Journalism and Media
Location: Building Y3A, Room 159
Phone: (02) 9850 2159
Email: margie.borschke@mq.edu.au

Media use, with an emphasis on copies and copying practices, and material culture; Cultural politics of intellectual property and the role of unauthorised use and reproduction in cultural history; Aesthetic dimensions of networked distribution and the persistence of analog media formats in digital culture

 Mr Jon Burtt
Title: Lecturer
Location: Building Y3A, Room 193C
Phone: (02) 9850 2195
Email: jon.burtt@mq.edu.au
Intermedia performance, and combining dance, physical theatre, circus, interactive technology, video and text
 Professor Naren Chitty
Title: Professor
Location: Building Y3A, Room 160
Phone: (02) 9850 2160
Email: naren.chitty@mq.edu.au
Analyzing the concept of soft power as it might be applied in externally oriented public diplomacy or internally oriented governance; International communication and media theory and new media of international communication
 Dr Steve Collins
Title: Senior Lecturer in Multimedia
Location: Building Y3A, Room 191D
Phone: (02) 9850 2165
Email: stephen.collins@mq.edu.au
Technology, disruption, music industry, creativity and copyright law
 Dr Ian Collinson
Title: Lecturer in Media
Location: Building Y3A, Room 191G
Phone: (02) 9850 2110
Email: ian.collinson@mq.edu.au
Psychogeographic media, space/place, music, politics and identity (especially national identity), and media audiences. These are all areas of potential areas of supervision
 Dr Denis Crowdy
Title: Senior Lecturer
Location: Building Y3A, Room 193G
Phone: (02) 9850 2193
Email: denis.crowdy@mq.edu.au
Melanesian music, ethnomusicology, music production, audio engineering
 Associate Professor Peter Doyle
Title: Associate Professor in Media
Location: Building Y3A, Room 151
Phone: (02) 9850 2150
Email: peter.doyle@mq.edu.au
Sound studies and musicology, forensic photography, histories of Australian popular music, Australian popular cultures and 'true crime' writing
 

Dr Catherine Fargher
Title: Lecturer in Performance
Location: Building Y3A, Room 261
Email: catherine.fargher@mq.edu.au
Phone: (02) 9850 2161

Playwriting, radio writing, Hybrid scriptwriting and performance, Performance and Technology, Experimental writing, Interactive and immersive storytelling, Storytelling in networked environments, games and VR, trans-media storytelling, user experience in digital platforms. Writing for Children, Children's TV, multi-modality and multiple intelligence user experience.
 Dr Andrew Frost
Title: Lecturer
Email: andrew.frost@mq.edu.au
Contemporary art practices, science fictional aesthetics, screen media, alternative histories & other uchronia, constructed subjectivities and creative practices, experimental curatorial practices, expanded documentary
 Mr Waldo Fabian Garrido
Location: Building Y3A, Room 191B
Phone: (02) 9850 2126
Email: waldo.garrido@mq.edu.au
 
 Dr Lauren Gorfinkel
Title: Lecturer in International Communication
Location: Building Y3A, Room 165B
Phone: (02) 9850 2138
Email: lauren.gorfinkel@mq.edu.au
Chinese media, with a focus on the politics of national and ethnic identity in music-entertainment television in mainland China
 Professor Bridget Griffen-Foley
Title: Professor in Media
Location: Building Y3A, Room 148
Phone: (02) 9850 8828
Email: b.foley@mq.edu.au
Media history (press, radio and television); twentieth-century Australian history and biography; and how history is presented in the media
 Dr Qin Guo
Title: Senior Lecturer in International Communication
Location: Building Y3A, Room 158
Phone: (02) 9850 2158
Email: qin.guo@mq.edu.au  
Development communication (including educational communication), intercultural communication and public diplomacy
 Dr Usha Harris
Title: Lecturer in International Communications
Location: Building Y3A, Room 165I
Phone: (02) 9850 2166
Email: usha.harris@mq.edu.au
Climate change communication, Media and communication in the Asia Pacific, communication for social change including campaigns and communication strategies, participatory media focusing on the methodological approaches in participatory media research, transnational media flows
 Dr Ilona Hongisto
Title: Lecturer in Media Studies
Location: Building Y3A, Room 193F
Phone: (02) 9850 2117
Email: ilona.hongisto@mq.edu.au
Documentary cinema, expanded cinema, transnationalism and minor cinemas, ethics of storytelling, philosophies of fabulation, media and cultural theory, new materialism and the more-than-human, media production and political economies
 Dr Diane Hughes
Title: Associate Professor
Location: Building Y3A, Room 193H
Phone: (02) 9850 2175
Email: diane.hughes@mq.edu.au
Vocal artistry, vocal pedagogy, contemporary singing, recording and producing, and popular music culture
 Dr Sarah Keith
Title: Lecturer, Music and Media
Location: Building Y3A, Room 193B
Phone: (02) 9850 2179
Email: sarah.keith@mq.edu.au  
Popular music studies, Korean and Japanese popular music, the Australian music industries, music and cultural policy, music and screen media (including documentary, film, and games), music and performance technologies, and computer-mediated composition
 Jillian Kramer
Title: Scholarly Teaching Fellow
Location: Building Y3A, Room 152
Phone: (02) 9850 2252
Email: jillian.kramer@mq.edu.au
Whiteness, race, politics, cultural legal studies, Australian media and social justice, learning and teaching and education.
 Professor Julian Knowles
Title: Professor
Location: Building Y3A, Room 193F
Phone: (02) 9850 2196
Email: julian.knowles@mq.edu.au
Technologically-mediated music and sound practices and the relationships between audio-visual media
 Dr Sabine Krajewski
Title: Senior Lecturer in International Communications
Location: Building Y3A, Room 165H  
Phone: (02) 9850 2167
Email: Sabine.krajewski@mq.edu.au

Intercultural communication and intercultural competence

 Dr Anthony Lambert
Title: Senior Lecturer
Location: Building Y3A, Room 149
Phone: (02) 9850 2148
Email: anthony.lambert@mq.edu.au 
Australian film and culture; identity and space; visual culture, representations of gender and sexuality in national contexts, and critical methodologies
 Dr Julie-Anne Long
Title: Lecturer in Dance and Performance
Location: Building Y3A, Room 193J
Phone: (02) 9850 2143
Email: julie-anne.long@mq.edu.au
Identity and the performing female body, art and the everyday, collaborative art practices, participatory performance practices, the experience of place and the animation of space, site-specificity and performance, the potential of dance to engage in/lead interdisciplinary collaborations, writing for performance, embodied learning
 Professor Catharine Lumby
Title: Professor of Media
Email: catharine.lumby@mq.edu.au
Young people, media consumption and relationships; Media content regulation in a convergent media environment; Social media and ethics; The future of journalism in the online and social media era; The role of education in preventing violence against women
 Dr Virginia Madsen
Title: Senior Lecturer in M
Location: Building Y3A, Room 2180
Phone: (02) 9850 2180
Email: virginia.madsen@mq.edu.au
Sound and radio production, theory and history, auditory culture studies, new audio media and audio arts, and the history of public broadcasting with a particular emphasis on 'cultural radio' forms such as documentaries and features and their specific development in Europe, North America and Australia
 Dr Nicole Matthews
Lecturer in Media and Cultural Studies
Location: Building Y3A, Room 165C
Phone: (02) 9850 2152
Email: nicole.matthews@mq.edu.au
Auto/biography, Deaf and disability studies, popular genres of broadcast and electronic media, and education, media in processes of social and political change
 Dr Wade Marynowsky
Location: Building Y3A, Room 165E
Phone: (02) 9850 2126
Email:wade.marynowsky@mq.edu.au
Experimental and emerging art forms, including robotics, immersive and interactive installation, performance, music and video
 Dr Willa McDonald
Title: Senior Lecturer in Media
Location: Building Y3A, Room 150
Phone: (02) 9850 2151
Email: willa.mcdonald@mq.edu.au
Creative non-fiction writing and literary journalism
 Dr Mary Mainsbridge
Associate Lecturer in Music
Office: Y3A 165E
Phone: (02) 9850 2175
Email: mary.mainsbridge@mq.edu.au
Gestural interaction, audio-visual performance, embodiment and new musical instruments
 Mr Alex Mesker
Title: Associate Lecturer
Location: Building Y3A, Room 193K
Phone: (02) 9850 2197
Email: alex.mesker@mq.edu.au
Computer music composition, synthesis, generative music and visuals, gestural motion tracking, and human computer interaction
 Professor Kathryn Millard
Title: Professor of Film and Creative Arts
Location: Building Y3A, Room 252
Phone: (02) 9850 2253
Email: kathryn.millard@mq.edu.au
Creativity and collaboration, psychology and film, screenwriting, digital writing, screen performance, independent cinema, screen history, non-fiction, colour theory, visual culture, creative practices
 Dr Guy Morrow
Title: Lecturer
Location: Building Y3A, Room 191F  
Phone: (02) 9850 2199
Email: guy.morrow@mq.edu.au
Creativity research: the psychology of creativity, group creativity and managing creativity
 Dr Tom Murray
Location: Building Y3A, Room 191H
Phone: (02) 9850 2182
Email:  tom.murray@mq.edu.au
Screen directing, production, and writing
 Dr Intan Paramaditha
Title: Lecturer in Media and Film Studies
Location: Y3A 193D
Phone: (02) 9850 2186
E-mail: intan.paramaditha@mq.edu.au
Media and cultural activism, gender and sexuality, religion and secularism, contemporary Asian film and media, particularly Southeast Asian and Indonesian cinema, media, citizenship, public and counterpublic, nation, transnationalism, and globalization
 Dr Karen Pearlman
Title: Lecturer in Screen Production
Location: Building Y3A, Room 193H
Phone: (02) 9850 2176
Email: karen.pearlman@mq.edu.au
Screen production processes and practices; Editing and rhythm; Movement and kinaesthetic empathy; Screen dramaturgy, performance dramaturgy; Cognitive studies of the moving image; Embodied expertise and extended mind in creative practices; Dancefilm/screendance; Elizaveta Svilova and Dziga Vertov
 Professor John Potts
Title: Professor in Media
Location: Building Y3A, Room 165J
Phone: (02) 9850 2163
Email: john.potts@mq.edu.au
Culture and technology, digital media, media history, contemporary arts, and intellectual history
 Professor Joseph Pugliese
Title: Research Director, MMCCS
Location: Building Y3A, Room 252
Phone: (02) 9850 2162
Email: joseph.pugliese@mq.edu.au
Race, ethnicity, whiteness; bodies, technologies; cultural studies of law; migration, diaspora, refugees; and state violence
 Dr Maya Ranganathan
Title: Lecturer in Media and International Communication
Location: Building Y3A, Room 156
Phone: (02) 9850 2251
Email: maya.ranganathan@mq.edu.au
Media and political identities, with particular focus on South Asia
 Dr Adrian Renzo
Title: Lecturer in Contemporary Music
Location: Building Y3A, Room 155
Phone: (02) 9850 2155
Email: adrian.renzo@mq.edu.au

Popular music aesthetics; Medley records, mash-ups, megamixes, and remixes; Sampling and appropriation in popular music; Popular music 'mainstreams' and Top 40 music; Gender and sexuality in popular music; Critical musicology

 Dr Kate Rossmanith
Title: Senior Lecturer in Media and Cultural Studies
Location: Building Y3A, Room 191F
Phone: (02) 9850 2183
Email: kate.rossmanith@mq.edu.au
Performance studies, criminology, and creative nonfiction writing
 Dr Jane Simon
Title: Lecturer in Media
Location: Building Y3A, Room 165K
Phone: (02) 9850 2102 
Email: jane.simon@mq.edu.au
Art photography, amateurism & photography, artists' books, autobiographical film, feminist film theory and feminist cultural theory
 Dr Catherine Simpson
Title: Senior Lecturer in Media
Location: Building Y3A, Room 165D
Phone: (02) 9850 2168
Email: catherine.simpson@mq.edu.au
Teaching and publications are primarily in the areas of: Australian and Turkish cinema; construction of identity and space on screen especially in relation to nationhood, gender and the body; screen automobile cultures; film festivals; transnational, diasporic and small national cinemas; and the work of Australian female filmmakers
 Dr Yuji Sone
Title: Lecturer in Theatre and Performance Studies
Location: Building Y3A, Room 193D
Phone: (02) 9850 2186
Email: yuji.sone@mq.edu.au
The performing body and technology, Japanese technoculture, cross-cultural performance, nonhuman performance, and the relationship between performance persona and the performer's self
 Dr Undine Sellbach
Title: Lecturer
Location: Building Y3A, Room 193F
Phone: (02) 9850 2118
Email: undine.sellbach@mq.edu.au
 
 Dr Liza-Mare Syron
Location: Building Y3A, Room 191K
Phone: (02) 9850 2105
Email: lizamare.syron@mq.edu.au
Actor training; Indigenous theatre practice; Inter-cultural performance; Theatre and community development; Arts in the community
 Dr Rowan Tulloch
Title: Lecturer in Media 
Location: Building Y3A, Room 191C
Phone: (02) 9850 2254
Email: rowan.tulloch@mq.edu.au
Video gaming and digital culture: question of how we theorise new technological forms and practices, and how our engagements with these new forms are shaped by our understanding of older technological forms
 Associate Professor Sherman Young
Title: Deputy Head of Department
Location: Building Y3A, Room 235
Phone: (02) 9850 6778
Email: sherman.young@mq.edu.au
Internet studies, new media technologies, media convergence, media policy, copyright, video games, e-books, publishing studies and digital cultures

Professional staff

 NameContact
 Ms Lisa Cuffe
Title: Department Administrator
Location: Building Y3A, Room 255
Phone: (02) 9850 2257
Email: lisa.cuffe@mq.edu.au
 Ms Justine Martin
Title: Department Administrator
Location: Building Y3A, Room 250
Phone: (02) 9850 2250
Email: justine.martin@mq.edu.au
 Ms Stephany Yeap
Title: Admin Assistant
Location: Building Y3A, Room 259
Phone: (02) 9850 2256
Email: stephany.yeap@mq.edu.au

Technical staff

  Name Contact
  Mr David Mitchell
Title: Technical Manager
Location: Building Y3A, Room 172
Phone: (02) 9850 2173
Email: david.mitchell@mq.edu.au
  Mr Marcus Eckermann
Title: Media Technical Officer
Location: Building Y3A, Room 172
Phone: (02) 9850 2172
Email: marcus.eckermann@mq.edu.au
  Ben Nash
Technical Officer
Location: Building Y3A, Room 170
Phone: (02) 9850 2147
Email: ben.nash@mq.edu.au
  Mr Peter Ring
Title: Radio Facilities Manager
Location: Building Y3A, Room 170
Phone: (02) 9850 2171
Email: peter.ring@mq.edu.au
 Mr Mike Baber
Title: Technical Officer - Digital News Facilities 
Location: Building Y3A, Room 290
Phone: (02) 9850 2290
Email: michael.baber@mq.edu.au
  Mr John Cook
Title: Technical Officer
Location: Building Y3A, Room 174
Phone: (02) 9850 2170
Email: john.cook@mq.edu.au
  Mr Dominic Givney
Title: Music Technician
Location: Building Y3A, Room 170
Phone: (02) 9850 2200
Email: dominic.givney@mq.edu.au
  Ms Holly Robinson
Title: Technical Assistant - Performance & Screen Production 
Location: Building Y3A, Room 174
Phone: (02) 9850 2174
Email: holly.robinson@mq.edu.au

Adjunct Professors, Visiting Fellows, Honorary Associates

  Name Contact
  Professor David Armstrong
Title: Adjunct Professor
Email: david.armstrong@mq.edu.au
  Professor Bruce Johnson
Title: Adjunct Professor
Email: bruce.johnson@mq.edu.au
  Dr Ruth Harley
Title: Honorary Associate
Email: ruth.harley@mq.edu.au
 Dr Howard Gelman
Title: Honorary Associate
Email: howard.gelman@mq.edu.au
 Dr Tony McHugh
Title: Honorary Associate
Email: tony.mchugh@mq.edu.au
 Dr Nigel Helyer
Title: Honorary Associate
Email: nigel.helyer@mq.edu.au
 Professor Nikki Sullivan
Title: Honorary Associate
Email: nikki.sullivan@mq.edu.au
 Dr Justine Toh
Title: Honorary Associate
Email: justinetoh@gmail.com
 Dr Craig Munro
Title: Honorary Fellow
Email: stetit@hotmail.com
Back to the top of this page