Our people

Our people

180x270 placeholder

Head of Department

Professor Antonina Harbus

Antonina Harbus has MA and PhD degrees from the University of Toronto, and more than 20 years’ tertiary teaching experience at universities in Canada and Australia. She has led the department since 2011, overseeing staff development and curriculum design, and managing a wide-ranging research program. Her current research combines literary analysis and cognitive science to investigate how the mind makes meaning from a text.



Academic staff

Name and contact details Research Interests

Professor Tony Cousins
Title: Professor
Location: Building W6A, Room 624
Phone: (02) 9850 8772
Email: tony.cousins@mq.edu.au

Renaissance literature and cultural history, Utopian narratives, Australian colonial poetry, and historiography of the history of ideas.

Professor Louise D'Arcens
Title: Professor
Location: Building W6A, Room 628
Phone: (02) 9850 8883
Email: louise.darcens@mq.edu.au


Dr Toby Davidson
Title: Senior Lecturer
Location: Building W6A, Room 637
Phone: (02) 9850 6792
Email: toby.davidson@mq.edu.au

Australian poetry, Australian literature (including film), twentieth-century English, American and post-colonial literatures, and literary intersections with metaphysics, religion, public spaces/environments and the history of ideas

Dr Victoria Flanagan
Title: Senior Lecturer
Location: Building W6A, Room 627
Phone: (02) 9850 6804
Email: victoria.flanagan@mq.edu.au

Gender representations in Children's literature and film; queer theory; posthumanism and its application to children's texts

Associate Professor Marcelle Freiman
Title: Senior Lecturer
Location: Building W6A, Room 621
Phone: (02) 9850 6892
Email: marcelle.freiman@mq.edu.au

Creative Writing practice and theory, cognitive approaches to creative writing, poetry practice and theory. Also, postcolonial and diaspora literature.

Dr Rebecca Giggs
Title: Lecturer
Location: Building W6A, Room 626
Phone: (02) 9850 1820
Email: rebecca.giggs@mq.edu.au

Creative pedagogy and practice, environmental humanities, writing about animals, the uncanny, ficto-criticism, nonfiction, essays and Australian literature

Associate Professor Jane Messer
Title: Senior Lecturer
Location: Building W6A, Room 632
Phone: (02) 9850 8783
Email: jane.messer@mq.edu.au

The practice and theory of teaching creative writing, with particular interest in novel and short story writing; ethnography and writing corporate culture; literature and mothering

Dr Alys Moody
Title: Lecturer
Location: Building W6A, Room 620
Phone: (02) 9850 7057
Email: alys.moody@mq.edu.au

Modernism, contemporary literature, aesthetics, hunger in literature, global modernism, transnational and comparative approaches to literature.

Dr Lee Christine O'Brien
Title: Lecturer
Location: Building W6A, Room 633
Phone: (02) 9850 8776
Email: lee.obrien@mq.edu.au

The impact of the ballad on nineteenth-century women's lyric poetry, the cultural politics of genre, readership and material print culture in the nineteenth century, gender politics and crime/detective fiction 1860 - 1960

Dr Stephanie Russo
Title: Lecturer
Location: Building W6A, Room 623
Phone: (02) 9850 8731
Email: stephanie.russo@mq.edu.au

English literature and culture 1700-1900, with special attention to: the history of the novel, especially women's novels; the history of ideas; women's literature; feminism and literature; historiography and representations of revolution and counter-revolution

Associate Professor Paul Sheehan
Title: Associate Professor
Location: Building W6A, Room 622
Phone: (02) 9850 8757
Email: paul.sheehan@mq.edu.au

Modernism, contemporary literature, continental theory, Beckett studies, Coetzee studies, film / television and literature, science fiction, posthumanism

Associate Professor Hsu-Ming Teo
Title: Associate Professor
Building W6A Level 6, Room 629 Phone: (02) 9850 7018
Email: hsuming.teo@mq.edu.au


Dr Ryan Twomey
Title: Lecturer
Location: Building W6A, Room 621
Phone: (02) 9850 8743
Email: ryan.twomey@mq.edu.au

Juvenilia and the development of the child writer into the adult author; Historiography; Victorian Literature; Hiberno-English literature

Dr Geoff Payne
Title: Lecturer
Location: Building W6A, Room 631
Phone: (02) 9850 8726
Email: geoffrey.payne@mq.edu.au

Connection between literary modes and the history of ideas in Britain during the long eighteenth century, with special emphasis on the nature of chaos and the politics of home; the younger generation of British Romantic poets (especially Byron and Shelley); the connection between literary and political discourse; and Marxist and Cultural Materialist theory

Professional staff

Name Contact

Mrs Frances Thompson
Title: Department Administration

Location: Building W6A, Room 641
Phone: (02) 9850 8739
Email: frances.thompson@mq.edu.au

Adjunct Professors, Visiting Fellows, Honorary Associates

Name Contact

Virginia Blain
Title: Adjunct Professor

Email: vblain2@gmail.com

Honorary Associates
Daniella Napton, BA, MA, PhD Macquarie University
Teresa A. Petersen, BA Macq., PhD Macquarie University
Shale Preston, BA(Hons) Syd., PhD Macquarie University
Jen Cope, BA (Hons) Warw. UK, M.Ed (Tesol), PhD Sydney University jen.e.cope@mq.edu.au

Emeritus Professors

Name Contact

Professor John Stephens
Title: Emeritus Professor

Location: Building W6A, Room 338
Phone: (02) 9850 8748
Email: john.stephens@mq.edu.au

Professor Tony Gibbs
Title: Emeritus Professor

Email: tony.gibbs@mq.edu.au

Yasmine Gooneratne
Title: Emeritus Professor

Email: yasmine.gooneratne@mq.edu.au
Back to the top of this page