Staff

Staff

Head of Department 

  Name and contact details Research interests
 Associate Professor Ulrike Garde
Title: Head, German Studies
Location: Building W6A, Room 213
Phone: (02) 9850 7051
Email:  ulrike.garde@mq.edu.au
German Studies as Cultural Studies, in particular the question of creating cultural identities in literature, the performing arts and critical reviews

Academic staff

  Name and contact details Research Interests
 Dr Rodrigo Acuna
Title: Associate Lecturer, Spanish and Latin American Studies
Location: Building W6A, Room 328
Phone: (02) 9850 8874
Email: rodrigo.acuna@mq.edu.au
Inter-American relations, Cold War and Post-Cold War Latin America, Venezuelan history and politics, human rights and development policies from a multidisciplinary perspective
 Gianluca Alimeni
Title: Associate Lecturer, Italian Studies
Location: Building W6A, Room 205
Phone: (02) 9850 7027
Email: gianluca.alimeni@mq.edu.au
Italian Renaissance and the 13th-15th century Novellistica (short stories)
 Dr Bénédicte André
Title: Associate Lecturer, French and Francophone Studies
Location: Building W6A, Room 202
Phone: (02) 9850 7029
Email: benedicte.andre@mq.edu.au 
Island Literary Studies; French and Francophone literature and culture; Literary Geography; Identity construction processes; Postcolonial Studies; Liminality
 Ms Christie Barber
Title: Associate Lecturer, Japanese Studies
Location: Building W6A, Room 304
Phone: (02) 9850 8813
Email: christie.barber@mq.edu.au
Representations of gender in Japanese popular media, especially in film; youth culture, and youth issues, in Japan; translation of popular media
  Dr Susanne Binder
Title: Lecturer, German Studies
Location: Building W6A, Room 537
Phone: (02) 9850 6881
Email: susanne.binder@mq.edu.au
German culture and society - literature and literary theory - history and manuscripts (19th century)
 Dr Mio Bryce
Title: Senior Lecture, Head, Japanese Studies
Location: Building W6A, Room 339
Phone: (02) 9850 7064
Email: mio.bryce@mq.edu.au 
Interdisciplinary research into youth cultures, with particular focus on manga and anime, in conjunction with the English Department
 Luka Budak
Title: Senior Lecturer, Head, Croatian Studies
Location: Building W6A, Room 114
Phone: (02) 9850 7040
Email: luka.budak@mq.edu.au
Sociolinguistic aspect of Croatian language, both in Croatia and Croatian diaspora, history of Croatian standard idiom, Croatian migrations, Croatian culture and literature, and history of Croatian settlement in Australia
 Dr Kevin Carrico
Title: Lecturer, Chinese Studies
Phone: +61 2 9850 7692
Office: W6A 227
Email: kevin.carrico@mq.edu.au
Political anthropology; Ethnic relations in China; Critical Han Studies; Chinese nationalism and popular culture; China-Tibet relations; Localism in Hong Kong; Social systems theory
 Associate Professor Shirley Chan
Title: Head, Chinese Studies
Location: Building W6A, Room 226
Phone: (02) 9850 7021
Email: shirley.chan@mq.edu.au
Traditional Chinese culture, Chinese philosophy, Chinese textual studies and intellectual history, and the excavated Chu bamboo manuscripts dated to the fourth century BCE
  Dr Danijel Dzino
Title: Associate Lecturer, Croatian Studies
Location: Building W6A, Room 113
Phone: (02) 9850 7049
Email: danijel.dzino@mq.edu.au

History of the southeastern Europe (Balkans), from prehistory to modern times; Perceptions of the past in the southeastern Europe; Construction of identities in the southeastern Europe

 Angeline (Sijia) Guo
Title: Associate Lecturer, Chinese Studies
Location: Building W6A, Room 228
Phone: (02) 9850 7001
Email: sijia.guo@mq.edu.au
Task-based Language Teaching, Online Chinese teaching via web-conferencing systems and second language acquisition
 Dr Jane Hanley
Title: Lecturer, Spanish and Latin American Studies
Location: Building W6A, Room 203
Phone: (02) 9850 6885
Email: jane.hanley@mq.edu.au
Travel writing, transnational cultural production, and gender in Spanish-language popular culture
 Dr Marika Kalyuga
Title: Senior Lecturer, Head, Russian Studies
Location: Building W6A, Room 203
Phone: (02) 9850 7016
Email: marika.kalyuga@mq.edu.au 
Cognitive linguistics, cognitive pragmatics, cognitive psychology, foreign language pedagogy, foreign language teacher education, and second language acquisition
 Dr Elizabeth Kefallinos
Title: Lecturer, Head, Modern Greek Studies
Location: Building W6A, Room 216
Phone: (02) 9850 7031
Email: elizabeth.kefallinos@mq.edu.au
- Greek linguistics and language acquisition
- Medical terminology / etymologies
- Intercultural identities
- Oral narratives including Greek-Australian intergenerational identities and Greek-Jewish traumatic and memory explorations.
 Dr Maryam Khalid
Title: Lecturer and Director, Bachelor of International Studies
Phone: +61 2 9850 7915
Office: W6A 327
Email: maryam.khalid@mq.edu.au
Poststructural international studies; Postcolonial studies; Gender and sexuality; Global governance; Identity construction processes; Middle East studies
 Dr Alexandra Kurmann
Title: Lecturer, French and Francophone Studies
Location: Building W6A, Room 323
Phone: (02) 9850 8809
Email: alex.kurmann@mq.edu.au
Comparative and World Literature in French, German, and English; French and Francophone Literature; Vietnamese Diasporia Writing; Exile Literature; Postcolonial Studies.
 Dr Sung-Ae Lee
Title: Lecturer, Asian Studies
Location: Building W6A, Room 324
Phone: (02) 9850 8787
Email: sung-ae.lee@mq.edu.au
Fiction, film and television drama of East Asia, with particular attention to: Cognitive studies, Cultural blending, Imagology, Adaptation theory, Diaspora studies, Asian popular culture, Asian cinema, and Korean literature and film.
  Emilio Lomonaco
Title: Associate Lecturer, Italian Studies
Location: Building W6A, Room 204
Phone: (02) 9850 7025
Email: emilio.lomonaco@mq.edu.au  
Contemporary Italian literature with a focus on narratology; orality and pseudo-orality in contemporary Italian literature; Sicilian authors such as  Andrea  Camilleri, Giovanni  Verga  and Luigi Pirandello; traditional popular culture in Sicily, including poet Ignazio Buttitta and folk singer Rosa Balistreri.
 Dr Florence Ma
Title: Lecturer, English as a Foreign Language
Location: Building W6A, Room 341
Phone: (02) 9850 7285
Email: florence.lai.ma@mq.edu.au
Non-native English Speaking Teachers (NNESTs) issues, Use of L1, Language Teacher Education, Bilingualism and Academic Literacy
 Ms Kayo Nakazawa
Title: Associate Lecturer, Japanese Studies
Location: Building W6A, Room 334
Phone: (02) 9850 7028
Email: kayo.nakazawa@mq.edu.au
Second Language Acquisition, CALL
 Associate Professor Karin Speedy
Title: Head of French and Francophone Studies and Director of Research (International Studies)
Location: Building W6A, Room 215
Phone: (02) 9850 7006
Email: karin.speedy@mq.edu.au
Language contact, the New Caledonian sugar industry, migrations, interethnic relations, colonial and postcolonial literature from the region and literary translation
 Dr Brangwen Stone
Title: Associate Lecturer, German Studies
Location: Building W6A, Room 329
Phone: (02) 9850 8863
Email: brangwen.stone@mq.edu.au
GDR literature, Eastern Europe in German literature and film, post-reunification literature and contemporary German drama
 Dr Chavalin Svetanant
Title: Lecturer, Japanese Studies
Location: Building W6A, Room 335
Phone: (02) 9850 7044
Email: chavalin.svetanant@mq.edu.au
Japanese Linguistics / Thai Linguistics, Japanese Language Education, 
Cross-cultural Communication with particular interests on language, thought, and social behaviours in comparative cultural and historical contexts, Critical Discourse Analysis (CDA), Pop Culture and Media Studies
 Dr Kimiko Tsukada
Title: Senior Lecturer, Japanese Studies
Location: Building W6A, Room 303
Phone: (02) 9850 7922
Email: kimiko.tsukada@mq.edu.au
Experimental/acoustic phonetics, cross-language speech production/perception and Japanese phonetics
 Associate Professor Estela Valverde
Location: Building W6A, Room 203
Phone: (02) 9850 6882
Email: estela.valverde@mq.edu.au
Language acquisition research focus: development of innovative teaching materials which has recently focused on computer-assisted language acquisition and online learning. Multidisciplinary research focus: Exploration of issues related to history, memory and politics; ethnic, gender and national identities; social movements, transitional justice, re-democratisation and human rights
  Dr Kamila Walker
Title: Lecturer, Polish Studies
Location: Building W6A, Room 332
Phone: (02) 9850 7014
Email:  kamila.walker@mq.edu.au
--
 Dr Hui Ling Xu
Title: Senior Lecturer, Chinese Studies
Location: Building W6A, Room 229
Phone: (02) 9850 1005
Email: huiling.xu@mq.edu.au
Linguistic typology, dialectology, the application of new technology in the teaching of foreign languages, teaching Chinese as a foreign and heritage language, and intercultural language teaching and learning
 Dr Lan Zhang
Title: Lecturer, Chinese Studies
Location: Building W6A, Room 232
Phone: (02) 9850 7020
Email: lan.zhang@mq.edu.au
Chinese literature and culture and translation studies

Casual academic staff

CHINESE STUDIES
  Mr Franz Cheung Location: Building W6A, Room 230
Phone: (02) 9850 7001
Email: franz.cheung@mq.edu.au
  Dr Daniel Lee Location: Building W6A, Room 230
Phone: (02) 9850 7001
Email: daniel.lee@mq.edu.au
  Esther Li Location: Building W6A, Room 230
Phone: (02) 9850 7001
Email: esther.li@mq.edu.au
  Ella Li Location: Building W6A, Room 230
Phone: (02) 9850 7001
Email: ella.li@mq.edu.au
  Li Ni Location: Building W6A, Room 228
Phone: (02) 9850 7023
Email: lini.li@mq.edu.au
  Angela Lu Location: Building W6A, Room 230
Phone: (02) 9850 7001
Email: angela.lu@mq.edu.au
  Andy Yiming Tang Location: Building W6A, Room 230
Phone: (02) 9850 7001
Email: andy.tang@mq.edu.au
  Lingyun Yan Location: Building W6A, Room 230
Phone: (02) 9850 7001
Email: lingyun.yan@mq.edu.au
FRENCH AND FRANCOPHONE STUDIES
  Irwin Compiègne Location: Building W6B, Room 332
Phone: (02) 9850 7011
Email: irwin.compiegne@mq.edu.au
  Nina Coorey Location: Building W6B, Room 332
Phone: (02) 9850 7011
Email: nina.coorey@mq.edu.au
  Dr Jenny Lane Location: Building W6B, Room 332
Phone: (02) 9850 7011 
Email: jjennifer.lane@mq.edu.au
  Jacqueline Rudelle Location: Building W6B, Room 332 
Phone: (02) 9850 7011 
Email: jacqueline.rudelle@mq.edu.au
  Lyse Thomas Location: Building W6B, Room 332
Phone: (02) 9850 7011
Email: lyse.thomas@mq.edu.au
GERMAN STUDIES
  Susana Catalina Prat Location: Building W6A, Room 331
Phone: (02) 9850 
Email: susana.catalina@mq.edu.au
  Miriam Neigert Location: Building W6A, Room 331 
Phone: (02) 9850 
Email: miriam.neigert@mq.edu.au
  Eva Schmidt Location: Building W6A, Room 331
Phone: (02) 9850 
Email: eva.schmidt@mq.edu.au
ITALIAN STUDIES
  Rosalba Paris Location: Building W6A, Room 209
Phone: (02) 9850 7024
Email: rosalba.paris@mq.edu.au
  Concetta Perna Location: Building W6A, Room 209
Phone: (02) 9850 7024
JAPANESE STUDIES
 Nobuaki Akagi Location: Building W6A, Room 304
Phone: (02) 9850 6890
Email: nobuaki.akagi@mq.edu.au
  Alison Jones Location: Building W6A, Room 301
Phone: (02) 9850 6890
Email: alison.jones@mq.edu.au
  Ayumi Fukusawa Location: Building W6A, Room 301
Phone: (02) 9850 6890
Email: ayumi.fukasawai@mq.edu.au
  Amy Plumb Location: Building W6A, Room 301
Phone: (02) 9850 6890
Email: amy.plumb@mq.edu.au
  Hideki Sumiyoshi Location: Building W6A, Room 301
Phone: (02) 9850 7927
Email: hideki.sumiyoshi@mq.edu.au
MODERN GREEK STUDIES
  Ioannis Kalaitzidis Location: Building W6A, Room 330
Phone: (02) 9850 6805
Email: ioannis.kalaitzidis@mq.edu.au
  Patricia Koromvokis Location: Building W6A, Room 330
Phone: (02) 9850 6805
Email: patricia.koromvokis@mq.edu.au
RUSSIAN STUDIES
  Yulya James Location: Building W6A, Room 333
Phone: (02) 9850 7050
Email: yulya.james@mq.edu.au
  Tatiana Oitzinger Location: Building W6A, Room 333
Phone: (02) 9850 7050
Email: tatiana.oitzinger@mq.edu.au
  Tatyana Ryvchin Location: Building W6A, Room 333
Phone: (02) 9850 7050
Email: tanya.ryvchin@mq.edu.au
SPANISH STUDIES
  Cintia Agosti Location: Building W6A, Room 328
Phone: (02) 9850 8874
Email: cintia.agosti@mq.edu.au
  Pilar Alejandro Location: Building W6A, Room 323
Phone: (02) 9850 6885
Email: pilar.alejandro@mq.edu.au
  Nidia Castrillon Location: Building W6A, Room 209
Phone: (02) 9850 7024
Email: nidia.castrillon@mq.edu.au
  Ella Dixon Location: Building W6A, Room 209
Phone: (02) 9850 7024
Email: ella.dixon@mq.edu.au

Professional staff

  Name Contact
 Mr Vincent Bruin
Title: Overseas Study Advisor 
Location: Building W6A, Room 212
Phone: (02) 9850 1011
Email: vincent.bruin@mq.edu.au
  Ms Jennifer Heward
Title: Department Administrator
Location: Building W6A, Room 217
Phone: (02) 9850 7005
Email: jennifer.heward@mq.edu.au
  Ms Tina Kong
Title: Department Administrator
Location: Building W6A, Room 201
Phone: (02) 9850 7008
Email: tina.kong@mq.edu.au
  Ms Cathy Mewes
Title: Online Development Coordinator
Location: Building W6A, Room 212
Phone: (02) 9850 7033
Email: cathy.mewes@mq.edu.au

Adjunct Professors, Visiting Fellows, Honorary Associates

  Name Contact
 Dr Lance Eccles
Title: Senior Research Fellow, Chinese Studies
Email: lance.eccles@mq.edu.au
 Dr Brigitte Jandey
Title: Honorary Associate
Location: Building W6A, Room 106
Phone: (02) 9850 8822
Email: brigitte.jandey@mq.edu.au
 Professor Daniel Kane
Title: Professor of Chinese
Location: Building W6A, Room 227
Phone: (02) 9850 7692
Email: daniel.kane@mq.edu.au
 Dr Halyna Koscharsky
Title: Honorary Associate
Email: halyna.koscharsky@mq.edu.au
  Edwin Lowe Email: edwin.lowe@mq.edu.au
  Angus A. Martin
Adjunct Professor
 
  Dr Yuriko Yamanouchi

Research Fellows

  Name
  Dr Nic Witton

Emeritus Professors

  Name
  Konrad Kwiet
Back to the top of this page