Our people

Our people

Gillian Heller

Head of Department 

Professor Gillian Heller

Professor Gillian Heller's research interests include flexible regression modelling, generalized linear modelling, biostatistical applications and functional data analysis.







Academic staff

Name Research interests

Professor Ian Marschner
E: ian.marschner@mq.edu.au
Room 5.25, Level 5, E7A

  • Design and analysis of randomised clinical trials
  • Risk factor modelling in clinical epidemiology
  • Biostatistical methods for surrogate outcomes, missing data and measurement error
  • EM type algorithms in statistical computing

Professor Barry Quinn
E: barry.quinn@mq.edu.au
Room 6.25, Level 6, E7A

  • Time series analysis, especially in its relationship with Signal Processing.
  • The estimation of frequency and related problems.

Associate Professor Ayse Bilgin
E: ayse.bilgin@mq.edu.au
Room 6.35, Level 6, E7A

  • Data Mining
  • Decision Support Systems
  • Customer Relationship Management
  • Total Quality Management
  • Quality Improvement in Hospitals (NSW)

Associate Professor Rob van den Honert
E: rob.vandenhonert@mq.edu.au        
Room 6.13, Level 6, E7A 


Associate Professor Jun Ma
E: jun.ma@mq.edu.au
Room 5.26, Level 5, E7A

  • Smoothing parameter selection in medical image reconstructions.
  • Mixture models
  • Multiplicative iterative methods for positive constrained maximum penalized likelihood image reconstruction in emission tomography
  • Iterative Bayes algorithms for positive linear inverse problems

Dr David Bulger
Senior Lecturer
E: david.bulger@mq.edu.au
Room 5.30, Level 5, E7A

  • Stochastic global optimisation
  • Quantum computation
  • Bioinformatics

Dr Petra Graham
Senior Lecturer
E: petra.graham@mq.edu.au        
Room 6.38, Level 6, E7A 

  • Meta-analysis
  • Generalized linear modelling
  • The application of Bayesian methods in medicine and health
  • Biostatistics
  • Nonparametric statistics
  • Statistical computing

Dr Nino Kordzakhia
Senior Lecturer  
E: nino.kordzakhia@mq.edu.au
Room 6.10, Level 6, E7A


Dr Kehui Luo
Senior Lecturer 
E: kehui.luo@mq.edu.au
Room 5.29, Level 5, E7A

  • Statistical applications in epidemiological, biological, health and medical science areas

Dr Tania Prvan
Senior Lecturer
E: tania.prvan@mq.edu.au
Room 6.29, Level 6, E7A

  • Programming of generalised smoothing splines

Dr Georgy Sofronov
Senior Lecturer
E: georgy.sofronov@mq.edu.au        
Room 5.35, Level 5, E7A 

  • Markov Chain Monte Carlo methods, Cross-Entropy method
  • Small Area Estimation, Biological models
  • Theory and applications of random processes, optimal stopping rules
  • Sequential analysis, asymptotic theory, change-point problems

Dr Ken Beath
Lecturer
E: ken.beath@mq.edu.au        
Room 6.34, Level 6, E7A 

  • Mixture and latent variable models, particularly application to longitudinal data
  • Computational methods for latent variable models
  • Infant growth modelling
  • Order determination for mixture models

Ms KJ Byun
Lecturer
E: kj.byun@mq.edu.au        
Room 6.14, Level 6, E7A 

  • Modelling of Housing Market
  • Prediction and Comparison of Sporting Performances
  • Analysis of Financial Surveys

Dr Thomas Fung
Lecturer
E: thomas.fung@mq.edu.au
Room 6.26, Level 6, E7A

  • Multivariate Variance Gamma (VG) and related models and their applications to financial modelling
  • Tail dependence
  • Copulas
  • Mixture distributions

Dr Maurizio Manuguerra
Lecturer
E: maurizio.manuguerra@mq.edu.au
Room 6.21, Level 6, E7A

  • Ordinal Regression Models
  • Bayesian Methodology
  • Spatio-temporal models
  • Biostatistics
  • Modeling of binary time-series from neuroscience

Dr Justin Wishart
Lecturer
E: justin.wishart@mq.edu.au        
Room 6.39, Level 6, E7A 

  • Wavelet Analysis
  • Kernel Smoothing
  • Long range dependence
  • Semiparametric modelling
  • Inverse Problems
  • Change point problems

Ms Suzanne Curtis
Associate Lecturer
E: suzanne.curtis@mq.edu.au        
Room 6.22, Level 6, E7A 


Ms Anne Karpin
Associate Lecturer
E: anne.karpin@mq.edu.au        
Room 6.30, Level 6, E7A 


Dr Mark Donoghoe
Postdoctoral Research Fellow 
E: mark.donoghoe@mq.edu.au        
Room 5.38, Level 5, E7A 


Dr Manjula Schou
Postdoctoral Research Fellow 
E: manjula.schou@mq.edu.au        
Room 5.39, Level 5, E7A 


Professor Malcolm Hudson
Emeritus Professor
E: malcolm.hudson@mq.edu.au        
Room 6.09, Level 6, E7A 


Professor Don McNeil
Emeritus Professor
E: don.mcneil@mq.edu.au        


Associate Professor Andrzej Kozek
Honorary Associate Professor
E: andrzej.kozek@mq.edu.au        


Associate Professor Peter Petocz
Honorary Associate Professor
E: peter.petocz@mq.edu.au        
Room 6.09, Level 6, E7A 


Dr Hilary Green
Honorary Lecturer
E: hilary.green@mq.edu.au        


Dr Sibba Gudlaugsdottir
Honorary Lecturer
E: sigurbjorg.gudlaugsdottir
@mq.edu.au
        


Ms Jenny Middledorp
Honorary Lecturer
E: jenny.middledorp@mq.edu.au


Professional staff

Name Position Email Location
Ms Susan Pe Executive Officer susan.pe@mq.edu.auRoom 6.15/16, Level 6, E7A
Ms Victoria Park Administration Officer victoria.park@mq.edu.auRoom 6.07/08, Level 6, E7A
Ms Lesley Mooney Departmental Administrator lesley.mooney@mq.edu.auRoom 6.15/16, Level 6, E7A
Back to the top of this page