Staff

Staff

Head of Department 

  Name and contact details Research interests
 Professor Greg Downey
Title: Professor
Location: Building W6A, Room 611
Phone: (02) 9850 8079
Email: greg.downey@mq.edu.au
Neuroanthropology; sensory experience; psychological anthropology; sports, dance, and music; biology-culture relations; embodiment; physical training; human variation; anthropological and evolutionary theory

Academic staff

 Name and contact detailsResearch Interests
 Dr Aaron Denham
Title: Senior Lecturer
Location: Building W6A, Room 616
Phone: (02) 9850 7564
Email:  aaron.denham@mq.edu.au
Medical and psychological anthropology; child and maternal health; infanticide discourse, representation, and practice; development and health; divination and meaning-making processes; intergenerational relations; mental health; psychoanalytic theory and practice; historical trauma; electronic health records and patient-provider relational styles; West Africa; and, North America
 Dr Kevin Groark
Title: Lecturer
Location: Building W6A, Room 618
Phone: (02) 9850 8110
Email: kevin.groark@mq.edu.au
Psychological Anthropology; Psychoanalysis; Medical Anthropology; Dreams; Ethnomedicine; Ethnobotany;  Intersubjectivity; Indigenous Latin America; Highland Maya; Amazonia
 Associate Professor Chris Houston
Title: Associate Professor
Location: Building W6A, Room 606
Phone: (02) 9850 8471
Email: chris.houston@mq.edu.au
Political Islam in Turkey; republicanism, nationalism and identity; architecture and urban planning
 Associate Professor Chris Lyttleton
Title: Associate Professor 
Location: Building W6A, Room 610
Phone: (02) 9850 1183
Email: chris.lyttleton@mq.edu.au
Sexuality and subjectivity; health and development; social impact of HIV/AIDS in SE Asia; migration and health vulnerability; ethnic minorities in the upper Mekong; drug reduction programs
 Dr Gabriele Marranci
Title: Lecturer
Location: Building W6A, Room 617
Phone: (02) 9850 8040
Email:  gabriele.marranci@mq.edu.au
Anthropology of identity and emotion; Anthropology of religion (specialisation in Muslim communities); Anthropology and neuroscience; Youth and society; Anthropology of global social threats; Immigration and migration; South and Southeast Asia; Western Europe, US and Australia; North and West Africa
 Dr Paul Mason
Title: Associate Lecturer
Location: Building W6A, Room 602
Phone: (02) 9850 8120
Email: paul.mason@mq.edu.au

Medical anthropology; bioethics; neuroethics politics and ethics of infectious disease; qualitative and mixed-methods research; Anthropology of the body; Neuroanthropology; Ethnomusicology, Dance Anthropology; The anthropology of martial arts;choreomusicology (the study of the relationship between music and dance); Complex systems theory; Brazil, India, Indonesia, and Vietnam.

 Associate Professor Kalpana Ram
Title: Associate Professor 
Location: Building W6A, Room 604
Phone: (02) 9850 8016
Email: kalpana.ram@mq.edu.au
Class, gender and development in India; Embodied experience and gender: rural women's experiences of puberty, maternity, family planning and childbirth; Aesthetics and Indian performance cultures: performance of power in everyday life, specific performance traditions in dance and music, intersection of aesthetics, gender and nationalism for the Indian middle class and middle class diaspora
 Dr Jaap Timmer
Title: Senior Lecturer
Location: Building W6A, Room 603
Phone: (02) 9850 8121
Email: jaap.timmer@mq.edu.au
Religion, ethnicity, migration, tenure arrangements, access to justice, governance, and non-state regulations
 Dr Deborah Van Heekeren
Title: Senior Lecturer
Location: Building W6A, Room 607
Phone: (02) 9850 8622
Email: deborah.vanHeekeren@mq.edu.au
Christianity, cosmology and identity in Papua New Guinea; myth, history and ontology; phenomenological anthropology
 Dr Chris Vasantkumar
Title: Lecturer
Location: Building W6A, Room 600
Email: chris.vasantkumar@mq.edu.au
Money, number and numeracy, metrology and measurement, standards and processes of standardization, movement and mobilities, the anthropology of utopia, actor-network theory and social topology, economic anthropology, China and Tibet
 Dr Eve Vincent 
Title: Lecturer
Location: Building W6A, Room 611
Phone: (02) 9850 8026
Email:  eve.vincent@mq.edu.au
Indigenous Australia, race, the politics of recognition, Aboriginal expressive practices (especially literary), settler colonialism, Australian progressive social movements
 Associate Professor Lisa Wynn
Title: Associate Professor
Location: Building W6A, Room 606
Phone: (02) 9850 8095
Email: lisa.wynn@mq.edu.au
Transnationalism; medical anthropology; new reproductive health technologies; sexuality; the language of medicine; cyberfatwas; tourism and travel; gender; identity and nationalism; Egypt, Saudi Arabia, the U.S. and Canada

Professional staff

  Name Contact
 Ms Payel Ray
Title: Department Administrator 
Location: Building W6A, Room 615
Phone: (02) 9850 8077
Email: payel.ray@mq.edu.au

Adjunct Professors, Visiting Fellows, Honorary Associates

 NameContact
 Dr Maren Tomforde
Title: Honorary Associate
Location: Building W6A, Room 602
Phone: (02) 9850 8026
Email: maren.tomforde@mq.edu.au
 Dr Sumant Badami
Title: Honorary Associate
Location: Building W6A, Room
Email: sumant.badami@mq.edu.au
 Associate Professor Paul Cohen
Title: Senior Research Fellow 
Location: Building W6A, Room 612
Phone: Phone: (02) 9850 8021
Email: paul.cohen@mq.edu.au
 Dr Estelle Dryland
Title: Honorary Associate 
Location: Building W6A, Room 616
Phone: Phone: (02) 9850 9458
Email: estelle.dryland@mq.edu.au
 Dr Michael Goddard
Title: Honorary Associate  
Location: Building W6A, Room 612
Phone: Phone: (02) 9850 8021
Email: michael.goddard@mq.edu.au
 Dr Robert Norton
Title: Senior Research Fellow 
Location: Building W6A, Room 602
Phone: Phone: (02) 9850 8622
Email: robert.norton@mq.edu.au
 Dr Banu Senay
Title: Honorary Associate 
Location: Building W6A, Room 714
Email: banu.senay@mq.edu.au
Back to the top of this page